We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax & unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bukit Tinggi
S'pore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax & unwind”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Colmar Tropicale for 1 night. I wouldn't say that the architecture impressed me that much. Obviously you can't compare it to French building in France. But still a good place to take pictures. Weather is not too hot or cold. No jacket is necessary. Room was big & spacious. Only downside is the electrical outlets are all at the bottom of the wall. So you have to put all your devices on the floor to charge if your wires are short. To boil water in the kettle provided also have to be placed on the floor. No other complaints about room. Safe is not provided but there's one at the lobby. Staff were friendly & courteous. Newspaper avail at lobby daily. Breakfast was more to Asian style. Outside are lined with a couple of restaurants/cafes & a bar. Food is expensive so we ate pizza which was rm39 . French bakery was lousy..normal bakery which I can find in my hometown. games arcade, billard room to provide enetertainment. Token were rm 2. Overall a gd place to unwind. Shuttle bus is avail to bring you to a few attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    211
    265
    105
    93
See reviews for
297
212
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Right after making the booking, we read some of the reviews on tripadvisor. Most were worrying and we still decided to give it a shot. Glad that we did. It was a quiet weekend and there were not that many visitors. The room was reasonably clean and the surroundings very well maintained. Unlike some of the negative reviews, the staff on duty during our visit were quite friendly and did go out of their way to make our stay pleasent. What I'd agree with most of the reviews is, the cost of food in their restaurants. If one is looking for a reasonably priced meal, I'd say it would not be possible. We paid RM90+ for roast chicken meals and bottled water for 3 of us. Pricing was almost similar to that of Kenny Rogers in the City. The breakfast was a reasonably good spread - didn't have much to complain.. The views were amazing. A visit to the Japanese Village and Botanical Gardens was what I'd say therapeutic. What surprised me was, they charge RM15 for an additional bath towel. In short to me, if one is looking for a quick getaway from the city without the crowd, this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohmaybal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The environment and the view is really good but once we checked into the hotel, the rooms are not up to expectation. Heater is not working properly, bathroom toilet cant flush properly. We booked the 3 bedroom suite. Even though its spacious, there were many disappointments.The service is really bad. Staff people were really rude. Only the reception was polite and friendly. As for the restaurants, food is really expensive! Not worth it since the food is not good. Ate at La Bisson (french restaurant) for dinner, ordered lamb and chicken. Lamb was not really cooked even when i asked it to be well done! Small portion for a high price. The breakfast buffet was good. Only meal I enjoyed there is the breakfast. As for the activities and places to go, the Japanese village is a nice place and there are many outdoor activities to enjoy. This place is just nice for a night or 2 at most.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramesh2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bukit Tinggi hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 519 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this place.

If you don't want to do much, then it is a good place to spend a few days; Because, unless you are hear for the nearby (impressive-looking) golf course, there isn't actually much to do here, apart from snap a few photos..!... However, if you did actually want to spend a few days here, then the facilities - especially the Restaurant food, aren't up to much!

The studio room was OK. The main plus point is the big comfortable bed and the fantastic golf-course/mountain view from the balcony. However, the room wasn't well cleaned or maintained. Hoards of small insects appeared whenever you put down drink or food.

A kitchen area is provided, but signs warn that you are not actually allowed to cook in it! A large refrigerator is provided. The bathroom is large, but the water pressure in the shower is terrible.There's a lounge area with an ancient small CRT TV, and a flat-screen TV in the bedroom with a handful of channels.

The restaurants in the resort itself are below-standard and over-priced: Pasta served in a watered-down jar of supermarket sauce. A Hotdog made from a chicken sausage so white that it clearly had no meat content. Talking of overpriced, it is a shocking 6 RM for a can of soft drink! Breakfast was also terrible for the price paid.

As for other facilities, there is a swimming pool here, but the place is open to the public and the Muslim women go into the water fully-dressed in their black sheets. Not hygienic at all!
I couldn't see any point in the 'Japanese tea house', unless the construction company was just trying to show that they could also build a fake Japanese building in the jungle as well as a fake French castle!

On check-in, they reserved 450RM on my credit card, even though my room rate was only 360RM. They then tried to charge me the 450RM on check-out until I showed my email reservation. I have yet to see the effect on my Credit Card statement. Beware.

By far my biggest complaint about this place is about the shuttle service running from/to Berjaya Times Square,KL:

On the outward journey, the young Chinese driver drove so fast that he obviously thought he was in the Malaysian Grand Prix. I can accept fast if the driving is safe, but the guy barely held on to the steering wheel for most of the journey, preferring to chat on his hand-phone or eat ice cream. He took the corners on the mountain road at such speed that we were physically thrown around inside the van.

On the return journey, we met the shuttle bus on time outside the hotel. 30 mins later we had already reached the bottom of the mountain road and joined the highway, when he took a phone call and advised us that he had to go back and pick up more people, so he turned back, irrespective of the fact that we were paying guests and he was making us late.

It turns out that he had returned to collect a bunch of noisy female Filipino hotel workers who just would not stop talking and laughing loudly in their language all the way to KL (where we arrived one hour late!).....To let them into the van, some Indian guy in a horrible bright blue shirt flung open the van door and literally threw my bag at me, grunting 'your bag'. If this was a hotel employee, then he certainly shouldn't be! What an absolute disgraceful way to treat guests!

Loved the view, but confused by the place. It isn't really a getaway resort because it is open to everyone. It isn't a theme park because there is nothing to do. It isn't a full-service hotel because the F&B is dreadful. Just a construction project and a photo opportunity really.

Room Tip: Mountain view very scenic and peaceful. Facing the 'village square' on a busy weekend would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place is very nice, the resort location is wonderful, the problem is the hotel running down and no maintenance, I was there 3 years ago and it was great , but last week I stayed there one night but I was unsatisfied with the services, the room too old with very bad furniture, air-condition is noisy, the restaurant there also bad, however, the prices of the rooms are too expensive as compared with the facilities or the room itself.. I do not recommend anyone to stay there.. maybe a day trip is fine..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Muayad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my 3 kids for one night and I think that was enough. Hotel is a beauty to look at, but not much to write about services and food prices at bakery and other food outlets. Breakfast was good. I loved the Japanese village but not the other visits as such.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nazishgaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Long drive up windy road. Very quaint French-village style resort. Fabulous buildings. But activities offered were disappointing. Everything had an entrance fee (even for just stepping into location grounds to bring your kid in for activity) and an activity fee. Japanese village was particularly a let-down; it differed greatly from marketing picture shown. Flying fox was fun, while Canopy Walk was short. Better to just stay in room or relax in Village to soak in French atmosphere. Live performance in Village by Chinese troupe was good - martial arts, famous Beijing face-changing, etc. Buffet breakfast was bad. Spread was poor, n pastries were full of ants.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bukit Tinggi
3.5 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,739 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.6 mi away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chateau Spa & Organic Wellness Resort
4.0 mi away
Awana Hotel
Awana Hotel
#5 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills

Property: Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
Address: KM48, Persimpangan Bertingkat Lebuhraya Karak, Bukit Tinggi 28750, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Bukit Tinggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bukit Tinggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colmar Tropicale was modeled after 16th century Colmar town, north east of Alsace, France, also incorporatingarchitectural designs and elements from ancient surrounding villages of Riquewihr, Turckheim and Kaysersberg. The realization of this French themed village derived from the wish list of the Malaysia's fourth Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad, who upon his visit to the region of Alsace were so impressed, that it inspired Tan Sri Vincent Tan, the founder of Berjaya Corporation Berhad to replicate the actual Colmar town in Malaysia.The resort comprised of 235 rooms and suites, offers 8 food & beverage outlets / lounges with food variety ranging from local & international cuisine to an authentic French fine dining restaurant. It also offers meeting rooms and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills - Malaysia Hotel Bentung
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills Malaysia/Bukit Tinggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing