We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,686)
Filter reviews
5,686 results
Traveler rating
2,347
2,042
812
313
172
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,347
2,042
812
313
172
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages sierra restaurant indoor pool ice skating south entrance cottage room the main hotel breakfast buffet flashlight hike glacier point valley floor minute drive fire pit valet parking embers jackalope concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 5,686 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2018

So the pool area is great, rooms were nice and clean. It is a little strange how you are essentially forced to take elevators and they are very slow. The restaurants were average but the proximity to the park is really the key.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Hello Will, thank you for your review and 4-star rating of Tenaya Lodge. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the lodge and Yosemite National Park while you were here. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back for your next adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

The pickings are slim and some would say almost primitive in the Yosemite area. While the Tenaya Lodge is not perfect, it really is the only decent choice within easy reach of the park.

This was our second visit to the hotel and this time around we chose to stay in one of the cottages which are clustered about a five minute walk from the main hotel building. Overall we were very happy with this decision. The room was a nice size and included a gas fireplace, plus a table with two chairs in a corner with two windows looking out to a pine forest. There was also a small refrigerator which came in handy, and a microwave. The bathroom was fine but small. Each cottage comes with some outdoor space; ours had a nice deck with two more chairs so we could sit outside and enjoy the fresh air and view. Personal outdoor space is not available with most rooms in the main building. Most of the cottages are actually small structures with three attached rooms, two on the first floor, and one upstairs. One night we were on our own and the other nights we had quiet neighbors. We felt we were lucky as this set up has the potential to be noisy if your neighbors are not so considerate. Another way to describe the cottages would be to call them closed off bedrooms in a three bedroom house, thus the need for good neighbors.

The rest of the hotel is pretty nice with an attractive lodge like look and feel. There are two restaurants both with outdoor seating, and a grab and go store in the main building, plus a casual pizza joint in the cottage section. The outdoor pool area is spacious, and it was very popular with kids during our stay. There is also an indoor pool, but the atmosphere is a little bland and average looking. The spa located in the basement looked updated but we did not use it. The gym had a fair amount of cardio machines but was light on workout equipment and the space lacks windows.

The location of the hotel is about a five minute drive to the southern entrance to the park and the recently reopened Mariposa Grove just beyond. Getting to the main area of the valley floor of the park will take close to 45 minutes. This may not seem ideal if you plan on spending a couple of days in the park, but this hotel is still a better option than the “expensive for what you get,” “hard to reserve,” and “far from luxurious options” within the park. The town of Oakhurst is a twenty minute drive in the opposite direction from the park and has a good selection of restaurants and basic shopping needs. The lodge is a solid if not exciting property, but it is still the best option for visiting Yosemite.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Hello, thank you for your 4-star rating and review. We appreciate your review of Tenaya Lodge, our cottages are a great option if you would like some more privacy than the main lodge offers. Next year, we will have stand-alone cabins available that have even more privacy than the cottages. We are happy that you enjoyed your time at the resort and in Yosemite National Park and hope to see you back for another visit to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

On July 4th, my husband and I decided to attend the barbecue, on our way back to Oakhurst from Yosemite. We were on the YART bus. The resort provided a shuttle for us from the bus stop to the event and back, no questions asked, even though we were not guests. Everyone from the shuttle driver to event staff were awesome and welcoming.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jane9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Hello Jane, thank you for taking the time to leave us your review! We are so happy that you decided to join us for our July 4th BBQ, you don't have to stay at Tenaya Lodge to be treated like a guest, we want everyone that comes to the resort to feel welcomed and comfortable. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back for another visit to Tenaya Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

Tenaya resort is the nicest place to stay for not being in the park. 10 min drive to park entrance. Very nice rooms, comfortable beds, lovely grounds, Nice pool and hot tubs. Very easy to do laundry there as we were traveling for 2 weeks. It’s a dog friendly resort. Restaurants were good but pricey. The one time we ventured out to another restaurant it was 20 min away in Oakhurst and it was closed due to the 4th of July w/e. Ended up eating pizza which was not good. Took 2 tours from resort and loved both. Flashlight tour was very fun and interesting. Our guide was Paul and he was great. Then the All Day Yosemite tour which was great. Our guide was Phil and he was fantastic. Very informative, loved his stories, and very accommodating. We did the summer land bbq at the resort and it was very cute and good food. All the staff were very nice. I would highly recommend this resort. It was our favorite out of 4 hotel stays on our long trip. The only thing that could have been better was that they should include the activities instead of charging for everything. Bikes, rock wall, archery we’re all extra fees and for the price of the hotel should’ve been included.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank nancylb8302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Hello Nancy, thank you for your wonderful 5-star review of Tenaya Lodge. We are so happy to see how much that your family enjoyed their time at the resort! I will pass along your compliments of Paul and Phil to their supervisor, we love to share the guests' kind words with our associates. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you for a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018

I will start with the good stuff. The resort is very nice, clean, comfortable and great for families and pets. They have a kids club which only runs 10am-1pm or 5:30pm-8:30pm. They charge $57 for each 3 hour session per kid. They do archery, rock climbing and other fun stuff. They also have an adventure course which our daughter enjoyed. The pool is on the small side, but they filled it with inflatables that everyone shared, which was fun and worked well. The hotel is close to the south entrance to the Park, but it's about a 30-40 minute drive through constantly windy roads to get down into the Valley. I was originally disappointed that I could not reserve a spot on Tenaya's bus tour of Yosemite, but when I saw that the roof of the Tenaya bus opened, I was relieved. It was so hot here and I prefer a/c. There are better options if you do a little research. They have a Tesla super charging station with several spots, so if you have a plug in, definitely a pro.

The bad stuff: The hotel staff is very robotic. They are not genuine and do not have an accommodating attitude. When I raised some issues, I received blank stares. They had no idea how to respond. They seem to have an issue with staff at lunch time--the one restaurant that was open was empty and yet had a 15 minute wait since they did not have enough servers. They have 3 restaurants in the main hotel, plus a bar at the pool, a pizzeria by the cottages and a grab and go place. They are all rather pricey but I don't think there is really anywhere else to go. So we ate most meals at the hotel. The food and service was not consistent (sometimes good, sometimes not so good). Embers, their fancy restaurant tried so hard to be elegant and offer top service, but just missed the mark. They have 2 other restaurants, which are more casual, and they are fine, but also pricey. The hotel does charge for everything, but you can't really fault them for that. Not sure how many hotels offer special services for free. They do give you 2 bottles of water daily, free wifi and free self or valet parking with the resort fee.

Definitely get a good map of the valley if you are driving yourselves. The map that the concierge hands out is terrible.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank luv2travel00270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews