We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort but shabby (overpriced) room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Carmel, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice resort but shabby (overpriced) room”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Tenaya, but we did feel for the money that they could have looked after the rooms a little better. We stayed in one of the cottages, which was in a pretty, wooded, private section of the resort. We were in Tamarack 540. The room was quite dark which was not really a big deal as it had a cosy cabin feel. However the carpet felt (and smelled damp and sticky) there were also dark stains on it which was rather horrible. For what we paid a night I would expect better.
I wish I had complained at the time. Not sure why I didn't. More fool me!

The wood around the back patio door was rotten and black and generally things were a tad shabby. Dirty bathroom doors always gross me out too, I guess housekeeping doesn't think to wipe the back of the door down as they never see it! Most hotels forget this.
There was a strange damp smell around the fridge also. It's a shame as they're obviously a bit negligent on the upkeep. Also dirty windows, screens etc.

But all of this aside, we still enjoyed the pool area and the restaurants were nice. Very good service. I did feel a bit ripped off poolside when I ordered lunch at the pool bar and was changed a $4 'delivery charge' and an automatic 16% gratuity AND was then expected to add an extra gratuity when signing. I mean come on!? So check your receipts carefully before signing.

The Tenaya Lodge does have some nice features and our daughter really enjoyed the outdoor pool and the indoor pool by the cottages and also the game room. The cottages are in a really nice setting, so provided you don't expect a majorly high level of quality you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear TeeEmm, Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us. We apologize that you felt as though the room was not maintained to your standards. We are glad that you enjoyed relaxing by the pool and your daughter enjoyed playing in it, and hope that you come back to Tenaya in the future to experience our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,079
    1,835
    721
    281
    149
See reviews for
2,095
1,949
54
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Britain, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Tenaya Lodge for four nights. This lodge is located 2 miles from the south entrance of Yosemite National Park. Direction wise, if you want to spend lots of time in the park, the south entrance is about 34 miles from most of the attractions in the park. Though that sounds like a hassle, and is at times when an RV is at the front of the line, but the views are well worth it. The hotel was the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. It is family friendly, has one indoor pool, one outdoor pool, a splash pad, and multiple spa tubs (2 are adults only). The food at the restaurants was very good. There is a large buffet in the morning which was included in our room price. I noticed people requesting picnic lunches for their day in the park. This hotel is also pet friendly. The staff were very friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable about the area. I needed extra luggage racks and within five minutes I had them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmorrkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beit Yitzhak, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Two nights at tenaya's cottage is not enough. Very well integrated with the forest, great atmosphere, close to south gate. Rooms are not big, time to get a facelift but overall "doing the job". High standard breakfast, and getting it as complimentary for first day was a nice surprise . Overall - good way to visit Yosemite.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverly hills
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed there one night . Checked into hotel and were given a "family suite". That means two double beds and a sleep sofa. She had a ground level room and when I asked if we could have a higher room, we were told "only those staying two nights can be on an upper floor". But if we were leaving the next day what was the difference, it would be available for a two night stay afterwards, even if it was the only family suite available, which I found out later it wasn't. But the front staff told us we would love it, because it has a huge green area to play by the patio. She neglected to tell us it was next to the parking lot, had a road in front of it, so that at night the headlights would come straight into our room, and additionally the "huge" green area was common grounds so everyone kept passing in front of our patio doors, so finally we kept the shades closed.
The room had a funny smell to it, kinda moldy, and I realized that was because dark mold was on the bathroom ceiling! Similar to the mold and yuck under the toilet bowl rim! The bathroom ceiling had peeling paint, and a piece of paper stuck under the light fixture. Was it to keep it from falling out of the ceiling?
The blow dryer was a compact travel size ( in a family suite) as well as the coffee maker for one person also. At least get full sized amenities in the room.
This from a room that cost approximately $750!!!!!!!!
Dinner wasn't so good, with both the kids spaghetti in tomatoe sauce, looking like a can of tomatoe paste was the sauce and the chicken vegetable soup an interesting Morton's salt with celery. Basically inedible. My son loved his hamburger and hubby loved his meal too.
Breakfast however was a standout. Incredible buffet and great service.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 192.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funinthesun96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Funinthesun96, we appreciate your thorough comments on your stay here with us at Tenaya Lodge. We apologize for the miscommunication regarding the room and green area. Many families enjoy staying in the garden-level rooms for ease of returning to the room at the end of a long day, and access to the nice common green area to allow children to play. We apologize again that you were not completely satisfied, and we hope you have the chance to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the Tenaya Lodge for a family vacation to Yosemite. The "Lodge" is really a large convention center. Although our room was spacious and nicely decorated there were some stains on the bathroom rug, a tear in our comforter cover and worst of all the plumbing for the bathroom sink was broken off. So, when I brushed my teeth that evening the sink drained all over the floor and on my feet! After two attempts to track down the manager, she was very apologetic, discounted our first night's rate and promptly had the plumbing repaired. Not what you want to deal with in a $455 per night room! The pool was extremely overcrowded and dirty. The pool water was cloudy and used wet towels/empty cups were left lying around the pool for hours. In hindsight, I would have planned our trip earlier and stayed at a hotel in Yosemite. Unfortunately, they were all booked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yos134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Yos134, thanks for writing a follow up to the unfortunate situation that you experienced on your first night with us. We apologize again and thank you for notifying us so that we were able to rectify the situation immediately. Thank you for your patience during our busiest season of the year. As a four season resort, we hope you have the opportunity to come back to enjoy all that Tenaya has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived fairly late at night and left early the next morning for Yosemite. It was clear that this was a pleasant resort though. It is close enough to allow a practical day drive to the next destination in or around Yosemite. The room was spacious enough and there was adequate parking. Staff were very willing, even though some were students filling in during the busy holiday season. The menu was limited and extremely unhealthy - mostly deep fried huge helpings of meat. My wife tried a meat dish and found it very average. I tried a vegetarian dish and thought it was horrible. Try the more upmarket restaurant!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms a the back of the resort are not only very quiet, ut you canpark your car close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments, Leon. We hope to see you next time on a longer visit so that you may experience all of the wonderful aspects of Tenaya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Pros: on site laundry, good food, bar at poolside, pools for kids, activities for kids, 2 miles from south entrance to park, 4 miles total to Mariposa Grove (giant sequoias). Friendly staff. Neat outdoor fire at restaurants. Summerdale Barbecue experience was a highlight, live entertainment, good for kids and adults alike.
Cons: Flies and birds on patio seating, pools kind of small, food expensive, but to be expected at a vacation resort. Kids climbing wall was randomly in the parking lot. Some wear and tear overall on the place, it wasn't as sparkly as I hoped it would be.
Overall this was a good place for being 2 miles from the entrance, good stuff for the kids, and good food. I just had in mind it would be a little more dazzling since the website is pretty slick.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipper18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Skipper18, Thanks for writing about your family’s trip to the Lodge. We are always happy to hear that families enjoy the multitude of activities on the premises, but apologize that certain parts of your stay fell short of your expectations. We strive for satisfaction, and look forward to seeing you again at Tenaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,605 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,822 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
10.2 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
252 reviews
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing