We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Other reviewers have said its handy, or close to Yosemite. This is true, it is only a few miles to the southern entrance of Yosemite National Park. It's quite close to the Mariposa Grove of giant Sequoias. But it's a painful 35+ mile drive to Yosemite Valley, a drive full of twists and turns taken at speeds as slow as 25 MPH. Plan on it taking an hour or longer to reach the principal park destinations.

The hotel amenities are nice, although not spectacular, particularly at this price point. We stayed in one of the suites, and these were clearly overpriced. The staff were quite friendly and helpful, but again, nothing out of the ordinary for a location totally dependent on tourist trade.

The restaurants are really just OK. They have essentially no competition, so they charge a lot. The prices in the hotel stores and deli are laughably high.

The bed was really just OK. Would be fine if it was a low priced deal, but again, this is an establishment charging high prices.

Room Tip: Avoid the suites, they are overpriced and a long walk from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank braindeadmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, braindeadmac. Although we’re glad you enjoyed Tenaya’s grounds and amenities, we are sorry to hear you felt you did not receive the expected value. As a Four Diamond resort, it is a primary goal to achieve an above and beyond guest experience across the board. We are also in the process of a lodge renovation to even better execute this initiative. In terms of food, we use fresh and locally sourced ingredients to offer high-quality options at a range of price points. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,064
    1,812
    705
    274
    149
See reviews for
2,056
1,932
53
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2014

no hot water in shower, was fixed quickly though, outside pool is nice except water guns in pool can get those laying on the chairs wet - my phone and laptop got wet because of this so that needs to be addressed

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your thoughts, Debra. We’re glad that your water temperature issue was resolved quickly, but we apologize that you were frustrated during your time at the pool. The two water guns we have installed in our kiddie pool are calibrated so that water does not escape onto the pool deck, so we are sorry to hear that external toys may have impacted your experience. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite. The hotel is handy for visiting the southern part of Yosemite, particularly Mariposa Grove and the Giant Sequoias. The room was fine and everything was clean, the gardens are lovely and whilst the pool is small they are building another pool. My issue with the Tenaya Lodge is the restaurants. The area is pretty isolated and so it is necessary to use the hotel restaurants. First night we used the Jackalope pub style restaurant and waited a long time for service, the food was only OK, I had fish and chips and it was comparable to the fish and chips I'd had in Macdonalds a few days earlier, no better and a lot dearer. The prices were higher than any other hotels restaurants we had visited on our 3 week trip. The second night we ate in the Sierra Restaurant, which is their next step up restaurant, this means they charge you more than the Jackalope, $2 more for a glass of wine coming out the same bar area. The food was very underwhelming, my chicken was overcooked and the portions were small. Very disappointing. They do have a "fine dining" restaurant which we didn't try but can't imagine that the "fine dining" would impress me. The price of breakfast was off putting and didn't compare, pricewise, to anywhere else we had stayed.
When you arrive they valet park your car for you, and point out this is free, of course you give the man who parks your car a tip, it was suggested that this is better than finding a spot for ourselves, in fact this proved to be no problem when we returned the next day and found a spot easily.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, Carol. We’re glad to hear you were comfortable in your room and enjoyed your stay overall, but are sorry that you were disappointed in your dining experience. Our Food & Beverage team works to offer our guests sustainable, high-quality food that adds to the value of their stay. Your feedback will be shared. Valet and self-parking are both complimentary and offered as options to our guests depending on preference. Space availability also varies from day to day. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel has a spa, an ice skating rink, an indoor pool, snow play areas and much more for families to enjoy. It is a bit of a drive to Yosemite, but it's definitely worth it (and the drive is beautiful). We travel a lot, and my daughter said this is her favorite hotel ever.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We appreciate your comments, Leigh. We love that you and your family were able to enjoy snowy season at Tenaya – one of our favorite times of year! Tell your daughter thank you – we’re flattered.
: ) We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Beautiful place to stay! The setting is breath taking, close to the National Park. Great rooms, spa and outdoor area. Great for a weekend stay and an overnight before you go in the park!! Rooms were nice, breakfast was wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasider in Scunthorpe
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife & I stayed here for 2 nights during a tour of California. It is an extremely welcoming, if a little pricey, place to stay. Our reception was superb, in a vast welcoming lobby. Parking was easy & conveniently placed right by the rooms. It had a lovely outside pool area & a very pleasant bar & 2 restaurants which served very good food at reasonable prices. I understand hotel accommodation is difficult to come by in the park but this hotel is less than 5 minutes from the entrance & has all you could want. The room was spacious, clean & had all the usual facilities. If I lived locally I would be back again & again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangerinebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, Tangerinebiker. It sounds like you and your wife had a great stay with us, and we’re so glad you enjoyed warm and welcoming service and great food. Even if you’re not a regular, we hope you come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here on a visit to Yosemite. Friendly staff and great facilities.
The "but" and it's a rather enormous "but" is that for 500 bucks a night (plus $15) you want doors, walls and ceilings that you don't hear anything through. It's obviously a recognised issue as there are signs around asking people to be quiet.
Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone and I wouldn't choose it again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Newk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thanks for your comments, Newk. We appreciate your kind words for our staff and the hotel overall, and are glad to hear that part of your experience was great, but are sorry that your time in-room colored your stay in a more negative light. We want all guests to be comfortable and well-rested, and we apologize you did not feel that way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,584 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,053 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
10.2 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing