We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cozy for the Holidays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy for the Holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

I stayed here with my husband, in-laws and grandparents-in-law for Thanksgiving 2009. It was the perfect place to enjoy our holiday stay. The Lodge was all decorated for Christmas and they offered free little cups of hot chocolate every evening to enjoy in their large, but very cozy, lobby.

Our room was also very cozy. The only thing we didn't care for was having to walk through the pool area to get to the lobby and restaurants in the main area of the hotel. That chlorine smell was very strong!

I enjoyed the fitness room during our stay. Cold water and towels were provided as well as a locker room.

I had the hiker's delight foot treatment at the spa, which was very relaxing and wish I had time for more treatments!

Overall, we all thoroughly enjoyed out stay and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bakedlaurabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,832
    1,641
    653
    246
    127
See reviews for
1,805
1,733
49
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean View, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

This was a very nice lodge/hotel with roomy cottages. We were, however very disappointed with the "so called" better restaurant called Embers. First of all the server was like a robot; fake smile and ridiculous manner. Just treat me like a regular person and give good service. We ordered the lobster bisque and that was very good but it was downhill from there. The caeser salad was made by our server at our table and that was not good, but the worst part of all was our entre. We both ordered salmon and asked that it be cooked medium rare, but when brought to our table was raw, really raw. I didn't ask for sushi for God's sake. The sauce was cajun and so overpowering that you couldn't taste the fish. The vegetables were hard and tastless as well. The wine was good, but at $14 a glass not superior. The cost for our dinner with tip was $206. I think that was very expensive for a dinner we didn't enjoy. If this hotel cannot provide quality restaurants, I don't see us going there again, nor would we recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytobeatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMoreno, Executive Chef at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
As the Executive Chef at Tenaya Lodge, I wanted to let you know that your concerns have reached my attention and I take the matter very seriously. I am very sorry to hear of your experience with respect to the food quality in our restaurants. I hope you will accept my very sincere apology for our mistakes. This is certainly not consistent with the very high standards we set for ourselves. As a result, I will be meeting with my culinary team to review these issues so that we can ensure this does not happen in the future.

At Tenaya Lodge, our goal is to provide nothing less than an exceptional experience for every one of our guests. When we fall short of that goal, as in your case, we take the matter very seriously.

Very Sincerely,

Executive Chef

Frederick B. Clabaugh CCC Prochef 11
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

We arrived at Tenaya not knowing what to expect... the reviews on Trip Advisor were very mixed. In all fairness - we were very suprised.... The hotel was nicer than we expected. We arrived with our family (2 adults and 3 kids ages 8 - 10). We stayed in the main building. Our room had 2 double beds, pullout sofa and we were able to add a rollaway to our room.
A bit tight, but really fine for us (and we were able to avoid having to get an extra room).
The rooms were furnished nicely. Had a desk & chair for working as well as a club chair.

i viewed it as a pretty standard, updated hotel room. Nothing fancy.
Concierge provided standard service

One note about its location: It is far from Yosemite Valley. But we found that most accommodations are far from the valley floor. Once you accepted the distance, the hotel itself was fine. The restaurants are ok.. the breakfast buffet was adequate (not over the top). Tip: We were able to pay only a slighter higher rate for our room so it would include 2 adult breakfast buffets each day. At $15 per person... it was a good deal...

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rkg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed at the Tenaya Lodge while visiting Yomesite NP. It is a perfect location just a few miles outside the park. It was a bit on the expensive side although you get what you pay for so was worth it. The food & rooms were great and would recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed here for a few nights when visiting Yosemite. As others have mentioned although it is located close to the southern entrance it still is quite a drive to Yosemite Valley (45min without and 90min with roadworks).

I had a room in one of the cottages. These are located on a separate plot next to the hotel, not really on the hotel grounds.

The room itself was quite nice and quite big. No problems there.

What I didn't like was the quality of service I got from the staff and a few other things like:
- at checkin forgot to give me a key, but did give me the minute(s) long talk about all the restaurants they had and some other useless info. I had to drive back to the hotel, got the key (first gave me the keys from another room) but no apology.
- when I arrived it was late and already dark, not easy to find your way in the cottages especially since the signs aren't lit and very small.
- no reserved parking with the room (how difficult would it be to put a roomno at each parking space. Now I had to park quite some distance from my room, twice.
- Turning off the AC and fridge. Room was quite warm and took hours to cool while I wanted to go to bed, and no cool drinks before morning. Trying to save a few bucks at the expense of guest comfort.
- no free internet.

Since I read the reviews about the food here, didn't try any of the restaurants.

You don't have much choice if you want to stay close to Yosemite and it wasn't bad. But could be so much better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GH_RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Greeted by an exceptionally friendly concierge and reception staff. Offered choice of three different room types, and shown around each.
Large clean room with all amenities required for our stay. Good bathroom.
Bar and restaurant service friendly, prices okay for a lodge stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

If you want a hotel which is dark, dingy and in need of an update, then this one is for you.
The room we had was very tired, the decor very dated. There was also a problem with noise from other rooms.
The purpose of our visit was to see and explore Yosemite, which was wonderful, but we did not look forward to returning to this hotel in the evening and were glad to leave after two nights.
If you do go this hotel avoid the Pizzeria - we ate off paper plates!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,562 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing