We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice choice just outside Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at the lodge for an extended weekend at the end of March 2014 for a visit to Yosemite. We've stayed in the valley in the past, but wanted a place that accepted dogs, which Tenaya does.

For a large, modern hotel, the details are very nice. The lobby has a fun, "Ahwahnee-eske" feel that fits right in with the location. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. We were placed in a first floor room with a sliding door to the outside due to having the dogs. The rooms were pleasant and fresh, and included a dog bed and water bowl. The only issue was we could hear kids running back and forth upstairs, but nothing major.

The lodge has an indoor and outdoor pool, a game room, plus a small skating rink for the winter, so kiddies should be easy to entertain if they are tired of hiking. It is literally a ten minute drive to the South entrance of Yosemite and another ten or so two the redwood grove. Keep in mind it is a much longer drive to the valley - 45 minutes - since you are at the south entrance, but the drive is pleasant (though windy), through the park.

There are three restaurants and a takeout deli at the hotel and we found the staff very friendly - they welcomed us back on our second night and remembered some particulars that were requested from the first night. The food is good, but not superlative - perhaps I'm spoiled by the Bay Area, but overall the dining experience was very good, EXCEPT for the prices. It's a 20 minute drive to the nearest big town (Oakhurst) and because of that they know they have a captive audience. In the mid-level restaurant, we paid $23 for a tasty chicken penne pasta that would have been at most $16 to $18 in San Francisco, and much more for a nice steak. Again, pleasant service and good food, just be prepared for the prices.

Our only other negative was a somewhat grumpy concierge, which stood out because all of the other staff was very friendly and professional.

Overall, I would stay here again for many reasons - big, pleasant rooms, great public spaces, great staff, good location, they take dogs!

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are great if you have dogs, but would also be great for kids, as they can run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluewombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts, bluewombat. We’re glad that you and your furry friends had a great stay and excellent service with us. We also appreciate your feedback on the food pricing and your concierge experience, and are sorry you felt any disappointment. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,078 - 3,084 of 5,138 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Mixed emotions following our three night stay. Certainly the most convenient hotel before the park's southern entrance but this is a big hotel (not what we would call a lodge as such) so you need to manage your expectations depending on your type of stay. Certainly ideal for families and children but maybe not so relaxing for couples having a break from family life. The fact that it was also spring break didn't help us and therefore everywhere was a bit noisy and sometimes too busy including the restaurants. But we worked round it and there were highs. Our room was most excellent - we had one of the new refurbished garden suites - brilliant in every way. My wife had a tremendous experience in the Spa - certainly one of the best in our three week road trip - highly recommended. The staff were courteous and helpful but maybe less of the false smiles and more genuine/pleasant dialogue would be welcome. To avoid the restaurant "bundle" we had room service - brilliant - quick service and great food. As we said at the beginning - mixed emotions.

Room Tip: Go for one of the new garden suites - they're worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iannorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thanks for your feedback, iannorman. It sounds as though you and your wife had a great stay, and we’re so glad you enjoyed our new suites; the first rooms to get the new look we’ll be rolling out later in the year! However, we are sorry to hear you felt the noise level interrupted relaxation. As a Four Diamond resort, we work to ensure all guests are able to enjoy the vacation they need. We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My partner and I had a great weekend stay at the Lodge. I highly recommend this option for families, couples, singles, etc. They had a good deal of activities and always had a buzz in the lobby area. My only knock was the rooms were a bit outdated and they had very small pillows. I also loved the variety of dining establishments.

We enjoyed ice skating one afternoon and would have liked to use the pool but did not get a chance.

I have to recommend Embers. We had our 6 Year Anniversary dinner and it was wonderful. I think it was the best salmon I have ever eaten but the tangerine butter would have been good on anything. Highly recommended for special occasions but Embers has more of an adult flavor.

Also, at check in, the young lady was pleasant but offered no information on the resort other than how to get to the room.

The resort is very close to the entrance to Yosemite.

I recommend, particularly for families with children.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BulldogMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thanks for your feedback, Matt. We are so pleased to hear you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us and happily celebrated your anniversary – congratulations! We have a full room renovation in store for later in the year, so we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Overall the lodge was nice, but agree with others that the front desk certainly needs to treat their guest a little more politely than the front desk would at a motel 6. They need to remember that as travelers WE have chosen this hotel that has given them a job. We arrived 15 minutes before the 3:00 check in time so we expected a little wait. Almost two hours later and numerous times checking with the front desk we got entry into our room. No apologies, no compensation for their lack of planning. I kept saying to my husband that this must be some kind of spectacular room for all the delays with the cleaning. It was a nice room but that was all, nothing spectacular at all. All the while while we we waiting in their freezing lobby we watched guest after guest receive their keys and be on their merry way. This greatly impacted my anticipation for this get away as it was an anniversary weekend but I soon realized it meant nothing to the hotel staff. Back to the lobby, the fire was barely blazing and everyone for the 3 days we were there complained about how cold it was. Dining has limited options. 3 restaurants but they all serve the same thing just have different atmospheres. The one thing I did enjoy was that it was a pet friendly hotel. Many dogs were in the lobby but you would never know it. Never heard a dog bark and it just made it more homey seeing families with all their family members. If the staff would just work on making each of their guest feel special it would get 5 stars. PS hotel design staff please get rid of all the fake ficus trees in the lobby and on the fireplace. If your going to have fake trees at least make them be pines!

Room Tip: Don't know. I don't think they allow you to choose a room. The cottages look like they would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calimom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, Calimom6. We are sorry to hear your anniversary weekend got off to a disappointing start. As a Four Diamond resort, we work to ensure all of our guests have an above and beyond experience. Your thoughts will be passed along to our rooms team. We appreciate your comments, and happy anniversary to you and your husband.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great place, excellent staff, very convenient to Wawona, Mariposa Grove, and Badger Pass. Southern entrance to Yosemite.
Don't have too much to say, great hotel, superior rooms, super great staff and if you want to ski this is your place. I was maybe expecting a little more of a view from an above average mountain lodge but that was not to be. The buffet breakfast was outstanding! As a matter of fact the restaurants were all very good.
Truth be told we got tired of the drive to and from the valley proper every day. Next time I'm booking the Yosemite Falls Inn located in the park or better yet stay at one of the camps. While they were huge and crowded even this time of year with the grandeur of Yosemite they somehow didn't feel cramped.

As far as Yosemite itself...big yawn. What;s the big deal? Just kidding of course. This place is awesome. 3 days in the valley was not enough, even in the winter. At least the crowds were low(er) at this time of year. When all roads are open in the summer I could see a minimum of 7 days here...easy. I'd hate to imagine how crowded it would be though.
No recommendations other than take more time than planned. As far as what to see. Just stop anywhere, and I mean anywhere in the valley and just look....thank goodness for the people that had the foresight to see that places like this needed protection from developers. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thanks for sharing your thoughts, DoWeDive. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are indeed a longer drive from the Valley compared to in-park resorts, but we strive to offer amenities and activities to keep our guest busy and happy whether they choose to visit the park daily or not. Great to see you enjoyed beautiful Yosemite so much, too. : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed at Tenaya Lodge after visiting Yosemite with a group of 6. Everyone was impressed with the hotel, the location and the employees. The atmosphere is wonderful. The employees were ALL pleasant and helpful. The food was very good in Jackalopes. The valet put the chains on our car as chains were required that day for the drive down to Oakdale. I can't say enough about how pleasant and relaxing the entire stay was. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thanks for sharing, Patricia! We are so glad that your group had a great stay with us and received excellent service. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Family of four stayed one night after staying two nights at Ahawahnee Hotel in Yosemite valley. lots of activities for kids, kids enjoyed ice skating. Mariposa Grove is 10 min drive, and Yosemite vallet an hour drive. We stayed in the cabin with a king bed for the kids and a separate room for hubby and I. Very quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,658 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,902 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,189 reviews
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
18.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range: $187 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing