We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute and clean but too noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoreline Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shoreline Cottages
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute and clean but too noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

We were looking for a quiet peaceful getaway. This was not it. The room was very cute and we liked all the little touches but its very tiny and when you open the door to the room everyone can see you unless you are in the bathroom. Our biggest problem was the noise from the highway. It never stopped and was very noisy. We couldn't stay 2 nights and had to move. Not a peaceful place. The grounds were lovely but its right on the highway - no view, no ocean noise and no privacy.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siafred, Owner at Shoreline Cottages, responded to this review, May 19, 2009
Thank you so much for your review. We truly appreciate all feedback and comments.

Because Shoreline Cottages is conveniently located on Highway 1, there is a little traffic noise during the day, but by 8-9 pm, all road noise is very minimal. Fort Bragg is a small town where most everything closes by 9 pm and virtually all noise has dissapeared. To filter the noise even more for the future, we do plan on adding noise filtering plants to the front of the property.

In terms of privacy, all rooms look onto a common garden area, but it is virtually impossible for anyone on the outside to see inside the cottages. This is the first issue we have ever heard about privacy. Most guests actually feel very private since each cottage stands on its own and does not share walls.

In terms of the the lack of ocean sounds...although we are not right on the beach, we are less than a 5-minute walk from the beach. We have never stated that we are oceanside, but we are very close. In this area, most hotels are on the E side of Highway 1.

Thank you again for your feedback as we continually trying to improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    97
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
124
230
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

We have stayed here before, and we like the Shoreline Cottages. The rooms are uniquely decorated and mostly new inside. The owners obviously take pride in their property but with the latest price increase, this motel is no longer a good value. These are very tiny rooms, with no pool, and in a poor location far away from everything. There are much larger oceanfront rooms in Fort Bragg for the same price. We stayed in the Dog Room for the first time, because it was advertised as having a fireplace. We were disappointed to discover that there is no fireplace in this room, just an electric heater with a picture of a fireplace on it. We also noticed that our room was not as clean as it used to be. We noticed visible grime on the baseboards, the cord of the hairdryer, and the doorhandle of the refrigerator. The keypad of the microwave was sticky. The room was in need of some touch-up paint. The Shoreline Cottages are very cute, if you are into that kind of thing, but they are no longer a good deal for the price.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SQ1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siafred, Owner at Shoreline Cottages, responded to this review, May 19, 2009
Thank you so much for your review. We truly appreciate all feedback and comments.

Regarding the pricing change for the property, the prices have gone up, but not by a lot. We have adjusted our prices to reflect the many upgrades we have made to the property over the last 1.5 years (entirely new front landscaping, new fencing, sign, upgrades to all rooms, 2 new suites, etc.). And although we will continue to make additional improvements, we will not be raising the prices again for quite some time.

Although there are other properties in the area for the same price (and cheaper), all are large motel-type properties without any unique rooms and most do not have full kitchens or cottage feel (more privacy).

The fireplaces we do have in 2 of the cottages are electric fireplaces - not pictures of fireplaces. Unfortunately wood-burning fireplaces are no longer legal in California. In the new 2 new suites, we do offer propane fireplaces (vs. electric fireplaces).

In terms of any issues with cleanliness, we take huge pride in the level of housekeeping service we provide. As you will see, most reviews rave about how we clean we are. We will definitely be examining carefully any stated issues.

Thank you again for your feedback as we are continually trying to improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camino, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

Found the cottages here on Trip Advisor. Great place, we very much enjoyed our stay. The room was small but okay for the two of us. Bed was very comfy. Kitchen is pretty well equipped, we bought crab, clam chowder and french bread in Ft. Bragg and feasted in our cottage! (They also have a BBQ you can use )
I picked the Shell cottage as it was farthest from the road, only down side is it isn't one of the upgraded cottages so kitchen and shower are not as nice. It wasn't awful but newer would be better. They are working hard at getting all the cottages up to date. It was very quiet, we thought we were the only tenants but in the morning it seemed like all the rooms in front of us were booked. The owners are very nice and very accommodating.
Lovely place, we will definitely return.

  • Liked — Being a cottage, price, kitchen facility, location and Rusty the owners Lab!
  • Disliked — That our cottage hadn't been upgraded yet, we'll know better next time.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kruizerkarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for three nights as i was on a horseriding vacation nearby. While the cottages are quite small I found them to be very clean and comfortable. Bed was fantastic and the kitchen had a great big fridge and nice touches like complimentary popcorn. The room was also equipped with a DVD Player.

Complimentary Wifi was a fantastic plus and made this place the ideal place to stay for me .

It was also nice to step out of the cottage into the nice area in front.

Cottages are small though and I did feel that my car as much space as I had.

Nontheless I can recommend this place very much .

  • Liked — Wifi access and great bed
  • Disliked — Space is limited
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 747/400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

We booked this accomodation because it was in the right area for a one night stop on a driving trip and it was pet friendly, correctly priced, and highly rated on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.
We booked a standard room to have 2 beds and it was perfect for our needs especially the microwave and refridgerator and proximity to pet walking areas. The beds were very comfortable. The small beach across the road and down a couple of blocks was lovely and we had it to ourselves at sunset... wonderful! The room was quite clean.
The only down side... the bathroom decor and towels were in desperate need of an update. The owners are clearly working on these issues though and I have not doubt that the bathrooms will soon be much nicer.

  • Liked — Location, pet friendly
  • Disliked — No view, a bit of a walk to the beach, the bathroom decor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

First the cons: no pool and no views. Ordinarily that would rule a place out for us, but I'm very glad we gave this place a try. We stayed in Moose Cottage and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. We used the small but well-stocked kitchen to make a few snacks--including fresh steamed corn-on-the-cob that we had bought at a farmers' market in Boonville on the drive up. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom ample. There were thoughtful amenities throughout and a very helpful woman in the office who was filling in for the owners who happened to be away. We have had less comfortable stays in far posher establishments. Don't miss the Mendocino Coast Botanical Garden which is just down the road. PS--No doggy smell detected in Moose Cottage, which is one of the pet-friendly rooms. They have pet-ree rooms if you are allergic.

  • Liked — Relaxed and comfortable atmosphere
  • Disliked — Not within walking distance of shops or restaurants
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikec1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

This place lives up to its #1 ranking. We stayed there for 3 nights. The cottage was clean and cute and comfortable. The owners live on site and are anxious to help with any problems or with recommendations of restaurants, etc. I highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — charm
  • Disliked — traffic noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cmujmumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Cottages

Property: Shoreline Cottages
Address: 18725 N Highway 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreline Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoreline Cottages - where coastal history meets modern comfort. This beautiful property is located on Highway 1 - between Mendocino and Fort Bragg. It is adjacent to the beach and many regional attractions, including state parks, beaches, and more! The pet-friendly rooms include cottages with full kitchens and a queen bed (2 have fireplaces) and standard rooms with 2 queen beds, and are located around a lovely park area with trees, grass, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Shoreline Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Cottages Hotel Fort Bragg
Shoreline Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing