We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun.”

Burke's Canoe Trips on the Russian River
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Burke's offers canoe rentals for ten mile trips down the Russian River. No experience is necessary, but you must know how to swim.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So much fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at Burkes Canoe Trips one day while driving by. The gentleman was very helpful. He gave us all the information we needed to come back the next day. They were very helpful when we showed up. They gave us instructions and loaned us a cooler to take on the river for our lunch. They picked us up at the end and shuttled us back to the cars. It was such a great day on the river. I would definitely recommend them to anyone. We will definitely use them again if we are ever in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mssrbritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Landaff, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was a good thing to do on a sunny afternoon. I give it four stars because the people running this attraction could turn it down a notch with the instructions and safety lecture. They gave two lectures on the phone and then another one when giving out the equipment. I almost heard it another time when waiting for the paperwork to happen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbeau55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County, USA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fun family adventure to stay in shape while on vacation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Burke's picks you up down river in a bus when your trip is over and takes you back to your starting point which means you only paddle down river. I wouldn't do it any other way. At the start of the trip we got a lot of warnings but it was easy going all the way. Took us 4 hours to go 10 miles at a leisurely pace with stops for lunch and swimming. Glorious sunshine, warm water, and some turtles and herons made for a perfect day. Weekends get crowded and sold out so get a reservation. Weekdays are much less busy. The river has enough twists and turns in it that you can get away from the crowds and enjoy nature. Bring lots of water and borrow thier coolers for free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank City_Girls_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Family friendly canoeing on the Russian River”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We made reservations with Burkes a few weeks in advance of our trip. Ted (who I believe is the head guy) requested that I send in my check a week in advance to ensure we'd have priority. I felt kinda nervous about doing this, but since so many people had rated them well, I gave it a shot. We stayed at the Schoolhouse Canyon Campground only 4 miles away. This way, we were able to get there right when they opened at 9am or so on a Saturday. At that time, we didn't have to wait at all to get signed in and get our lifejackets, paddles and canoes. The site has its own campground, so you can buy ice for $2 a bag and use the restrooms before you head out.

They were very strict about their no-alcohol policy, so if you're looking for a party float down the river, this is not the place. But they were very good for our family trip's needs. We had to put 2 adults in every canoe, and each of our families had 2 kids, so that meant 4 people per canoe (kids have to be 14-16 they said in order to be put with just one adult). So that meant our canoes were a bit heavy... and in August, with the river low, that resulted in us scraping bottom a few times, but no big deal. The river was very slow so the kids got to paddle a bit and play in the water. We finished up around 3pm and had to paddle a lot since the current was minimal. Lots of places to stop and have snacks/drinks. It's an excellent trip for first time canoers or people just looking for a lazy water trek.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fun Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have been on the trip a couple times and really enjoy the day we had. The only thing which we found kind of strange was they don't take Visa/MC. Makes we wonder why? The cost of the canoe's are sixty-five dollars each so if you get two that's a lot of money/cash being carried around. They should take credit cards and just pass the fee on to the customers!
Anyway it is a fun day and worth the rental fee! We will be back soon! Thanks!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burke's Canoe Trips on the Russian River also viewed

Forestville, Sonoma County
 
Occidental, Sonoma County
Forestville, Sonoma County
 

Been to Burke's Canoe Trips on the Russian River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing