We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for small kids, OK for price ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bukit Tinggi
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night with friends since privy destination was booked up.

1. Service. Good. Staff was polite and helpful although I did not make any hard questions.

2. Facilities: starting to show it's age, not that well maintained. In my room the toilet shower was clogged. Drained slowly. Otherwise clean and decent. Looks a bit strange since it has a European theme.

3. Entertainment: good for children. Have arcade, kids rides, carnival games, acrobat show a few times daily.

4. Food: bad and pricey. Ok I know everything has to be driven to the hill top so price is acceptable. But selection is typical Malaysian standard "western" style, meaning it's quite bad. Malaysia, just be yourself, open a decent Malay, Indian or Chinese restaurant and serve proper food. Parents will be happier eating a proper nasi goreng.

5. Others: weather is cooling, nearby there is horse riding, petting zoo, zip line, paint ball, golf.

Overall if never go before can check it out. Don't expect too much but you also won't pay too much. Good to entertain kids under 10

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ACTIONONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear ACTIONONG,

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback that details the experience you had with us. We are glad that you found our staffs are friendly and enjoy our activities, but regret that we could not meet your expectations on our facilities, and food/dining.

We are progressively taking action to maintain and upkeep all our facilities for the convenience of our guests and we truly appreciate your feedback, please be assured that appropriate measures are taken to facilitate all maintenance matter.

We regret to learn about your experience due to our food choices. In the resort vicinity we have many choices of International dish such as pizza house, the roast chicken, bakeries, French fine dining, asian noodle house, Japanese restaurant, and our La Blason. Thank you for the suggestion of the local restaurants as we will look into the suitability to have it in our French Theme Resort.

Once again, we thank you for your review and patronage. We hope you would visit us again and give us a chance to please you with all our upcoming offerings.

Best Regards,
The Management @ Colmar Tropicale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
There are newer reviews for Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 808 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

I spent an amazing 3 days and 2 nights in a French-themed resort in Malaysia!
My friend and I were mind blown because the place was simply amazing! It's as if we were not in Malaysia at all; the hotels, buildings, shops and furniture spoke of France. It was of no wonder because the place was actually named and modeled after Colmar town, in Alsace France.
What's good about this resort is that you can do more than just eat and relax! Aside from regular shows throughout the day, there are also other places like the Adventure Park, Rabbit Park, Japanese Village, Golf Club and Horse Trail. You can climb walls, ride horses, play with fluffy bunnies or have a relaxing Japanese tea ceremony while donned in a kimono! All places are accessible by free shuttle service by the resort :). If you want to know more about the resort you can visit their official website
http://www.colmartropicale.com.my/index.php

The only reason why I did not gave a perfect rating is because the staffs need to be more efficient when it comes to customer service. Still it was not that bad^^

I blogged about my trip there. You can check it out for full set of photos.

Colmar Tropicale Hotel: http://stylish-bunny.blogspot.sg/2014/04/colmar-tropicale.html

Japanese Village and Rabbit Park: http://stylish-bunny.blogspot.sg/2014/04/japanese-village.html

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise27ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Louise27ann,

First of all, We would like to thank you for your recent stay here at Colmar Tropicale French Theme Resort.

We are truly glad that you have enjoyed your stay and willing to share the experience here at Tripadvisor- the largest online travel-site. The team at Colmar appreciate your comment and we look forward to continue delivering good hospitality and experience to all our guests.

Modelled after 16th century Colmar town, north east of Alsace, France, Colmar Tropicale derived from the wish list of the Malaysia's fourth Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad, who upon his visit to the region of Alsace were so impressed, that it inspired Tan Sri Vincent Tan, the founder of Berjaya Corporation Berhad to replicate the actual Colmar town in Malaysia.

We would like to thank you again for your feedback and look forward to receive you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Management@Colmar Tropicale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were attracted in the first place because it look like a mini Paris to be honest, on the architectures and so on. But never did we imagine it was that small. From the front of that castle to the back will take you about 5min walk?
Not much of activities to be honest, the food was alright but the breakfast I vaguely remembered it was chaotic.

The room looks ok. Wasn't that bad, but like I said wasn't that good neither.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wen Jun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Is the most terrible experience I had, not worth it at all,
terrible staff service and attitude came back around 3pm the room is not even clean,
The room is the worst in condition charging around RM 500 per night not worth it at all. Really with all this situation

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have been coming to this resort annually for 4-5 years, and have been enjoying the bird-life in the past. However over the past two visits, most of the trees along the road near the Japanese garden has been cut down, resulting in a significant reduction of the bird-life that you can see. Close to the entrance of the Botanical Garden there used to be a lovely collection of shady bamboo, which has now also been cut down. Conveniently all the bamboo has just been dumped over the side of the road as can be seen in the photos. Totally unacceptable.

Too much attention to grow exotic plants that you can see in any garden area in Kuala Lumpur, or all over the world, instead of focusing on the lovely native plants that can be found in Malaysia, also supporting the native wildlife.

At RM 300+ for a deluxe room it is now also poor value, although you can now enjoy a slow WIFI connection in you room. The general impression is that the staff is trying hard, however, in all the outlets there are lots of staff but not supervision/leadership.

The themed resort seem to appeal mostly to mass tourism from the middle east and Asia. The evening performance in the court yard is very noisy in the rooms.

We tried the Italian style Restaurant LaFlamme, which by Malaysian standard was expensive and the food very ordinary, we ordered two main courses that arrived 20 minutes apart, dispite of the fact that that we were the only people in the restaurant. The 2nd evening they were out of stock of all beers except Guinness, so we had to get drinks from the next-door restaurant.Again here lots of staff but no supervision.

Also the breakfast was ordinary, the omelet and the curries were ok, however, the coffee looked like tea, and was not drinkable.

The checking in and out takes ages, even through you are the only one at the reception counter.

Not recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PolarbearSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We traveled here in April 2014 for an escape from work and also as a part of our annual BFF vacation ;)

We were greeted with a warm smile from the reception staffs. The local girl whom attended us was very kind, attentive and informative. She gave us a swift check-in. We took a room for 4 person. It had 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. Yet, only two cons here. The toiletries provided were enough for 2 person, but the amenities and linen (towels and coffee & tea) were sufficient for 4 pax. The room was very clean, just a bit too simple for the sense of view. Bed were very comfortable as we quickly drifted into nap or sleep once we landed on it. Lighting need to be improved for brighter room, as we were having difficulties to read and write in the dimmed light. For over RM500++ we were paying, we just hoping for more simple but attractive one.

Not much activities we could try here. The coffee house and restaurants mostly closed very early, as early as 11pm though on the posters it said would close at 2am on weekends. We called for room service at 11:15pm and the food arrived 35 minutes after. Food spread tasted nice ;) Advisable to bring along some snacks and dry foods to be consumed while in the room. Buffet breakfast not bad also. Not very wide variety but sufficient for the day. Just hoping they would provide tea spoons for our coffee and tea ;(

The place was very fantastic for photo session. We took a lot of nice and pretty pictures around, inside the Colmar itself, and as well as near The Chateau. Shuttle services were provided to go from one place to another. We enjoyed the breath-taking scenery at the Japanese Garden. Rental for kimono was only RM20 for a short 20 minutes but it was worth-it. The women assisted to us were kind and friendly, just we hope for next time, don't need to be quite pushy when it comes to money ;p

Check out was a swift too. They refunded our Japanese Garden ticket as we were in-house guests, so it was considered complimentary.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allianora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed here 1 night and our room was UPGRADED. I supposed to have 2 rooms and 1 bathroom, but it came out to be, 2 floors room, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 1 living room (it is like a penthouse).

when noon till evening, you can enjoy going to Japanese garden using shuttle bus. and taking photo around the hotel area (climb up to the tower, nice view from there)

at night, it is like a "house of wax" town, silent and dark. many shops closed (some still open) and nothing more to do.
i recommend you to stay at your rooms playing some games rather than go outside.

The breakfast price is RM 35. The choices of foods is quite many, and the taste is not bad. The best of this hotel is the staff is super friendly. i found many Filipinos working there, their English is very well heard.

Room Tip: Do not stay here alone.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dezveereva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bukit Tinggi
3.5 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 11 in Genting Highlands
2,862 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 11 in Genting Highlands
236 reviews
3.6 mi away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 11 in Genting Highlands
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chateau Spa & Organic Wellness Resort
4.0 mi away
Awana Hotel
Awana Hotel
#6 of 11 in Genting Highlands
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills

Address: KM48, Persimpangan Bertingkat Lebuhraya Karak, Bukit Tinggi 28750, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Bukit Tinggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bukit Tinggi
Price Range: $51 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colmar Tropicale was modeled after 16th century Colmar town, north east of Alsace, France, also incorporatingarchitectural designs and elements from ancient surrounding villages of Riquewihr, Turckheim and Kaysersberg. The realization of this French themed village derived from the wish list of the Malaysia's fourth Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad, who upon his visit to the region of Alsace were so impressed, that it inspired Tan Sri Vincent Tan, the founder of Berjaya Corporation Berhad to replicate the actual Colmar town in Malaysia.The resort comprised of 235 rooms and suites, offers 8 food & beverage outlets / lounges with food variety ranging from local & international cuisine to an authentic French fine dining restaurant. It also offers meeting rooms and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills - Malaysia Hotel Bentung
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills Malaysia/Bukit Tinggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing