We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely property in peaceful location.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Fully fitted kitchen, leading into the conservatory; ideal for relaxing late breakfasts.
Twin beds in bedroom 2 which face the rear garden, also with shutters for cool summer nights.
Anyone for an aperetif on the terrace under the new sail-shade?
Relax in the conservatory with a cup of coffee or a  glass of wine, daytime or evening.
Rear entrance with steps up to rear garden
Rear Garden with apple and cherry trees
River Benaize - This trout river is just a few minute stroll away
An absolute must; Les Herolles one of France's largest open-air markets only a 20 minute drive away.
Rue de Boucherie - Spend a memorable day in Limoges - we can suggest a good restaurant!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Saint Martin le Mault, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Fran G
1 review
“Lovely property in peaceful location.”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The property has everything you need. it was clean, the beds were very comfortable and to keep two teenagers happy there is a decent tv and wifi.

We had a great welcome from Nick and Lynne that included a jar of homemade jam and a present of homegrown beans one day. As we have friends nearby we'll likely stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2018
Perfect guests - we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
302August...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An attractive and comfortable stone cottage in a quiet rural setting.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage is definitely worth a visit. The rooms are all comfortable and large and the cottage has a very nice feel to it - a good layout and well equipped. Couldn't fault it. Our weather was not perfect all the time so the conservatory, which retained the heat, was a real bonus on those cooler days. The surrounding Limousin countryside is good for cycling and walking and there are lots of interesting towns nearby. We loved the area and would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space inside and the conservatory for cooler days!
Liked least: Nearest boulangerie is a 10-minute drive away and looking onto the parked cars.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamjam201...
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tranquil Haven”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for 3 weeks but circumstances then prevented us from taking a 3 week holiday.
Nick & Lynne were so understanding and helped us to secure a week here at very short notice.
The whole ambience of the cottage and surroundings is a tranquil haven beyond description.
As soon as you settle in a sense of peace and relaxation "grabs" you and immediately adapts you to the gentle way of life in this part of France.
We are regrettably leaving after a week, would have loved to stay a lot longer.
The local restaurant is a little gem, food wonderful.
Our hosts Nick and Lynne were the kindest couple,they were there for us whenever advice was needed, but stayed quietly in the background yet were always on hand.
Excellent cottage, excellent hosts. Who could ask for more?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not Applicable, everything was great
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Advice...
Heanor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“"PERFECT" French holiday.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We booked our holiday here nearly a year ago so had plenty of time to look up "things to do & see". After driving 800 miles to get here we were greeted with this gem of a cottage all as described on the website. Fantastically clean, complete with all the facilities and ready for us to move into for our 2 week vacation. On arriving we were welcomed by both of the owners who couldn't have done anymore for us letting us no were everything was and if we needed anything.
The welcome pack (milk ,wine bread etc) was a great touch and meant you could settle straight in and relax. The cottage is set in a beautiful part of France with the water park (Lac de Mondon) 5km away which my family loved and we used on a regular basis, the local restaurant was fantastic and very well priced also the huge outdoor market ( Les Horolles) is a must. So much to do and see meant we couldn't fit everything in so we booked again for 2014 summer.
We have had other similar holidays in France but nothing can come close to Les Maisons in Monternon. A true credit to the owners. See you both next year !!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,child friendly and delightful owners.
Liked least: Having to say goodbye and leaving.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LostAviat...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Flawless perfection”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for rental accommodation in the Limousin region of France, stop searching now, and make a booking for this place!!!

My wife and I decided we would like to try a family holiday in France; having decided on Limousin as the area where we would like to visit, I reviewed all the accommodation available via this website and many others. We selected 'Super Cottage' because all rooms were on one level, there were NO ADDITONAL CHARGES, a washing machine was available and there were enclosed gardens where the kids could play.

I exchanged a few emails with the owner regarding things to do and see in the area and to clarify that my wife and I would be travelling with our three year old twins. All correspondence was dealt with promptly and with my quesions fully addressed. We paid our deposit and final balance in two simple and smooth transactions with confirmation from the owner that all monies had been received.

The cottage can be reached by road in around 1 hour from Limoges Airport, or just over 4 hours from Charles De Gaulle Airport. Despite being in a rural location, the road infrastructure to the cottage is very good indeed. The directions provided by Nick and Lynne in conjuntion with a Sat Nav will get you right to the gates with ease.

We found the owners Nick and Lynne to be friendly, helpful and welcoming. They had a lovely bottle of red wine on the table and some freshly picked raspberries in anticipation of our arrival. Their own property is located within easy reach of the cottage, they were never intrusive, but were always accessible to offer advice, or to deal with requests for assistance where needed.

The property is well equipped in every way. Plenty of outdoor and indoor seating, good quality comfortable beds, all the kitchen utensils required if you choose to 'live in' during your stay, a dishwasher to wash them up, and a washing machine in the utility room, should you feel the need to do some laundry. With our twins travelling with us, access to the washing machine was a great advantage. Availability of a reliable wireless broadband connection within the cottage was a nice bonus also. There is also satellite TV and DVD player available in the cottage with a small collection of DVD's, although we didn not make use of these.

The rural setting for the cottage is both picturesque and tranquil. It is completely free of disturbance from either vehicles or people, the only thing that occasiionally breaks the silence are sounds from wildlife.

At the end of each evening when we returned to the cottage, it really did feel like arriving home; the level of comfort and service surpassed that of the two four star establishments we stayed in on arrival into, and departure from Paris CDG.

Thank you Nick and Lynne for your contribution to a wonderful family holiday, I do hope we can return to Super Cottage soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros A
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquility and relaxation with all mod cons”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a totally relaxed holiday in the peaceful French countryside then this is the place to go. The peace and tranquillity just seep into you. The house is well equipped and conveniently laid out with many nice touches which add so much to a holiday, including fruit from the garden and wine awaiting our arrival. Lynne and Nick were excellent hosts, friendly and knowledgeable but never intrusive and full of suggestions for excellent places to eat. Overall we spent a very hassle free relaxing time in an area of rural France with many interesting places within an easy drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance and thoughtfulness of our hosts (+ reliable wi fi)
Liked least: No en -suite (although we believe that this is being considered)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ44
Limoges, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb in every respect.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stumbled across this property whilst looking for a house to buy in the area. We needed a base for a few months and wanted somewhere comfortable. From our first contact with the owners we felt we had found the perfect accommodation.

The owners, Lynne and Nick, were so very kind and helpful as we were quite new to the area. They helped us settle in and made quite sure we had everything we needed for an extended stay….even to ensuring we had a fine bottle of wine, but were never intrusive.

The cottage was clean, comfortable, and everything worked as it should. Parking and access was great and the rooms light and airy. We are frequently critical of unwholesome showers which fluctuate from unpleasantly cold to scolding hot and losing sleep due to poor quality beds. But this wasn’t the case here as the shower had a very efficient, user-friendly, temperature control and beds were of the highest quality. Actually, ‘quality’ will be the enduring memory of our stay here. One recommendation is to remember to close the external shutters at night…the experience of throwing them open in the morning to reveal a pastoral paradise was one we never tired of. Towards the end of our stay it was getting chilly overnight and the superb heating system worked very well with the newly installed loft insulation keeping the cottage warm overnight without the need for additional heating.

Vital during our stay was the WiFi connection and we had a great connection which was 100% reliable. Additionally, the satellite TV was superb.

The surrounding area is just too perfect to adequately describe. It exudes rural tranquillity with the calm only broken by the postman. However, the natural beauty also has vibrancy with riverside walks and a sighting of colourful Fire Salamanders and two wild deer in our first day. If you feel the need to ‘get away from it all’ then we could not recommend this location more highly. The local villages are charmingly picturesque with very good supermarkets and small shops within easy reach. Travelling around the area is so easy due to the lack of traffic. Something that takes a while to get used to.

During our stay Nick and Lynne were generous, supportive, convivial and, importantly, approachable…just as hosts should be but, sadly, rarely encountered.

Many reviewers frequently state “it was perfect and I didn’t want to leave” which is a superb sentiment. In our case, as we had completed the purchase of our new house, we could have vacated the property before our stay was due to end. But we chose to stay until the very end. In fact, the excitement of moving into our new home was tempered with sadness at leaving such a wonderful retreat…need I say more. For us, it made the process of searching for a house so much more enjoyable. Thanks Nick and Lynne. We hope to return as soon as we can for a summer break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful hospitality of the owners and perfect tranquility
Liked least: Having to leave. We would be quite happy to live here.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing