We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Perfect for our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2005

My wife and I have just returned from our honeymoon which included three luxurious nights at the Farmhouse Inn. We can't say enough good things about the rooms, the management, and the wonderful breakfasts.

First, the rooms...We stayed in room 4 for two nights and room 5 for the third night. Even room 5, the smallest in the Inn, felt luxurious in spite of its size. Others may object to the size of the room, but for us, it was wonderful. The fireplace in room 4 was great, and WHEN we return, we'll surely opt for a room with a fireplace. The decor and appointments in the rooms are elegant and simple and eschew the all too abundant Victorian/Laura Ashley decor of many B&B's. The in room sauna (which I believe is in every room at the Inn) is a wonderful touch. Also, the beds were extremely comfortable - I was a bit skeptical when we first got there because the bed's seemed a bit soft for my taste, but we woke up very well rested and comfortable every morning.

Next, the breakfast...A wonderful way to start the day. Every morning we started with a bowl of fresh fruit and a delightfully light ginger scone. Two of the mornings we had french toast with fresh berries which was divine, and the third morning we had a frittata. The food was spectacular, and we promised ourselves that on our next trip we must have dinner at the restaurant.

The staff...The brother and sister that I believe are the owners are spectacular hosts. They were very professional, offered us great recommendations, and made us feel very comfortable and at home. We switched from room 4 to 5 for our last night because 5 was the only room available that night. Our bags and belongings were moved into the room for us with no effort on our part, and the entire process was so simple and professional.

Last, the location...This was our first trip to wine country, and we spent a decent amount of time in Napa Valley. However, rest assured that when we come back, we fully intend to stay at the Farmhouse Inn and spend most (if not all) of our time at the wineries in and around the Russian River Valley. These smaller vineyards are beautiful, their wines are interesting, and the people we interacted with were much more personable than their counterparts in the large vineyards in Napa. We can't wait to go back and spend more time in the Russian River and Dry Creek Valleys.

To sum it up, if you want a personal and intimate experience, stay in the Russian River Valley and stay at the Farmhouse Inn - you won't easily find the quality of amenities for their prices. It was the perfect place for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    77
    28
    14
    9
See reviews for
30
507
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
madison, mississippi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2005

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of March. (We also stayed 2 nights at the Honor Mansion in Healdsburg. See review under that b&b.)

We loved it. The small, individual yellow cabins looked like something out of a fairy tale. The room was small, but big enough for us. We had a real, wood burning fireplace in our room that we enjoyed. We did not have an opportunity to use the sauna, but it is a nice touch to have them in the rooms.

We ate at the restaurant one night, and it was outstanding. The atmosphere is great, with a superb wine list, great service and food. We met another couple that liked it so much they ate here both nights of their stay!

We thought this was a great b&b for the price. It couldn't have been more cozy.

The only thing we told the owner when we left was that we wished we had a coffee pot in our room. They don't open the main area until 8 AM. Since we were on central time, we were waking up much earlier. However, he told us we COULD have had a coffee pot for our room, but since we had gotten in very late the first night we came in, we didn't have a "meet & greet" time. He was very apologetic. It was no big deal, and we will know to request it next time.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MississippiRenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2005

Recently my husband and I had the food fortune to stay at the Farmhouse Inn in Forestville, Ca. Until then, my husband disliked bed and breakfast inns but he has completely changed his mind since our stay at the Farmhouse Inn.
The setting is beautiful. Quite rural, quiet and peaceful, still close to everything. The staff is pleasant and very helpful with making plans to do things in the area.
The dining is sensational. Breakfast is the finest I have had at any hotel or inn. Dinner is an experience not to be missed whether you are staying there or not. Supurb!
All in all, a wonderful experience and one we plan to repeat.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2005

Romantic!. Every room is like a little personal spa- with jetted tubs for two, wood burning fireplaces and saunas. The prices are really fair- considering the ammenities. Great robes, yummy bath salts. We had dinner there one night- and loved it. Also ate at ZAZU, just down the road. Also great. Ask the concierges at the front desk for suggestions on what to do and where to go. They turned us on to some tiny, fabulous wineries, tours and hiking trails at the coast. Great inn, great vacation!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2005

We were there at the FH Inn in Oct. Great wine country area, very relaxing. Loved the cottages here. Each is very unique and well appointed. And the restaurant is amazing, lots of creative touches, beautiful decor. My only complaint is I wish they had more cottages because they seem to book up very quickly, especially on the weekends. Definitely the place I recommend friends to go for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestville
9.0 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
19.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Kenwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 1 in Kenwood
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
14.4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
8.3 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Property: Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Address: 7871 River Rd, Forestville, CA 95436
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very intimate and romantic boutique hotel in heart of Sonoma Napa Wine Country. Michelin starred restaurant and spa on site. A total of twenty-five cottages, rooms and suites dot our 6 acre property. Recently renovated and redecorated, each individual space offers a mix of historical whimsy, classic elegance and luxurious sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Forestville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing