We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel should be on a postcard at most...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bukit Tinggi
Bandar Seri Begawan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The hotel should be on a postcard at most...”
Reviewed November 12, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. We made our booking through the Berjaya hills website. I've never heard of the place before but a friend of ours recommended the place. First impression is that the place is really unique. It's French theme buildings were elegant and out of place at the same time since you know its in Asia. When we got to our room I was disgusted by the overall appearance. It was filthy, you could see dust (which seemed to me untouched in a couple of years) gathering at the corners of the bedroom.

There was a funky stench from the bed sheets. And the food available at the restaurants and cafes were horrible.

The japanese garden was ok although there were several Japanese tourist that we bumped into who were complaining about the authenticity of the japanese house.

Overall, its good for a visit or day trip. I wouldn't suggest people staying the night there.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thor666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    218
    268
    108
    93
See reviews for
303
218
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

We chose this resort for a family holiday with our extended family (6 adults, 3 kids) because of its proximity to Kuala Lumpur (about 45 mins drive). For a short getaway with kids to escape the tropical heat or the hustle and bustle of the city, the resort served its purpose.
We checked in on a Sunday afternoon, and it was a good thing we did because the living room of our 3-bedroom apartment (a duplex and very spacious, though not luxurious) faced the street and it was very noisy because on weekends and holidays the place is a bit busier with a variety of activities at the "Market Square". Music was played so loudly we had to keep the windows shut so that we could watch TV or talk at a reasonably normal level.
The room facing the jungle was the best, very serene, cool and peaceful. I do suspect, however, that the smaller rooms in the hotel are more often occupied and as such subject to more wear and tear. I also noticed that the resort is beginning to show its age from weathering in our humid climate.
The resort appeals mostly to local or regional visitors as European tourists may not be very impressed by the architecture (unless you're a homesick Frenchman or something like that) but it makes a great place to get into a Christmas or Easter mood. Beware, however, that the eateries are overpriced and the food is not great.
Still, if you don't expect five-star luxury, this can be a great break away from the usual, but I'd recommend it only for a one-night stay. After a day, you'll have seen whatever there is to see and may die of boredom.
Having said that, plan your activities wisely if you intend to spend your holiday here. There is a games room for the kids. The pool (unheated and in the shade of the buildings, so much of the day too cool for those of us from warmer climates, especially during the rainy season) is small but sufficient for the kids. For golfers, there is a golf course on Bukit Tinggi but I can't say whether it's any good. The surroundings lend themselves to long walks. Horse riding was available but it too pricey for us. Younger kids may enjoy feeding the rabbits and deer, as well as the donkey rides. Dads might turn into big kids and try their hand at archery and paintball (mind you, it's just shooting at targets, nothing fancy).
If you are booking online and well in advance, you can get excellent rates but be sure to check on your final amount--for our stay different rates applied for different dates. On top of that, an inexperienced staff member had punched in the wrong rate on our bill, so I would recommend double-checking your final bill.

  • Liked — The climate, being close to nature, not having to drive too far to get there
  • Disliked — Expensive food outlets, loud music from the dance performance
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h4ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2007

Spent my sixth year anniversary at Colmar Tropicale with by boifey. It was rather a last minute thingy so we were rather lost on where to go for a getaway. It's our first getaway together, actually. Sadly it rained the entire time when we were there. We only managed to go sight-seeing for a day, and it was quite a rush. Went to see the Rabbit Farm. They have pretty cute rabbits and some are rather pampered. But it's kinda sad when we saw some of them with the fur rather unkempt and some with injuries, like they caught an infection on their body. Thought of riding the horses, but from where I stood at the Rabbit Farm, I can already smell the stench of the horses. On a closer look, I can see the horses' abdomen all covered with flies. Possibly the staff didn't clean them up much often. The food at La Blason was rather disappointing. Not much choices and the food mainly tasted bland. But the bar (Le Vin) had the nicest cocktails ever. Though there weren't many patrons. The music could be more updated actually. And the shuttle bus really wasted our time a lot. We wasted one hour just to wait for the bus and it really stinks that you really need the shuttle bus to commute from one place to another. So imagine how many hours have we wasted??
The only place we loved the most was the Japanese Village! It smelt so heavenly. If only it didn't rain, we could have stayed there longer. The fresh air was really beyond words. It's like you have freshly-picked leaves placed under your nose throughout our walk there.

  • Liked — only the visit to Japanese Village
  • Disliked — the usage of the shuttle buses
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

My family and I, along with some friends, spent a night here in August.

I had booked a family suite and wow - got the family suite. It was shabby at best. The windows did not close properly, let alone lock. The beds and bedding were old and worn.

The bathroom was a disgrace.

Food choices were limited and prices were cut-throat. A "jumbo" pizza, hardly enough for 4 adults was about MYR80++

I don't mind paying high prices for accommodation, but please, provide some value for the money - bright, clean and well-maintained rooms, not the shack that they pass off as family suites.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Nothing was well-maintained.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chubbylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bukit Tinggi hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2007

It looked great on all the internet websites and it turned out great in real life too. We went there with a bit of "hope for the best, expect second best" because of all the bad reviews we read on this website. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back there again. The reproduction of a French village is quite remarkable and the colourful architechture is good game for shutter-bugs. We opted for a one-bedroom apartment so that our toddler has space to walk around and it was a good choice. The buffet breakfast has a good spread too. At sun down, the air is cool and we did not need the air-con to have a good sleep at night. Although dining within the village is a little pricy (unless you want to drive out in the dark), the food is of a reasonably good standard. Overall, it is a good choice for a short getaway.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HTPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
161 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

When you enter the hotel, you may think it looks good because of the theme and the facade. The hotel looks great on the outside. It is well-deigned and built. However that's where the fairytale ends.

We lugged our luggage all the way to the lobby from the coach drop-off to the lobby and along the way encountered several hotel staff. Some ignored us, some smiled, others said "Hi" but not even one offered to carry our luggage, especially when we had ladies in our group who were struggling with their things.

At the lobby we were told we had to wait because our 3-bedroom suite was not ready as the previous guest had just checked out. That was at 11am. Only when we requested did they allow us to deposit our bags with the concierge, it was never offered. We decided to take a walk and have our lunch before coming back at about 2pm, just to give them more than ample time (3 hours) to clean up the suite for us so that we did not have to wait to check in when we returned.

At lunch at the La Blason, we waited 45 minutes before our food was served and we realised that the staff had forgotten about 1 of our orders, which took another 20 minutes to arrive. No apologies offered. The restaurant staff also do not like to refill guests' water glasses and we had to top up our water from our own water bottles.

2pm: back at the lobby and we were told to "take a seat" with no further explanations etc. When we asked the lobby staff how long more we had to wait, all we got was "Take a seat" without even eye contact. This was when we realised we were not the only group told to "take a seat" and on observation we realised that the staff at the lobby were very well-trained- they had very competently mastered the skill of avoiding eye contact and blatantly ignoring guests when being approached or spoken to.

Finally after 1.5 hours of "taking a seat" were we given the keys and had our luggage taken out of the concierge's store room. That was all. Handed the keys, handed our luggage and left to our devices to carry our luggage around to find our way to our suite. I wonder if the staff are reminded every day that "ignorance is bliss" as they are really very good at ignoring guests even when spoken to.

In the room we found one of the bathroom doors with a broken door knob that was lying on the ground. I wonder if housekeeping did their cleaning of the place blindfolded. In fact the sentiment was that the place was well-designed and built but poorly maintained as many items in the room were working less-than-well. We called housekeeping to fix the door knob and to their credit, a repairman arrived in 10 minutes- extremely efficient by Colmar Tropicale standards! He took 2 hours (and we just sat there wasting more time watching him) before he declared that he could not fix it and would come back later (he only returned the next day and we were sitting there like fools waiting for the doorbell to ring before giving up at about 7pm to go for dinner).

Even after trying for another 2 hours the next day with us wasting time waiting for him to get the job done, he could not get the knob back on. Just for the record, when we checked out on the third day we did not get to use that particular bathroom.

If anyone is still thinking of going there after reading this and the previous reviews, please spend your time at the Golf Club and sports complex accessible by shuttle services from Colmar Tropicale as the service standards at these areas are more decent. However note that the shuttle service schedules pasted around at only meant for decoration, they do not mean anything. Shuttles never run on schedule, and the worst part is that they are very unpredictable because drivers just leave as and when they like, regardless of whether they are early or late. Catching a ride is purely based on luck.

And so continued our very unpleasant experience at the Colmar Tropicale. On the day we were checking out, we decided to do a test just to substantiate our point. On the way from our suite to the lobby, and from the lobby to our vehicle to bring us downhill, we encountered 9 of the hotel's staff and only one of them offered to carry our bags to our vehicle. He was on a buggy and when he asked us, we were already less than 10 foot steps from our vehicle.

Visit the resort only when you wish to pay to experience what it is like in Boot Camp! Good for parents who wish to teach their spoilt brats a lesson- send them to Colmar Tropicale for a week and they will learn to be independent and appreciate their parents!

  • Liked — The interior of the 3-bedroom suite is spacious and well-designed
  • Disliked — Very poorly maintained!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MelvinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2007

My family and I had heard much about the French-themed resort atop the scenic Pahang highlands and decided to spend a night there. We had earlier spent three days and two nights at KL and stayed at Micasa All Suites Hotel at Jln Tun Razak.

Having come from a fantastic, luxurious and very comfortable accomodation in KL, we were sorely disappointed with Colmar Tropicale. The first thing that struck us was the horrid coldness of the reception area which was sparsely furnished and with peeling laminated wooden panels. While the scenery and architecture were enchanting indeed, we couldn't say the same for the room that we stayed in, which was a triple sharing type (one bedroom, another bed in the 'living room' and one bathroom).

The finishings were terrible! The wooden parquet flooring had scratches and drag marks all over, and it felt 'dusty' to the touch. The beds were lumpy and sank and I even noticed an awful stain on the quilt (shudder!). The bathroom was an eyesore as the sink and tub were mouldy. The blue and white tiles badly need scrubbing.

Food wise, it was all the choice we had but it wasn't fantastic. I had never seen my mom packed so fast. We checked out at 9 the following morning and rode back to KL with grisly images of the room. Just to make up for it, I booked two more nights' stay at Micasa. You should stay there. Worth every penny. As for Colmar, good to go there for a day trip but avoid the stay in the rooms.

  • Liked — The architecture
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING in it
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingermints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bukit Tinggi
3.5 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
2,782 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
189 reviews
3.6 mi away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chateau Spa & Organic Wellness Resort
4.0 mi away
Awana Hotel
Awana Hotel
#5 of 10 in Genting Highlands
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills

Property: Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
Address: KM48, Persimpangan Bertingkat Lebuhraya Karak, Bukit Tinggi 28750, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Bukit Tinggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bukit Tinggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colmar Tropicale was modeled after 16th century Colmar town, north east of Alsace, France, also incorporatingarchitectural designs and elements from ancient surrounding villages of Riquewihr, Turckheim and Kaysersberg. The realization of this French themed village derived from the wish list of the Malaysia's fourth Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad, who upon his visit to the region of Alsace were so impressed, that it inspired Tan Sri Vincent Tan, the founder of Berjaya Corporation Berhad to replicate the actual Colmar town in Malaysia.The resort comprised of 235 rooms and suites, offers 8 food & beverage outlets / lounges with food variety ranging from local & international cuisine to an authentic French fine dining restaurant. It also offers meeting rooms and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills - Malaysia Hotel Bentung
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills Malaysia/Bukit Tinggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing