We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy resort but pay attention to hidden cost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cozy resort but pay attention to hidden cost”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Nice resort, a little hard to find as there are no clear indications on the roads, but once you get there everything runs smooth. The location is well kept, the lobby really looks like a chalet with real fireplace and native/western style furniture. The room was clean and me and my partner enjoyed our stay although we prefer a king size bed to 2 separate ones. We only spent 1 night here during a 2-day visit to Yosemite Park so we cannot rate the attractions and facilities offered by the resort, but it looks like they had much to offer. Wi-Fi is free and high speed (usually hotels have awful connections or you have to pay for it).
Unfortunately the rates are high not so transparent (especially for europeans who are not used to net prices), beware because they have many hidden fees (tax, Yosemite conservancy tax, MCTBID assessment, resort fee..). Buffet breakfast was complete and overall satisfactory, with a wide range of savoury and sweet foods, fresh fruit and a surprisingly good coffe (which is to me important, as I am Italian!).
Parking is free. We also had dinner at one of their restaurants (Jackalope's), which I will review separately.

Room Tip: Pay attention as the hotel is out of the Yosemite park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
We appreciate your comments, Fabio. We’re glad to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us, including our dining experience. However, we apologize for any confusion with our resort fees. This is a relatively new implementation and we post on our website to reach as many guests as possible. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,063
    1,805
    703
    274
    149
See reviews for
2,049
1,931
53
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here (with a Travelzoo voucher - $169/weekend night; $129/weeknight) because it was one of the few pet friendly places to stay near Yosemite and we knew that we wanted to bring our dogs (even though they are only allowed on a handful of trails in the park).

Property:

The facilities were pretty nice for a national park-type resort. The rooms were decent-sized, and the bed was reasonably firm. We had a sliding door, which led out to a grassy area - perfect for taking the dogs out. The rooms were clean and well-kept. (Note - the pet friendly rooms are all on the first floor. This is fine, but if you have kids staying on the 2nd floor above you, be prepared to hear the thunderous footsteps of running kids down the hall.)

There is a nice walking trail - Jackson Road - behind the hotel, which is good for stretching your legs. The property is well-maintained, but I can't speak to the pool, gym, etc.

Food:

We had breakfast buffet vouchers (worth $19.95 each) with the vouchers we had bought. To be honest, it wasn't really much of a perk. There was a wait (anywhere between 15-30 minutes) every morning for breakfast, and once you got there, the food was awful. Same for the deli - we picked up sandwiches, which were both gross. The service was also very slow.

Not so the room service, interestingly enough. I've stayed at a decent number of nice hotels and ordered room service - even at 4.5 star hotels, I've gotten food that is almost inedible. Here, we ordered room service for dinner 3 nights (because of the dogs) and each night it was really good and decently-portioned. We got the Tenaya salad, the tomato soup and grilled Fiscalini cheese sandwich, the California burger, the nachos, the California chopped salad and the vegetarian wrap - all good.

My main complaint is the service. I can't say it was actually bad. But with the exception of the room service and restaurant employees, I kept feeling like I was a bother to the staff (everyone from the front desk staff when I called to confirm our reservation, the concierge, and the front desk staff when we checked out). They couldn't answer basic questions I asked (like, "can I confirm my reservation?" and "am I able to make a reservation for dog sitting?"), and then they made me feel like I was the one who was not making sense.

Anyway, I would really give this place 3.5 stars but rounded up due to the lack of good pet friendly hotels in the area. I would stay here again because of that, but my expectations for service will be lowered accordingly. Maybe it's because it's low season so they have their B team working?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlanta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments, atlanta14. We are glad that you were comfortable at Tenaya and enjoyed your stay with your pet! We love dogs. Thank you for sharing your feedback on the quality of our room service and food. Glad you enjoyed! However, we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with some of the other service you experienced. As a Four Diamond resort, we work to provide exceptional service, no matter the season. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolford, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

If you are planning on spending everyday in the park then stay closer to the park. Tenaya is beautiful but it is 1 hour from the park. 30 miles on a long an windy road. If you do stay here, stay in the lodge. It is beautiful and very rustic. We chose one of the cottages and we regret it. While walkable to the main lodge, they are not as quaint as advertised. First, there are 3 separate rooms in each cottage with paper thin walls. First night we were the only family in the cottage and had it to ourselves. Yesterday a family moved in to the upstairs unit. While they are not overly loud, we hear them talking, kids crying, ever footstep, every flush of the toilet and every shower. Not at all what we were expecting. Really wished we were in the main building. Lots to do for the kids: ice skating, archery, game room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank TomHutch54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
We appreciate your comments, Tom. While we are glad you enjoyed your surroundings at Tenaya and in the lodge, we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your cottage experience. And, although we are just a few minutes away from the southern gate of the park, it does take a bit of time to reach the Yosemite Valley. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I decided to surprise my wife for our 28th wedding anniversary with a trip up to Yosemite. After searching for something unique, I decided on the Tenaya Lodge. The rooms, though not cheap, are nice and the rate includes breakfast for two. There is a $15 Resort Fee added to the price of each room per night. The location is at about 5000 ft elevation surrounded by sweet smelling pine trees. We traveled in mid-March and found the weather to be very comfortable with a light sweatshirt adequate in the evening. We ate at the Sierra Restaurant which is one of two eateries at the lodge. The food was excellent as was the service. It was pricey but what can one expect given the distance supply trucks must travel to bring food to the kitchens. We were a bit surprised to find a number of children with parents. It wasn't a problem and the lodge is large enough that we didn't suffer any screaming brats nearby. Still, at this price point, we would not have thought to see many young children.

The rooms are very comfortable with nice beds and a large HD tv. The windows can be opened to allow the wonderful mountain air in and come with sliding screens to keep any bugs away...nice! The lodge offers free wifi which is a plus these days however, you may purchase a higher speed connection for $10/ day. We found the free wifi adequate for surfing the internet and Facetiming with our daughter at home.

We elected to go through the lodge for booking and paid a higher price than advertised by some of the well known internet discount pricing services but considered this worth it to avoid any last minute hassles.

All in all, we really enjoyed the Tenaya Lodge and would recommend it.

Room Tip: The hotel has two wings and one will give you morning sun and the other afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 231LV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, 231LV, and are so glad you and your wife had a great anniversary experience with us. We hope to see you again – happy anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orcutt, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

On our recent visit we found that the available food options were limited. We did not want to get in the car for every meal so opted to eat in the restaurants. Breakfast was very expensive and the buffet option was not available. The menu in both the bar area and restaurant area are the same menu with a couple of exceptions. Both limited selections.

Room Tip: The cabins are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, Marways. We are sorry to hear you felt frustrated with the available dining options. In winter months, we do adjust our restaurant offerings, but we make every effort to ensure our guests have plenty to choose from. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Queensland Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just one night , but we could have stayed much longer.
A nice superior grade room that was clean, comfortable and in very good order.
The Sierra restaurant was very expensive for dinner , but the food was also of a very high standard.
The included Breakfast was good if not great .
The overall experience was quite outstanding considering the rates on offer for a mid week stay in March.
Very highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgh05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, tgh05. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed at the Tenaya lodge with my family and friends last weekend. The price was comparable to other hotels/inns in the area but had better amenities for young children. The indoor pool was decent. Be prepared to be around a ton of screaming kids in the afternoons and evenings at the indoor pool. You can order drinks at the pool but it took 30 min to get a margarita. The locker rooms have a dry and steam sauna which was nice! There is also a little indoor arcade. The outdoor pool looks nice but was closed since it is still considered winter. I know that the price jumps up to 300-400$ a night in high season and it is NOT worth it. The three restaurants on site are convenient and average but you don't have many options outside of the lodge . We had to wait 40 min to get a table on a sat night. Overall, a good value if you are paying less than 200$ a night. Just know that the lodge is near the entrance to Yosemite. You still will drive 40 min to get down to the valley.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soragamii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,580 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,041 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.2 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing