We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A slice of heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in the same room within the barn every time we've visited Farmhouse Inn. We are in love with this place! The rooms are beautiful with heated tile floors, steam room, large tub and a double sided fireplace going between your room and a secluded patio. But what sets this place apart is the little details, house made soaps and body scrubs, music playing in your room upon arrival and REAL keys for the door.

While you're not within walking distance you are still close to a lot of wineries, a great paved bike trail and restaurants.

Room Tip: Be sure to book dinner reservations at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana12142013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    78
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
30
530
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husand and I stayed at the Farmhouse Inn in early August and had a great time. We found the location to be perfect for us. We were right between Napa and the Sonoma Coast so we were able to explore both areas which we loved. Staff was very helpful with ideas and special needs. We stayed in a regular room which I decided did not compare to the Barn rooms which are away from the street noise and quite fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valgal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have stayed in many fine lodgings, in wine country and elsewhere. While quite nice, the experience did not nearly live up to its $800/night price tag. The room was pretty and well decorated, but the shower was very sub-par. No hot tub and the pool was average at best. Service was somewhat lacking. No room service, and at 9pm on a weeknight we could not obtain any food or room service. A lot of road noise. The gardens were pretty. The restaurant was excellent, however, and I would recommend it highly for dinner. Much better value and luxury can be obtained elsewhere in wine country for half the price!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dmo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I'm so sorry this reviewer didn't love his stay with us. He is right about room service. We are a small property, only 18 rooms, and we just aren't equipped for room service. We do, however, offer a really nice selection of locally made cheeses, cured meats, crackers, house made hummus and spreads, nuts and several other items, depending on the day. They're available in Guest Services until they close at 9pm. I wish we could take care of every possible wish a guest may have. But with 6 concierges for just 18 rooms, we can usually come close. And, yes, there are less expensive places to stay in Wine Country. Not many with the services we offer. But read the rest of our reviews. I hope you'll choose us!
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful days at the end of the summer at the Farmhouse Inn, using their promo of Tues nite free on a 3-day mid-week reservation in July. We stayed in a first-floor barn room which was spacious, private and very romantic. It was quiet except for our noisy upstairs neighbors, but otherwise we were extremely pleased with the accommodations. The front desk was very friendly and helpful and we had a great dinner at their restaurant and delicious and welcoming breakfasts every morning. The bed was very comfortable, the fireplace welcome both inside and out, and the spa tub and bath accessories were fabulous.
Overall, the experience was exceptional and we're looking forward to returning soon. I am not sure the property is worthy of the going price (small pool, small property and many of the rooms are too close to the noisy road if you're not in the barn), but with the July special we had a fabulous time and will return in similar circumstances. It was very special to be out in the countryside and not in Healdsburg as we have been in the past. The proximity to the redwoods and the more remote and off-the-beaten-track location was great. The Farmhouse Inn is a unique and very special experience.

Room Tip: Perhaps an upstairs room in the barn would be quieter and sunnier, but all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelproPasadena_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
250 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This little out of the way hotel (more like a bungalow colony) and restaurant are a real surprise. The restaurant is one of the best in the area. Very good local food, elegant presentation. it costs and the service can be a bit snooty, but the restaurant is not technically formal. The cottages are small but well equipped, some with hot tubs. Very relaxing, as you're far away from everything except the vineyards across the river. Would gladly return. Romantic. Do be aware that both are expensive, so value is in the eye of the beholder!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

All the reviews below are correct - this place is excellent. I've stayed in a lot of 5-star hotels here in the US - but this is by far the best and most casually elegant place so far. If you want a luxury getaway without the pretense - this is it. I couldn't really think of any negatives except perhaps that I'm not a fan of Keurig coffees ... I like Nespresso better. But talk about a minor complaint! The setting is gorgeous, the rooms beyond comfortable, the steam shower & jetted spa tub divine - as was the indoor/outdoor fireplace in our room. The little touches of chocolate chip cookies and milk at night was great, the fresh sunflowers in our room. The amazing dinners with perfect wine pairings. WORTH IT!

Room Tip: all the barn rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JODI G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I really tried to love my experience at this hotel, but no matter how much I tried I always felt annoyed enough by little things. The staff are professional and helpful, but hardly warm or friendly, I felt like they were doing me a favour, and I was constantly on a back foot. At check in guests have to sign something saying they are responsible for any damage in the room, I suspect that I knew if we break anything in any hotel we were liable, but it gives a bad taste in your mouth to be treated off the bat as a liability. Also, during our stay they had a special promotion that I missed to recognise, that would have given us a more comfortable room for about the same price, any hotel I stayed at would have brought it to our attention, but the staff at the farmhouse did not. There are little cookies and s'mores available, but breakfast ends at 10 am promptly, a bit early for the holidaymaker! The architecture is cheaply done, I'm an architect, and can recognise cheap dry wall, plastering etc. to the untrained eye the place is cute, but to someone in property it's easy to see the ways that they cut have cut costs, and sadly it cut too much into my experience. I had mentioned not wanting to be too close to the road, as some reviewers complained about this, but there we were stuck right on the road, and at our visit it seemed that the place was basically empty. Overall the place lacks any generosity of spirit to its guests, and has cut so many corners to profit from its guests you leave feeling a bit mugged.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
This is a hard review to respond to. This guest was traveling with two young children and she knowingly booked one of our smaller Heritage Rooms. We offered her an upgrade but she absolutely refused to pay any fees to be upgraded to a larger room. As a small property, and a very busy one, we can't offer free upgrades.
So, she stayed in a small room with two very misbehaved children and was basically miserable the entire time. At Farmhouse, we love children- my brother and I have a ton of them between us- but we are also very respectful of our guests who are traveling without their children. This guest demanded chicken nuggets from the restaurant (We just aren't a chicken nuggets kind of restaurant) left her children unattended in the dining room during breakfast and spent the day by the pool with her screaming son. Other guests on property were impacted and voiced numerous complaints. And as to asking her to sign a damages waiver, that's just industry standard. She was angry because we actually had to charge her for damage her children did. Pen marks on bedding, etc. So, long story short, the fit was bad.
And, as for the cheap construction, the Heritage Rooms date back to the turn of the century. They've been renovated over the years, and are really darling. They aren't cheap construction. Nothing here is. But they're not brand spanking new construction either. That's part of their charm.
Come stay in one. And, for heaven's sake, if you're thinking of bringing your children, talk with us in advance. We love kids, but we're not the place for every kid. Most everyone here is here for a romantic get away. And we take that seriously.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestville
9.0 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
6.7 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
8.3 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Kenwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 1 in Kenwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
14.4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Property: Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Address: 7871 River Rd, Forestville, CA 95436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very intimate and romantic boutique hotel in heart of Sonoma Napa Wine Country. Michelin starred restaurant and spa on site. A total of twenty-five cottages, rooms and suites dot our 6 acre property. Recently renovated and redecorated, each individual space offers a mix of historical whimsy, classic elegance and luxurious sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Forestville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing