We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining experience at its finest.”
Review of Chez Daniel - CLOSED

Chez Daniel
Cuisines: French, Soups, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dining experience at its finest.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This small restaurant is big in taste, service and atmosphere. The food is fresh, tastes fabulous, and portions are perfect size. The service is impeccable. Music, mood lighting and a strict dress code ad to the ambiance.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    9
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had dinner at Chez Daniel last month with friends. The onion soup was amazing, the salad was great and perfectly dressed and the shrimp and scallop entrée was perfect. The service was, as always, impeccable. It was a wonderful evening!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beyond Perfection”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Everything about this tiny little restaurant (8 tables) is beyond perfection. One waiter, Alain, one chef, Daniel. The food was to die for, each of the 4 courses. There were 7 items on the printed menu plus 3 specials. Making a decision was the nearly impossible. Alain is a fabulous waiter; attentive, articulate, charming, and more. We were delighted when Chef Daniel came out to introduce himself. If you haven't been there, just go. You won't be disappointed. We will go back soon. Prices were unexpectedly reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“World-Class Cuisine”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

World class cuisine in an intimate, unpretentious setting. Wonderful service. Menu is prix-fixe for a four course dinner. Meat is cooked according to your taste. Centrally located near Folsom Town Hall. Varied wine selection.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
430 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Returning Almost Immediately”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

From our appetizer of frog legs (yes, try them) to our dessert of a Christmas Buche de Noel, I felt our meal was perfect. Alain, our server from Normandy and the only server, was wonderfully proper, articulate, insightful and charming. Chef Daniel came over as well to introduce himself -although I believe he is the only one in the kitchen. Daniel comes from Lyon and that in itself can explain his view of food and his mastery in the kitchen. Lyon is considered by many to be the culinary capital of France.

The restaurant itself is petite and feels very French. It is romantic and charming and a yummy place to be on a cold night with a lovely bottle of Bordeaux. I so enjoyed my experience that I made another reservation for this coming Christmas week.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing