We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best place to stay outside of Yosemite Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best place to stay outside of Yosemite Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

Stayed with my husband and two kids (16 and 20) and another family during Thanksgiving weekend. This was our second time staying here. Since it was Thanksgiving it was overpriced compared to early November. It was also very crowded and noisy. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays and the atmosphere is great there. A nice touch is complimentary Hot Chocolate in the lobby in the early evening. It was very cold outside and it was great to come into the lobby and warm up by the fire and play board games or just read. Restaurants in the hotel are pretty good.
All in all I really enjoy staying at the Tanaya Lodge and I am sure I will be back. Would recommend coming on a NON holiday weekend.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveagreatvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,667
    1,533
    617
    237
    120
See reviews for
1,708
1,569
45
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Stayed here last summer with the family. We planned our vacation late and all Yosemite NP lodging was full. I recommend staying in the park if at all possible to be close to everything. If you can't this lodge is a very nice place to stay although a little pricey. We had a great time here and the only negative was the 1 hour drive into the park each day.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmkmtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

We visited USA West during September 2008. One of our hotels was the Apple Tree Inn at Fish Camp. What a lovely hotel!! Very good situated close to the south entrance of Yosemite Park, this hotel has nicely decorated, spacious rooms, with (in our case, i.e. the Sugar Pine cottage) double queen-size beds. The only disadvantage was a malfunctioning heating, which could not be switched off. Also the lady at the reception did not know what to do about it and since it was not that warm anyway, we did not pay too much attention to it.
Nearby is big hotel, where some restaurants are located. Rather good, though not cheap. But then you shouldn't go the Apple Tree Inn either.
We stayed for 2 nights and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wim_Thea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
611 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 671 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

We went for one night during the Presidents Day holidays and the place was packed with families.

The foyer and decor were impressive. There was a beautiful fireplace at the centre of the room and the whole effect was welcoming and warm.

However within 5 minutes of arriving in our room on the third floor we could hear the family upstairs. We asked for another room - no problem - and were given one on the top floor. Noise however was still a problem from the hallways. The rooms were pleasantly decorated although the bathroom could have done with some updating.

There were children everywhere in the pool - we turned away as a peaceful swim was out of the question.

Booked a table for dinner in the main restaurant. The food and service were excellent and again there was a beautiful double sided open fireplace in the centre of the restaurant.

The buffet breakfast was enjoyable and the staff dealt well with the families who were in there.

I would not go again in holiday time. Families are attracted to this hotel and our enjoyment was compromised by the noise level in the corridors and rooms. It was a family friendly hotel but there needs to be some serious attention to sound insulation. Once this problem is fixed, it would be a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canberra_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed at the Tenaya Saturday and Sunday 2/28-3/2/2009. Based on the e-mails of packages and website for the Tenaya I had been expecting a four star lodge with wonderful spa atmosphere and tailored to the R&R couples want and need away from work, family and daily stress.
I paid for a king deluxe which was supposed to be on top floors with more desirable views. There were only 2 rooms available, both on the first floor. The room #147 was decent size with fairly decent view of trees, however the walls are paper thin. The people in #148 kept slamming the door and our room shook. When in the toilet you could hear what they were saying in their room. The room behind us the people were having a normal conversation at 9:30pm and I could hear clearly what they were saying.
I will say the massage from Barb was wonderful, but the women's locker facility was a basic locker room. The showers were not working due to drain problems. The steam sauna was great, the dry sauna did not get hot. On Monday a mother brought her two 5/6 year kids, one boy and girl, into the facilities. I complained to staff that kids should not be in the facility and especially no boys as I like to go w/ no bathing suit in a non-co-ed steam/sauna.
Overall, the stay was decent, far from the spa-adult-relaxing facility I had been expecting. The gym is decent and quit spacious- free weights as well as machines, about 3 treadmills, 3 eleptical, 3 bikes and enough space to stretch. The place is GREAT for families with kids as they definately cater to families. I can't say I will be rushing back anytime soon and I would give it a three star rating as many other reviewers have said.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdleps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

This hotel is my number one pet peeve...A place that has potential to be a 5 star hotel but needs some tweaking.

When you drive up, you can valet or self-park...both are complimentary. If you arrive at night there is a "chiminea" fireplace going where you exit your car, which is quite a first impression....We checked in around 12pm (early) without hassle. We booked a room which included a Smores kit, ice skating and an upgrade from the standard room. We arrived to our room which was an average hotel room in the main lodge, including a refrigerator and robes (features I love). So far, we are very happy....Then we go for lunch at Jackolopes....Service is HORRIBLE....In fact we had to ask the bartender for our check (after awful service anyways) when we were done. That was par for course every time we dined there (5 times in all) and at the "high end" restaurant over the period of 3 days....The food was average for the prices, but the service was just plain bad.

On to the earplug suggestion...You can hear everything that goes on in the hallway...I'm talking word for word conversations, etc. It didn't help that we were in a room right near the elevator...Every time the elevator would arrive at our floor you would hear the "ding ding." My husband and daughter didn't lose any sleep, but after an hour of being woke up every 5 minutes, I put in my earplugs....Unfortunately this problem isn’t easily remedied, but it does take away from the hotel's potential as a 5 star.

So far I have complained a lot, so here are the positives...Room Service, valet, concierge, housekeeping and bell service w ere fantastic. Every employee had a smile on their face and engaged conversation. The ice skating rink was fun and the snow play area great (free snow discs to use, etc). The sleigh ride was also fun (something you have to do at least once).

There are three fire rings...one by the snow play area and two by Jackolopes which are lit at night (except our first night due to the snow level). The fireplace in the lobby is beautiful, and I'm appalled that they wouldn't light it at Christmas (especially because it was lit during the day when we were there, maybe due to the prior post). We had dinner and drinks in front of it...Our daughter did a puzzle and we played games on the large table after that....Such a beautiful experience.

As we have the last two years, we wanted to go into Yosemite, but didn't have chains (required to go into the valley even with 4 wheel drive). If this is a priority during snowy times, bring your chains....Yosemite in the winter is breathtaking, and only about a 45 minute-1 hr drive.

All in all, we will return, but next time we'll stay in the Tenaya Cottages (old Apple Tree Inn). We stayed at Apple Tree the 2 years prior to this and loved the feel of having your own little house (and much quieter than the lodge). The Cottages also have an indoor pool in the complex and are a short walk to the Lodge for the restaurants (what choice do you have). I guess that was really the only complaint....the food service. Management: A little more training and your staff will be making more tips.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JT3373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

We were just overall disappointed, we had heard great things,but it was just okay. If it is a busy weekend, be warned...they may not be able to handle all the guest and the closest restaurant is 17 miles away and no one delivers! Make sure you kids wear helmet while sled ridding...there are some unsafe objects where they can hit their heads. Pool area was cold because 2 window were open and it was 30 degrees outside!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mailedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,402 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,774 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
15.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing