We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food”

Ruchi Indian Cuisine
Ranked #112 of 275 Restaurants in Folsom
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Buffet
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

They have a large menu. Some of the dishes are awful - the description says that it contains coconut milk and the dish is cooked with cream!! The vegetarian dished are over cooked. The are mushy. The non veg is OK but nothing to write home about.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manuel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California City, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“The Best Indian Food in the Folsom Area”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have been going to Ruchi for quite a few years and usually do take-out. My two favorite dishes are the Lamb Vindaloo and the Chicken Makhani (aka butter chicken) I also get their samosas which come with this very tasty slightly spicy red chutney and the coriander chutney. They have the tamarind chutney too but I prefer savory over sweet. The dinner I picked up last night was the best I have ever had. The Chicken Makhani was flavorful and creamy and so satisfying. The vindaloo was rich and a bit spicy and perfect for a cool winter night. All entrées come with naan and white rice. I’ve tried other places in town and none are better in the Sacramento area. They have a buffet at lunch and most nights so if you are new to Indian food, the buffet is a great way to taste things and find the things you like.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAS8721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible !!!!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place is really terrible. Okay, the food is acceptable some days. However, many days they serve stale food. You can taste the age !!!! The management is extremely arrogant. The serving staff is nice. But the manager is an arrogant &^%*&^%. He treats you as if you are a hobo in a soup kitchen.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, Ca
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cockroaches and fleas!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

COCKROACH on our plate when served, slow service, and DISHONEST people! Meal was supposed to be comped after the food was served with a roach on the plate, but yet the individual who TOLD us it was comped then took it upon himself to mark our Groupon as REDEEMED for payment on MY phone! Unbelievable. We went home nauseous, flea-bitten , and sorry we ever stepped foot in this place. I'm shocked!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FolsomTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in Folsom”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Ruchi has the best Indian lunch buffet in Folsom. Their good has less heat than most other restaurants, but more flavor. The dal (common lentil side dish) was the best I've ever had - lots of flavor with less heat. I believe the chicken in the tikka masala is tandoori-cooked, so it's loaded with flavor even without the wonderful sauce. The two soups were absolutely wonderful, and the rice pudding dessert cooled everything off. The buffet had things I hadn't seen before. the price is a bargain. I'll be going back again and again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruchi Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Ruchi Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing