We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week day get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The walls were thin. I had a second floor room and could hear people walking upstairs.
I found the lodge over priced for what is offered. The food was overly expensive, but decent fare. I believe all restaurants use the same kitchen. Menus are similar in all their restaurants. The plank salmon and rainbow trout were very good. Their specialty bloody Mary had everything in it except the kitchen sink. Asparagus spear, onions, sweet pickle and carrot sticks. Different but distracting to say the very least.

The indoor swimming pool was overly chlorinated.

A $40.00 fee for early check in or late check out was more than a little tacky.

The website implies a four or five store experience. The actual Lodge does not. It's old rustic with a lot of unused meeting rooms. Might be great for kids, large groups and or dogs but not for a romantic getaway.

But remember you're going to Yosemite and there's not a lot of options in the area. Comparatively it's probably one of the best accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neko22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

We appreciate your comments, Neko22. We are glad that you enjoyed your food and beverage options, but are sorry that you were disappointed with your room and check-out experience. We want all guests to experience a Four Diamond stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,129 - 3,135 of 5,221 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Please note we stayed here for four nights beginning April 19 in a room on the 4th floor.

Location - Good. It is two miles to Yosemite's south entrance and then another 30 down into Yosemite Valley (where the major sights are). The nearest "town" is Oakhurst, a mere 16 miles to the south.

Rooms - Good, clean, quiet. The selection of cable channels is poor; after hiking all day, I wanted to treat myself to cable (which I don't have at home). I have seen reviews stating the bathrooms are dirty, but ours was clean. I didn't think the decor/carpet was outdated or worn, although I saw a couple of holes in the bedspreads. Upon our arrival, the shower was clogged and the handle broke; maintenance came up within 15 minutes, but I was not happy to wait on a hot shower and deal with this after flying for 6 hours and driving for 4 hours.

Fitness center/pool - Very nice. This is one of the better fitness centers I have seen.

Restaurants - Breakfast, although pricey, was very good and servers were highly efficient and professional. We were not impressed with dinner: 1. The prices are too high. 2. The staff seemed disorganized, although very pleasant. We would have three different servers and would have to flag someone down for drink refills and the check. 3. We quickly got sick of the menu at the Pembroke Grill and the Sierra Restaurant (same menu for both, by the way). We visited the pizzeria the last night; the pizzeria has a salad bar that is cheaper than the salads inside the hotel. I would have been a lot happier had I known about the salad bar.

Recommendations to management. You have great employees but could easily improve the below areas:
1. Make sure housekeeping is reporting maintenance problems so that the guests don't have to deal with it.
2. Watch the bedspreads. I noticed a couple of very small holes in ours; it looked like a dog or cat clawed it.
3. Fine-tune dinner service. All of your employees are very nice, but lunch/dinner was chaotic and unimpressive, even as early at 4pm.
4. Fix the elevators in the east wing! Are you servicing them regularly?

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and away from the elevators. All rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arualpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts, arualpalm. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us overall and received friendly service, but are sorry you felt frustrated with your cable, shower and some aspects of your dining experience. Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a nice stay here at Tenaya Lodge, the room was clean and well appointed we stayed in room 120. However there was no main light in the room so it made it hard to pack because alls you had was a lamp. I would recommend that they look into putting in a main light that you can switch on. The best part of this place is that they have a full functioning laundry room which was really helpful to us. The breakfast at the Sierra restaurant was average at best. The best tip I can give is buy a bagel from the deli and ask them to toast it for you, it's a quarter of the price and it's just as nice. The Jacks restaurant was nice, the portions are HUGE so a lot of the meals can be shared. I ended up having the soup a couple of the nights just so I can fit it in. You must have a rental car when you come to this hotel because everything is a decent drive away. We went to the Yosemite National Park falls on one day and then on the next day we went to the Glaciers and the Giant trees. Both are about 1 hour away from Tenaya Lodge by car. Pack lunch because it's not the easiest place to get food along the way given that it's a National Park. We saw a wolf and some deers but no bears unfortunately. It was a beautiful place to drive as the air smells of pine and is really fresh and clean.

Room Tip: Room 120 was OK but the lighting needs work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teegsy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

We appreciate your comments, Teegsy07. It sounds like you had a fantastic stay, but we’re sorry you encountered some difficulty with your lights. Glad to hear you were able to experience a lot of the great Yosemite sights!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The best things about this hotel is its location, the buffet breakfast and the lobby. We stayed 2 nights in room 261 and to be honest it was a disappointment. The beds were comfortable but the decor was very dated and worn, including the bathroom area. The part that was most worrisome was the condition of the rug...it was very dirty. I did not want to walk barefoot on them. The main lobby is lovely and well kept. And I felt restaurant prices were on the high side, but I have found restaurant prices high throughout the state. I would probably not stay here again due to the room condition.

Room Tip: No advice on this, as my room was poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Lynne. We are sorry to hear you felt disappointed with your room. As a Four Diamond resort, we work to ensure an excellent and comfortable experience for all guests. We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife, son and I stayed for 5 days in April (Spring Break) and had an amazing time. Although the lodge is located about a 1 hour drive from the Yosemite Valley it is close to Wawona and the Mariposa Grove of the Sequoias. The drive to the valley is through the beautiful pine forest so it isn't too bad. We stayed in one of the cottages which are a short walk from the main hotel but perfect if you want a little space. The cottages even have their own pool and spa (both indoor and heated) and they are close to the pizzeria (which isn't cheap but is fantastic). The lodge has PLENTY of activities for the kids so you can spend an entire day there and have plenty of fun. The only complaint I would have is the average cost of meals. They have a couple of dining options (and even room service to the cottages) but all options come with a moderate to heavy price tag. Regardless, we had an awesome time and plan on staying again in the years to come.

Room Tip: Get a cottage if you want a little more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JO_8500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

We appreciate your feedback, JO_8500. We’re so glad to hear you and your family had a great time, and thank you for your comments on food pricing. We strive to provide our guests with fresh and seasonal ingredients in a more remote location, but it is our goal to offer value as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Beautiful location and enjoyed staying in the cottages. I wished there was a bit more privacy in the cottages. We were in B 564 and had a small area to enjoy our coffee or read a book outside our cottage. There wasn't a view - only other cottages. They did have a few trees between the cottages, but no mountain views. A great location for the price to explore Yosemite. We stayed there 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. There are five restaurants to choose from and they offer a complimentary breakfast buffet. Had a difficult times making reservations at Embers and the Spa. There was not a "live person" to take the call only voice mail with no return calls. I would not recommend driving to this location at night. The mountain roads are difficult to navigate for the first time at night.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage B564. The view was of other cottages and not the mountains. It wasn't wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Pam. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, but we apologize for any frustration felt when trying to book reservations at Embers and Ascent. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Let me start by saying the staff was very friendly and the main lodge was very nice. We stayed in "cottage" #549. It was nice but dark. I was wondering why they didn't design them to have more windows and take advantage of the beautiful view. They're really not that private due to the fact that there are 3 units to one building. Ours had a very pretty view of the woods and a couple of chairs out on the lawn, but the road was close by and it was pretty noisy. I noticed that some of the cottages were really lacking in privacy and view so be careful when selecting your cottage. One thing I did enjoy was the short walk to the cute little pizza restaurant. It was a little too bright and loud but we were lucky enough to get a table off to the side for a little better ambiance. Our waiter was super sweet, friendly and helpful. The pizza and salad bar were very good! The next night we walked over to the main lodge and had an excellent but expensive meal at the Sierra restaurant. The service was very friendly and the food was delicious. Overall this is a very nice place but not exactly what I had in mind for us personally. We're not into spa's and all of the ammenities offered so we really didn't take advantage of all of these features. Also note that the drive to Yosemite Valley is about 45 minutes but we didn't mind because it was a beautiful drive. :)

Room Tip: If you're staying in the cottages and you want privacy and a view make sure you let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thanks for your feedback, riverrush. We are glad you experienced great food and exemplary service. Tenaya is indeed a full-service hotel, but we work to ensure guests of all interest sets have plenty to enjoy. We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,705 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,956 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,224 reviews
15.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,113 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range: $207 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing