We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Sutter Street for a stroll, shopping & ice rink in winter”
Review of Sutter St.

Sutter St.
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Folsom
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historical area is a pleasant spot to spend the day.
Burbank, CA
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Sutter Street for a stroll, shopping & ice rink in winter”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We walked around this little wild west cute town. At one end there is an ice rink and Karen's a great coffee place a bakery. I would get the Oatmeal cookie as it is yummy! There are many little shops, wine shops, antiques, jewelry, pizza and my favorite is Cloud pottery. The studio for the pottery place is off Sutter but worth the little detour. On my last visit I met Mary who created some of my favorite pieces at Clouds. I will be go back again. We found parking ample on both ends of Sutter.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mugspaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    57
    25
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
No. California
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Miss the "old" Sutter Street”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

It is now updated and ADA compliant but the historical authentic street feel is gone. It was a step back to the past to go browsing on the raised sidewalks with the tree lined median down the middle of the street. I will still visit - just miss the charm.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 2onvacaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Sutter Street a Taste of Old Folsom and California History”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Sutter Street is the old part of Folsom, which has now grown far to the east where all the shopping malls and housing developments are built. But Sutter Street retains much of its charming old ambiance, with many locally owned shops providing food and shopping entertainment. We especially love Snook's Candies, which has bulk candy, delicious fresh made chocolates, carmel corn, and ice cream from Dreyer's. Better ice cream is down the street at the Black Rooster, which features #1 Gelato in about a dozen wonderful flavors, and espresso and coffee drinks, along with great hot chocolate. The Black Rooster also cooks up fresh sandwiches and soups every day, and it's run by Gary, who's really a wonderful man.

At Christmas starting before Thanksgiving, the ice rink is set up across the street from the Black Rooster around the old railroad turn around, which is a re-creation of the 1860's turn around that provided a way to get the engine pointed in the right direction back towards Sacramento in the old days of the railroad built by the Big Four. For breakfast, the Sutter Street Grill has been providing Folsom with the best for decades, but be prepared to wait for a table on weekends. The original terminous of the 1861 Pony Express trail is right there next to Sutter Grill, at the Folsom History Museum. The original assay office for Wells Fargo & Company is still standing next door.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank porsche74s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“I love the old time charm of Historic Folsom”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorite things to do on Sutter Street is eat ice cream at Snooks on their old time benches! So fun!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hromanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
275 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Nice look back into history”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a fun street with lots of historical buildings, shops and restaurants. It's fun to wander around and just enjoy the nice old charming feel. The shops are unique and quaint. Check out the nearby rail turntable for an additional look back into history.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sutter St. also viewed

 

Been to Sutter St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing