We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“:-(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bukit Tinggi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“:-(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Disappointed with the place. The toilets in the reception area is super dirty and smelly. Why such company tolerate uncleanliness? For a hotel cleanliness is a must but seems they dont care about it. The Japanese village/botanical garden nothing much.... the rooms were just fine. Staff were too busy and trying their best to give out the atmost service they can give. To the management please do something with the cleanliness!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Beth A,

First and foremost, we thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip and sharing your experience here on this public platform.

Please allow us to explain that we do not tolerate uncleanliness to all our hotel facilities, we take serious measure to ensure every area of the hotel are kept clean and tidy at all times. We understand your distress and assure you that provisions will be made to avoid such instances in future.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you with our renewed services.

Best Regards,
The Management@Colmar Tropicale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    207
    260
    104
    92
See reviews for
292
209
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Ridiculous booking procedure when hotel staff ask for credit card number, details, date, screen shot front and back.
Hotel staff not trained too cater huge crowd. Slow in housekeeping and check-in procedure too long.
The rooms are old and stuffy with worn out furniture. The Air-conditioning are not working properly and some louvres are broken.
Food at breakfast buffet taste good but slow in refill (again poor large crowd management)
Room rates a bit pricey.

Room Tip: 2 room suite provide both view, you can enjoy forest and street view in same unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaniffZain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear HaniffZain,

Thank you for your recent visit to Colmar Tropicale.

We apologize if we have caused any inconvenience during your booking. Please be advised that this is done to avoid complications between hotel and financial institution.

We take note of the slow service during extra peak seasons and we hope you will accept our sincere apologies for this situation as we were running back to back situation to prepare more than 200 rooms within 3 hours after the previous guests have check out. We also have notified the F&B team regarding your experience during breakfast.

We thank you for the custom and look forward to serving you again.

Best Regards,
The Management@Colmar Tropicale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bukit Tinggi hotels

Dungun, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hospitality is very bad. The guards face look like hell, not even single smile in face.

The stage show was not suitable for kids (kind of belly dancing - check in on 4th Jun 2014 ). But I believe the show will be change from time to time.

There was argument between me and manager on duty while on check-out process whereby she simply said that the package price given to me the day before was not correct. Other than me also one old lady also shouting at them for just to know the package offered. Like i said before this due to very bad hospitality. The front office just look like gangster to me.

I would like to suggest this resort to improve more on how to speak to people. They must understand that some of guest just gone trough long distant journey and they should not expect will be welcoming with very horrible faces. Other thing, please screen the show that going to be performed, is it suitable for kids?! For the package, please print upfront, agreed and signed, so no argument afterward.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mailmatnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Mailmatnor,

Thank you for choosing to stay Colmar Tropicale and share your experience at Tripadvisor.

Thank you for highlighting the attitude of the security guard, we have notified the team to take necessary action. We also regret that you find the stage performance not suitable for kids, and we have shared your opinion with the management team as well. For your information, we will rotate performance for time to time in order to offer wide range of entertainments to our guest.

We like to apologise for the experience between you with our staff and be rest assured we will investigate on the matter. We always emphasize to our staffs to deliver good service and offer great hospitality to our guest.

Hope this incident will not mar you from visiting us again and hope to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,
The Management@Colmar Tropicale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kluang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

The atmosphere is relaxed, good for a weekend getaway.

Environmental charming French-style, there are also schedule acrobatics performances in the middle stage.

Eatery around there are quite expensive.

Many outdoor activities available there like paint ball, flying fox and other fee.
Paintball is played in the forest area. More battlefield realistic.

Breakfast with many options.

I stayed there for Team Building Course by employers.

Our activities carried out near the pool. Staff organize the activities very well.
Swimming pool not too attractive.

Near to Genting Highland.

Room Tip: If you can choose, avoid to stay at lower & ground floor (LG & G) because the phone line is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank affarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Affarrell,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor and we hope that your stay here with your organization team was enjoyable and memorable.

Our paint ball game was inspired by jungle warfare experience by using the nature's element/background to gain advantage over your opponent. In this game you will have your tactical skills, speed and agility be put on a challenge. Our adventure park holds the longest zip-line in south east Asia measuring 530 meter and accredited by Malaysia books of Records.

Colmar Tropicale is suitable for all types of travellers, from families and groups, to honeymooners and for the pure romantics,with enchanting grace and hospitality we have to offer. Many activities we have to offer while you got to appreciate the lush greenery of Malaysian tropical forest.

We also regret that you found our swimming pool not attractive, However we do have another option of larger swimming pool at Berjaya Hills Golf & Country Resort.

Thank you again for your time here and we wish to serve you again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Management@Colmar Tropicale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Check in was slow. Room facilities average. Poor sound proof. Any passerby at the corridor can be heard. Even the sound of the neighbour's doorbell sounded like our room's door bell was ringing! Too many foreigner staff who can't speak simple English working here. Had to constantly remind ourselves that this is not the typical holiday because when u stay here, u have to take things slowly and try to imagine u r in France. Don't expect non stop exciting activities because there aren't many especially after 5.30pm.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kean Hoong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Kean Hoong L,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your constructive feedback.

We would like to apologise for the delay during check in time. Thank you for letting us know about the sound proof quality and we have highlighted this to our team for rectification.

All our local and foreign staff are trained and equipped with adequate English proficiency, it is quite a shock to us to learn that your communication with our staff were disappointing. We will look into this matter and allow us to prove it otherwise on your next visit.

Your remarks regarding activities in the evening has been shared to our team member for further improvement.

Hope to receive you again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Management @ Colmar Tropicale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed for 1 night. The surroundings and atmosphere was peaceful and calm because it wasn't during the weekends, school holidays and there was no big groups around, lucky me. I enjoyed the moderately cool air temperature and the beautiful sounds of Mother Nature. I love the curious black and white swans at the pond.

The room is spacious and okay but quite dusty at the corners. Wifi is poor. View from my room is the jungle and hills. The carpet along the corridor outside the rooms smells awful. There is a swimming pool behind a block. The pool looks clean but I did not see anyone swimming in it because the location is quite isolated behind the blocks. The staircase leading down heading to the pool is dirty with dried leaves, sweet wrappers and dead beetles. I think no one have swept the steps leading to the pool area in a long time.

Not much to do at night. We walked around, not many shops open except for some restaurants and the coffee shop/bakery. We had our dinner at La Cigogne which is supposed to be a French fine dining restaurant. Food though expensive was delicious but the restaurant’s environment is too dim. I understand that they’re trying to create a more romantic ambience using the candles, but it’s not fun squinting your eyes trying to read the menu in the dark. The restaurant’s manager Mr. Kevin is friendly and helpful. The other staffs and waiter’s service is good overall. Breakfast at the Le Blason in the morning was good too.

Although it’s a nice a pleasant French themed hotel, I think they've employed way too many Filipino staffs. You can tell from their very thick Pinoy-English accent. I had to really strain and concentrate trying to understand what the female Filipino receptionist is saying during check-in. Yes, there are some local staffs working there but still - no offense, but I would prefer more local staffs to be front-liners since Bukit Tinggi is located in Malaysia not in the Philippines.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Earelia,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and summing up your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad that your experience here was enjoyable.

Your comment regarding the carpet has been notified to the team and they have taken necessary action to remove the odour, as well as the cleanliness of the path to the swimming pool. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your dining in our Fine Dining Restaurant. The lighting in the restaurant is set to create romantic and exclusive ambience, however we like to assure you that if you have any inconvenience , our staff will definitely ready to assist you.

All our staffs are trained to communicate with guest by practising good manner & respect with adequate language efficiency. We take note on your comment about the staff accent and we would like to apologise for the inconvenience. For your information we practise multiracial and multinational interactions between our staff members, so that is why you can see a mix of local and non-local staff working here at Colmar Tropicale.

We hope to receive you again and thank you again for your comment.

Best Regards,
The Management @ Colmar Tropicale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Overall, the hotel is very old and tired. Not to mention the layout of the building and also the room, it's not really convenient and kinda odd. From the carpark to the lobby, there is no proper signage. You have to hunt for it.

The walkway is dirty and smelly. Wallpapers are worn out and torn. The room for me is below average. Cleanliness is just ok. But you will feel it's dirty because it is old. Bathroom tiles and bath tub need to be replaced.

Compare to other countries, I cannot find any reason why do the hotels in Malaysia charge higher room rates than others. It's not that Malaysia hotels quality and value are higher. Most hotels in tourism spots are just simply being overcharged and over-rated. Not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieLimWeiSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear JessieLimWeiSin,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience here at Colmar Tropicale.

We take note on your comment regarding our hotel appearance, we are currently renovating to uplift its quality and your comment regarding the proper signage has been highlighted to our team member.

Our price at Colmar Tropicale are in-line within the market of same star rating standards and at certain seasons price may increase due to high demand of hotel rooms. If you would like to know more about current promotions please visit our website or call our friendly reservation team.

We hope to receive you again here at Colmar Tropicale.

Best Regards,
The Management @ Colmar Tropicale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bukit Tinggi
3.5 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.6 mi away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chateau Spa & Organic Wellness Resort
4.0 mi away
Awana Hotel
Awana Hotel
#5 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills

Property: Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
Address: KM48, Persimpangan Bertingkat Lebuhraya Karak, Bukit Tinggi 28750, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Bukit Tinggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bukit Tinggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colmar Tropicale was modeled after 16th century Colmar town, north east of Alsace, France, also incorporatingarchitectural designs and elements from ancient surrounding villages of Riquewihr, Turckheim and Kaysersberg. The realization of this French themed village derived from the wish list of the Malaysia's fourth Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad, who upon his visit to the region of Alsace were so impressed, that it inspired Tan Sri Vincent Tan, the founder of Berjaya Corporation Berhad to replicate the actual Colmar town in Malaysia.The resort comprised of 235 rooms and suites, offers 8 food & beverage outlets / lounges with food variety ranging from local & international cuisine to an authentic French fine dining restaurant. It also offers meeting rooms and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills - Malaysia Hotel Bentung
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills Malaysia/Bukit Tinggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing