We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This was a great stay for us, shame we were only there for 1 night. The rooms were really comfy and a great size. The staff were all great, and the food was really good (I had the ribeye and shrimp and would recommend it), great choice of local wines. The hotel itself has plenty to offer and is close to South Entrance Yosemite.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tourers_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, Tourers_84. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed a great stay, food, and service. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,040
    1,776
    691
    265
    143
See reviews for
2,009
1,896
53
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

On the positive side : great setting outside of the Yosemite NP, great Spa area ( Ascent Spa ) with sauna and relax room, big and comfortable room on the 3rd floor.
If you want a quiet and good dinner, go to the Elm restaurant. A little over priced, though.
Breakfast was great .
Service personnel were friendly and helpful, yet not very well organized. You had to wait to be seated despite the restaurants being half empty.

Room Tip: Go to the Spa area. It is worth while especially after a long hike in Yosemite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anica221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Anica221. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience at Ascent and Embers, but are sorry to hear you felt a bit frustrated with the dining organization. We appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in April and considering the cost of the accommodation you would have thought that they would go to every effort to help your stay, we booked a king room, when we arrived we were told that they were all full so we had to make do with a twin, nothing else said, this also wasn't told by a lowly member of staff who could brush it off but by the manager, no mention of them working resolve the issue, just this is how it is and deal with it, the hotel and the grounds are lovely but the staff let it down badly, for the price you pay you can stay in much better places where you will be treated much better for your money

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisito58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts, chrisito58. We are sorry that you felt disappointed and frustrated with your room experience. It is our goal for all guests to feel as though they receive optimal value. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The walls were thin. I had a second floor room and could hear people walking upstairs.
I found the lodge over priced for what is offered. The food was overly expensive, but decent fare. I believe all restaurants use the same kitchen. Menus are similar in all their restaurants. The plank salmon and rainbow trout were very good. Their specialty bloody Mary had everything in it except the kitchen sink. Asparagus spear, onions, sweet pickle and carrot sticks. Different but distracting to say the very least.

The indoor swimming pool was overly chlorinated.

A $40.00 fee for early check in or late check out was more than a little tacky.

The website implies a four or five store experience. The actual Lodge does not. It's old rustic with a lot of unused meeting rooms. Might be great for kids, large groups and or dogs but not for a romantic getaway.

But remember you're going to Yosemite and there's not a lot of options in the area. Comparatively it's probably one of the best accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room.
See more room tips
Green Features: A lot of look how environmentally friendly we are but the Seagan the bathroom wouldn't hold water so you must run the water constantly when shaving.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neko22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We appreciate your comments, Neko22. We are glad that you enjoyed your food and beverage options, but are sorry that you were disappointed with your room and check-out experience. We want all guests to experience a Four Diamond stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
204 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Please note we stayed here for four nights beginning April 19 in a room on the 4th floor.

Location - Good. It is two miles to Yosemite's south entrance and then another 30 down into Yosemite Valley (where the major sights are). The nearest "town" is Oakhurst, a mere 16 miles to the south.

Rooms - Good, clean, quiet. The selection of cable channels is poor; after hiking all day, I wanted to treat myself to cable (which I don't have at home). I have seen reviews stating the bathrooms are dirty, but ours was clean. I didn't think the decor/carpet was outdated or worn, although I saw a couple of holes in the bedspreads. Upon our arrival, the shower was clogged and the handle broke; maintenance came up within 15 minutes, but I was not happy to wait on a hot shower and deal with this after flying for 6 hours and driving for 4 hours.

Fitness center/pool - Very nice. This is one of the better fitness centers I have seen.

Restaurants - Breakfast, although pricey, was very good and servers were highly efficient and professional. We were not impressed with dinner: 1. The prices are too high. 2. The staff seemed disorganized, although very pleasant. We would have three different servers and would have to flag someone down for drink refills and the check. 3. We quickly got sick of the menu at the Pembroke Grill and the Sierra Restaurant (same menu for both, by the way). We visited the pizzeria the last night; the pizzeria has a salad bar that is cheaper than the salads inside the hotel. I would have been a lot happier had I known about the salad bar.

Recommendations to management. You have great employees but could easily improve the below areas:
1. Make sure housekeeping is reporting maintenance problems so that the guests don't have to deal with it.
2. Watch the bedspreads. I noticed a couple of very small holes in ours; it looked like a dog or cat clawed it.
3. Fine-tune dinner service. All of your employees are very nice, but lunch/dinner was chaotic and unimpressive, even as early at 4pm.
4. Fix the elevators in the east wing! Are you servicing them regularly?

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and away from the elevators. All rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arualpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your thoughts, arualpalm. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us overall and received friendly service, but are sorry you felt frustrated with your cable, shower and some aspects of your dining experience. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a nice stay here at Tenaya Lodge, the room was clean and well appointed we stayed in room 120. However there was no main light in the room so it made it hard to pack because alls you had was a lamp. I would recommend that they look into putting in a main light that you can switch on. The best part of this place is that they have a full functioning laundry room which was really helpful to us. The breakfast at the Sierra restaurant was average at best. The best tip I can give is buy a bagel from the deli and ask them to toast it for you, it's a quarter of the price and it's just as nice. The Jacks restaurant was nice, the portions are HUGE so a lot of the meals can be shared. I ended up having the soup a couple of the nights just so I can fit it in. You must have a rental car when you come to this hotel because everything is a decent drive away. We went to the Yosemite National Park falls on one day and then on the next day we went to the Glaciers and the Giant trees. Both are about 1 hour away from Tenaya Lodge by car. Pack lunch because it's not the easiest place to get food along the way given that it's a National Park. We saw a wolf and some deers but no bears unfortunately. It was a beautiful place to drive as the air smells of pine and is really fresh and clean.

Room Tip: Room 120 was OK but the lighting needs work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teegsy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We appreciate your comments, Teegsy07. It sounds like you had a fantastic stay, but we’re sorry you encountered some difficulty with your lights. Glad to hear you were able to experience a lot of the great Yosemite sights!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The best things about this hotel is its location, the buffet breakfast and the lobby. We stayed 2 nights in room 261 and to be honest it was a disappointment. The beds were comfortable but the decor was very dated and worn, including the bathroom area. The part that was most worrisome was the condition of the rug...it was very dirty. I did not want to walk barefoot on them. The main lobby is lovely and well kept. And I felt restaurant prices were on the high side, but I have found restaurant prices high throughout the state. I would probably not stay here again due to the room condition.

Room Tip: No advice on this, as my room was poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Lynne. We are sorry to hear you felt disappointed with your room. As a Four Diamond resort, we work to ensure an excellent and comfortable experience for all guests. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,004 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.2 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#2 of 9 in Oakhurst
237 reviews
15.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing