We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Rooms Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location. The property is nice and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

However, the rooms are average though and while you'd expect rustic décor, I couldn't tell the difference in the room décor from an average chain hotel. The lobby was kind of nice and appropriately appointed, but for the price paid, I would have expected nicer rooms. I suppose peak season the price at $400 a night including tax etc was to be expected.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincentd972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

We appreciate your feedback, Vincent, and are pleased to hear you received great service from our team. Thank you for your comments on our rooms. In an effort to continue our tradition of facilitating “roughing it without the rough part” for our guests, we are in the process of a full room remodel, which will be completed over the course of the year. We hope you will return to check it out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,813 - 2,819 of 5,137 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great pool area, lovely rooms, mostly very good service and well located to explore the southern end of Yosemite. The air conditioning could have been quieter and while it was cool enough at night to open a window the pool guys turn on some light music at 6am....easily sorted by the management but shouldn't happen.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kennyaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We felt very at home here from the moment we pulled up at Tenaya Lodge. The bed was so comfy and the staff so friendly and helpful. We loved it. The setting is beautiful and there was something for all our family - archery, pool and camp fire. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alexis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Positive points: food generally was very good, both breakfast and dinner. Car park and external area were fine. The waiting staff, in particular "Forest" and "Emily"" were excellent.

Pool area general was quite good, but a child did slip when I was there, as the ground was quite sloppy.

Negative points:

1. it is a wooden building, which may suit the environment, but we could hear our neighbours too much, in particular those above us, also in the corridors.

2. The Welcome. We ( believe it or not) stood at reception, at the front if the line, for a full 2 or 3 minutes before we were even acknowledged, but reception was actually staffed at the time. We were greeted by a less than friendly female member of staff, who I will not name, as I blame it on the training or staff selection.

3. The noise.......again...........as above, a wooden structure and a busy hotel, will lead to noisy places.

4. Other staff. We met some staff that were absolutely fantastic, but others were clearly not trained at all. I actually held the door open for a member of staff that was carrying ,luggage for another guest and he didn't even thank me for holding the door one for him. Thankfully, the hotel guests did thank me and actually apologised on his behalf.

5 MANAGEMENT. At all times throughout our stay, there was no visible presence of management or leadership at all. At the same time, there were members of staff talking to their collars with ear pieces, like the CIA.......I began to wonder if I was at a UN convention, or a holiday. Very sad indeed.

6. LOCATION. Yes, this hotel is near the redwood trees, that are totally super, however the main attractions of Yosemite are best experienced from the other entrances. Do your research, unlike us........the other hotels are generally better regarded too, albeit perhaps more expensive.

7. Overall, I am sorry that I spend approximately $1,500 for just 3 nights in what has proven to be a Very poor hotel, in terms of blue for money.

Room Tip: Get top floor, as you will hear everyone above you !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CPKONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience, CPKONE. Although it sounds like you were able to enjoy your meals and great service – thanks especially for your “shout out” to Forest and Emily, who will certainly be praised – we are sorry to hear you were disappointed in much of your stay. We always want guests to have consistently exceptional service from start to finish, and we apologize you did not feel you received that. Headsets are standard for most departments in public areas of the hotel to streamline communication on operations and guest needs without interrupting our patrons with radio noise. And, while we definitely want to provide an authentic, yet luxurious, park experience with our building, we never want that to be at the expense of guest experiences and are sorry you were uncomfortable with noise from neighbors at times. We would love to learn more about some of your frustrations and will message you information to contact us. Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great location; excellent base for exploring Yosemite; could do with a renovation, but love the lodge feel; excellent cedar cooked salmon. The main dining room is adults only, which surprised us, as it wasn't 4 years ago when we stayed and dined with our children.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

We appreciate your feedback, Lara1970. We’re glad that you and your family had a nice stay and had a chance to adventure in the park. Our biggest restaurant, Sierra, is open to guests of all ages. However, our fine dining establishment, Embers, is open to guests 12 and older. We apologize for any disappointment or confusion based on your last visit. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very happy with our stay at Tenaya lodge. Stayed here with 10 friends and we all had a great experience from checking in to checking out. If you plan on checking yosemite out Tenaya is a great jump off point for all the yosemite has to offer. Very helpful concierge have plenty of great advice. If you're wanted you're wanted to see yosemite a bit more comfortably and dont mind paying a bit more check out Tenaya Lodge

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jjjjjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

When we arrived we found out we had been upgraded to a cottage suite. We were in an upstairs suite which was very roomy, small seating area, microwave, bathroom and its own balcony area. The Hotel is very pleasant with several restaurants, two swimming pools one inside and various activities for kids. None of the above is cheap though and given that most of your time will be spent exploring the stunning area, would only be useful if staying for 3 to 4 days or travelling with kids.
Drinks are very expensive at the bar. Only used the pizza restaurant as was so close to the cottages, but it's more like a cafe than a restaurant. Pizza very good though!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hulme2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,654 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,898 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,187 reviews
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
18.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range: $187 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing