We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
london, england
Level Contributor
228 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were so looking forward to our cottage at Tenaya Lodge where we were to spend 2 days with our friends. Both reservations made by our American friends way back last December. So how come they put us in cottages that were at opposite ends? Quite thoughtless and disappointing. Breakfast was ok but the service poor. The cottage had a spacious and comfortable bedroom with a miniscule bathroom. Strange!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabby44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dabby44, your frustration with the distance between your cottage and your friends’ is understandable. Often, our cottages book VERY far in advance, and we do our best to place groups as close together as possible. We are also sorry to hear you were disappointed with the breakfast service. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,830
    1,638
    653
    246
    127
See reviews for
1,801
1,732
49
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The staff are very helpful however there are not enough of them hence you have to wait for any meals from 15-45 mins. It becomes really annoying especially as breakfast is supposed to be a buffet!!!
Rooms are tired as I believe the management are. The management are running the hotel to suit themselves and not their guests, so their poor staff are stressed with many people complaining about the wait for entry and then waiting again for toast!!!!!
The Manager would not speak to guests even though she was asked for three times. She allowed her staff to deal with guests the best way they could. This hotel needs a refurb of both management and building

Room Tip: Make sure you are not overlooking hotel staff car park and that was supposed to be a superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank V65k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We appreciate your comments, v65k. We are sorry to hear you felt your requests were not met and your room was not to your liking. The team at Tenaya Lodge is committed to providing the best guest experience possible, and with our AAA Four Diamond rating we take feedback like this very seriously. We hope you will consider us for a return trip, and thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and were well soundproofed. We were right near the elevator and ice, and didn't hear a thing outside our door. The grounds are nicely kept, and the staff was gracious and very helpful. The restaurants are a tad overpriced, but the food is excellent, especially in the high end restaurant (whose name escapes me atm).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatBear63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with 3 kids, from arrival in the car park we were welcomed and made to feel comfortable to check in, through to the pool, bar & dinning.
The place has a great feel about it.
Gladly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennO72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Me and my family stayed here as part of our California road trip and must say it was excellent.

We stayed in one of the cottages which is about 5mins walk to the main hotel.
The cottages are great, very spacious and peaceful away from the bustle of the main hotel.

Tenaya lodge is ideal for visiting Yosemite. It'll take you around a hour to drive to the valley floor which we didn't mind, the scenery is amazing!! It also around 20mins from Oakhusrt where there are some great alternatives to eat if you don't want to eat in the hotel.

One of the evening we did the Summerdale BBQ and had a great night, my son especially loved it.

We will definitely be returning!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaisersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a great experience here although we only stayed one night. Room was beautiful and spacious . Dinner in the restaurant was actually great food . All the amenities of a resort . Would highly recommend .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCfromKCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed five nights at Tenaya lodge in September for a wedding. The wedding ceremony was held offsite and the reception and dancing were back at the resort. It took place on the Terrace (a big beautiful outdoor space) and it was a lovely dinner with a big dance floor. We moved to the ballroom at 10PM and got to party and dance and drink all night, it was fabulous.

The staff, for the most part, were very helpful and enthusiastic, but for what we paid it wasn't really worth it. The food is not very good and VERY overpriced, you're better off stopping at Vons on the way in and getting snacks, water and alcohol to sustain you. We ordered room service several times and had to call down for items that were missing (spoons for coffee, extra set ups, salt + pepper, etc.) Drink the free coffee in the room instead of ordering from the deli downstairs, it's the same stuff as in the restaurants.

Showers would go from hot to cold unexpectedly. The rooms aren't very big and feel pretty dated.

The pool was nice and while I didn't get any spa treatments, you can use the steam room and the sauna whenever you like and relax in the lounge.

If you want to splurge and spend money on a hotel in Yosemite, it's best to go somewhere inside the park. Otherwise there were some cute inns and cabins along the way. If you do stay at Tenaya there are lots of discounts available at places in and around the park (20% off at Bass lake, 15% off gift shops at hotels inside the park, etc.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAV1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your review, CAV1234. While we’re glad to hear you had a lovely experience at the wedding and enjoyed our staff, it’s disappointing to learn that you felt as though your stay did not provide sufficient value. We work hard to provide the value and service commensurate with our AAA Four Diamond designation. Thank you for the feedback and for sharing the tips about discounts to area attractions available through Tenaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,562 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing