We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Choose Tenaya Lodge over Ahwahnee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Choose Tenaya Lodge over Ahwahnee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

After dutiful research, we booked three nights at Tenaya for my family of 4. At Yosemite, there are not a lot of hotel choices - either expensive high class properties like Tenaya or Ahwahnee, or you drop down to much less luxurious places. We were EXTREMELY happy with Tenaya. First (and in contrast to earlier post), the staff was (with one exception) VERY friendly and efficient. They often used our name when speaking to us. We booked a room with sofabed, which also comes with a balcony (these rooms are at each end of the wings) and I recommend it highly, especially if you want to wake up, step outside, and see the expanse of trees and mountains. Even better in the night when you can sit out and gaze at the unlimited starry sky. Room was nicely appointed.

The pool area was idyllic. Imagine a heated pool (not too hot, just enough to still be refreshing) surrounded by a beautiful hotel building on one side and endless pine trees on the other, with a perfect blue sky above you. What could be better? Nice chaise lounges and lots of sun cover areas to hide under if you burn easy. They play music at the pool (not too loud) and they also pump the music underwater, which was fun for me and my kids to try to recognize the song from underwater. Admittedly, at times there were lots of kids, but it's Yosemite in the summertime. Duh! What do you expect? Also, be sure to visit the pool bar; they have amazing drinks made with top shelf liquor. I had a perfect mojito. The Mai Tai's are also great. The "Tenaya Long Island" is very potent - beware.

Ate twice at Jackalopes, the more casual (and cheaper) restaurant at Tenaya. Of course, you MUST sit outside - again, you get that great view. They have a cool fire pit that is surrounded by the tables. The stone wall surrounding the dining area also appears to have heaters built into it (which weren't needed when we were there). Cheaper than Sierra, but still expensive. But the food was outstanding (although other posters thought otherwise - and we are from NYC area so we know what good food is). Try the buffalo wings - they are perfection. The unusual dessert pizza was also great - share it with your table. Service the first time was great; the second time it was abysmal (a manager later intervened to try to patch up the many problems with us and other diners that night). We think it was due to a large wedding in the conference center area that probably reduced the normal waitstaff at the restaurant.

If you are AAA members, be sure to let the hotel know as you get free breakfast for two each day - and they have a very nice hot/cold buffet. The bacon was delicious, and I enjoyed the corned beef hash (which my wife despises).

Also went to the Summerdale cookout excursion, which takes place just a short walk behind the hotel. It was a nice evening with good buffet meal, roasting hot dogs on open fire, S'mores, live entertainer, and sing-along to end the night. Bar is available at extra cost.

Some clarifications from earlier reviews:

The walls ARE on the thin side, but if you want the uppermost floor it is the 4th floor, not the 3rd floor.

Who goes to Yosemite for a spa experience?

Do not, I repeat do NOT miss the drive to Glacier Point. The highlight of our visit to Yosemite.

After walking through the Ahwahnee later in the trip, we were SO glad that we saved the money and made the choice for Tenaya. Ahwahnee is amazingly beautiful from the outside, but many of hte public areas are not as majestic as Tenaya (like the main lobby, where Tenay is a large soaring space and Ahwahnee is claustrophobic). Having said that, try to do the Sunday brunch at Ahwahnee - in the amazing dining room. If you're lucky like us, you will get the "Queens Table" (in the small alcove that looks directly towards Yosemite Falls). Unfortunately, the falls were diminished from their earlier spring deluge, but it was a perfect spot nonetheless.

We had planned to go the Mariposa Forest one afternoon (Saturday) but the lots were overfilled, so we instead went back to the hotel (close by) and enjoyed the pool for a few hours, then later went back to see the giant sequoias.

Without question, Tenaya is the place to stay when going to Yosemite.

  • Liked — Amazing location and views in all directions
  • Disliked — High price of accommodations and food (but with few luxury properties in Yosemite, what do you expect?)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elitefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,829
    1,638
    653
    246
    127
See reviews for
1,800
1,732
49
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2007

We recently spent two nights at this place and really enjoyed it. I have two small children and the room (sleeps 4) was a very good size, very clean with good amenity's (fridge, kettle, tv, etc). Much better with 2 kids then some of the other paces we stayed. The kids loved the pool and spa and it was only a few mins drive to the national park. The staff were very friendly (every one was) and helpful. If you are looking for a bigger space to stay try Pines resort just done the road at Bass lake. Great for kids, with pool , spa and beach area.

  • Liked — very cute, little cottages in wooded area
  • Disliked — breakfast was abit rubbish
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2007

While the price may be right for those hoping to score a bargain near Yosemite, I would urge guests to be careful when booking lodging in a "Cabin" at this property. We stayed in unit 701 Longview and I sincerely hope that the person who is responsible for cleaning that room recovers from their prolonged illness and returns to work very soon. The unit needs you.

  • Liked — Price aqnd location
  • Disliked — Dirty and somewhat rundown.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TudgeThisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
252 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

My husband and I booked a stay at Tenaya for part of our honeymoon. The front desk staff was not helpful or smiling. Very run of the mill. The hotel is full of families on vacation with screaming, unattended to children. There is no shuttle to Yosemite so driving there is a must. The lodge is over 1 hour away from anything in Yosemite Village on a very winding, two lane road. There are spa services here, THIS IS NOT A SPA in atmosphere. If you go expecting a spa with serenity and lemony water, think again. The massages are performed next to the gym with screaming children in the hallways. Not very relaxing. The manicure/pedicure area is poolside with yet again more screaming children splashing water on my newly painted nails. Also there is no pedi chair only a bowl of water to soak your feet in. The nail technician did a great job for what she had.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — far away from yosemite village, lack of spa atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondechickma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2007

We arrived at Tenaya without a reservation. The front desk offered us a peek a two different rooms. We chose the Honeymoon suite. Our room was great. We had a nice balcony (to watch a deer a sunset). We had a lovely clean bathrrom and our bed was perfect. The only problem we had was I was awoken by a couple up stairs making love quite loudly. When you travel with a family, THICK INSULATED WALLS ARE A MUST! This upstairs neighboor was very loud and obnoxious.
We had lunch and dinner at the Jackaloupe. Both lunch and dinner were great with fast service and good food. Breakfast was less than okay...just plain old food.
I was given a great room rate and overall the service was pretty good. We used the game room and the sauna/steam room. The game room was fun but, the steam room/sauna lacked proper heating.
This is a nice resort. Fish Camp is a lovely little town.

  • Liked — The room was perfect
  • Disliked — Obvious lack of privacy insulation between floors and walls
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bblgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

If you are traveling to Yosemite and want a nice "lodge" type atmosphere with a full range of amenities such as a pool, spa, fitness center, restaurant and bar then Tenaya is a great place.

The rooms are very spacious, clean, updated and in great condition overall. The bathrooms are standard size, but very well appointed with nice features and products (shampoo, soap etc.).

The service is also very good with a polite/helpful front desk staff and a very knowledgeable guest services desk which will provide maps and suggestions to maximize your time in Yosemite or the surrounding area. Tenaya also offers numerous guided trips and hikes into Yosemite and mountain bike rentals for the trails surrounding the lodge, but be careful....they all come with a fairly hefty price tag. And speaking of hefty prices, be prepared to pay full hotel/resort prices for food and drink. One morning my $10 breakfast consisted of a small prepackaged bowl of cereal, a small carton of milk, a banana and a bottle of water.

BE AWARE.....THE LODGE DOES NOT PROVIDE ANY TRANSPORTATION INTO YOSEMITE PARK. Because they want you to purchase the pre-planned trips and activities into Yosemite (the cheapest of which is $50-$60 per person I think) Tenaya does not provide any shuttle service anywhere. So, if you aren't planning to spend all of your time at Tenaya Lodge then you will have to make arrangements for your own transportion into and out of Yosemite. There are a few rental car agencies in Oakhurst which is about 15-20 minutes away, but again you are on your own to get there. The lodge will NOT provide transportation to the rental cars in Oakhurst.

Overall, this is a great place to stay if you are looking for all of the creature comforts of a full service resort. If not, then there is plenty of camping in the park!

  • Liked — Nice rooms and amenities
  • Disliked — No transportation into Yosemite park
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongTallSallyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

This hotel was awful, awful, awful. The service is perhaps the worst I have had of the 40 countries I have visited. We checked in around lunchtime and they gave us a non-working key to our room. Check-in and simply getting into our room was a full hour, to which they were unsympathetic. At lunch, after waiting half an hour to order drinks/ food we complained. Then they resat us and the manager served us. My mom requested her food without onions due to an allergy. Low and behold, there were onions in her food. Back in our room birdpoop covered the windows which soured our lovely view. At dinner, the diet coke was not diet coke. We had to send it back because it had an off taste and the server agreed something was wrong with it. The tuna melt was the worst, absolute worst, we had ever had. The next morning, after standing in line to board the tour the guide explained we need a voucher, of which even after several conversations with the hotel about participating in this tour, every hotel personnel neglected to mention. So we had to stand in line at guest services while 30 people on the bus waited for us. Finally, at breakfast the next day, we ordered two orders of eggs because the buffet was terrible, with concentrated faux eggs. They brought one order, and by the time I complained ten minutes later, the second order had not arrived. To what did I complain about? My eggs had random other stuff in it- which was evidence that they had not cleaned their griddle before cooking my food since I simply had ordered eggs! We returned it and ordered something else.
Finally, keep in mind it is an hour drive to any attractions other than Mariposa.
We had a *great* lunch at The Ahwahnee. The lamb moussaka was incredible! and that hotel was beautiful.

  • Liked — the spa
  • Disliked — the service- restaurant and hotel staff- many food mistakes and slow
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,562 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing