We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoreline Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shoreline Cottages
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Private and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for three nights as i was on a horseriding vacation nearby. While the cottages are quite small I found them to be very clean and comfortable. Bed was fantastic and the kitchen had a great big fridge and nice touches like complimentary popcorn. The room was also equipped with a DVD Player.

Complimentary Wifi was a fantastic plus and made this place the ideal place to stay for me .

It was also nice to step out of the cottage into the nice area in front.

Cottages are small though and I did feel that my car as much space as I had.

Nontheless I can recommend this place very much .

  • Liked — Wifi access and great bed
  • Disliked — Space is limited
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 747/400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    97
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
124
230
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

We booked this accomodation because it was in the right area for a one night stop on a driving trip and it was pet friendly, correctly priced, and highly rated on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.
We booked a standard room to have 2 beds and it was perfect for our needs especially the microwave and refridgerator and proximity to pet walking areas. The beds were very comfortable. The small beach across the road and down a couple of blocks was lovely and we had it to ourselves at sunset... wonderful! The room was quite clean.
The only down side... the bathroom decor and towels were in desperate need of an update. The owners are clearly working on these issues though and I have not doubt that the bathrooms will soon be much nicer.

  • Liked — Location, pet friendly
  • Disliked — No view, a bit of a walk to the beach, the bathroom decor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

First the cons: no pool and no views. Ordinarily that would rule a place out for us, but I'm very glad we gave this place a try. We stayed in Moose Cottage and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. We used the small but well-stocked kitchen to make a few snacks--including fresh steamed corn-on-the-cob that we had bought at a farmers' market in Boonville on the drive up. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom ample. There were thoughtful amenities throughout and a very helpful woman in the office who was filling in for the owners who happened to be away. We have had less comfortable stays in far posher establishments. Don't miss the Mendocino Coast Botanical Garden which is just down the road. PS--No doggy smell detected in Moose Cottage, which is one of the pet-friendly rooms. They have pet-ree rooms if you are allergic.

  • Liked — Relaxed and comfortable atmosphere
  • Disliked — Not within walking distance of shops or restaurants
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikec1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

This place lives up to its #1 ranking. We stayed there for 3 nights. The cottage was clean and cute and comfortable. The owners live on site and are anxious to help with any problems or with recommendations of restaurants, etc. I highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — charm
  • Disliked — traffic noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cmujmumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

REALLY comfy beds, adorable kitchen, great bath products, and good location. Quiet (I am very fussy), except for the buoy, way out in the ocean.
Wonderful dinner at Mendo Bistro (Main & Redwood), and delicious breakfast at Laurel's Deli (Main & Laurel).
Fort Bragg is down to earth and lovely. We visited Mendocino, and it is gorgeous, but a little too twee for me. (Reminds me of Monterey vs. Carmel.)

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxyPaloAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

We read about this property in California guide books and read the reviews on-line and were not disappointed. The new owners have created a warm and welcoming environment. The cottage had plenty of room for a family of four and we even had our own air mattress since our kids are getting too big to share a bed. We went to the nearby grocery store, bought a salad and quiche which we heated in the microwave, rented a movie from the front office for a $1 and had a great evening.
Everything was perfect except the foggy weather which didn't allow us to even glimpse our surroundings.

  • Liked — each unit is independent
  • Disliked — outside light shinning in the room.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnecticutTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

We stayed here for a family and friends get together. The grounds are very nicely landscaped with a barbeque area and picnic tables. The cottage we stayed in was very clean and nicely decorated with a comfortable queen size bed. It had a full kitchen with everything provided to cook a meal. Even though our cottage was close to the highway, it was very quiet. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They gave us good recommendations on where to eat and places to see.

  • Liked — The cleanliness & comfort of the rooms, price, and the grounds.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy-Pasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#8 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Cottages

Property: Shoreline Cottages
Address: 18725 N Highway 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreline Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoreline Cottages - where coastal history meets modern comfort. This beautiful property is located on Highway 1 - between Mendocino and Fort Bragg. It is adjacent to the beach and many regional attractions, including state parks, beaches, and more! The pet-friendly rooms include cottages with full kitchens and a queen bed (2 have fireplaces) and standard rooms with 2 queen beds, and are located around a lovely park area with trees, grass, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Shoreline Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Cottages Hotel Fort Bragg
Shoreline Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing