We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, despite pool overrun by unruly children.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing, despite pool overrun by unruly children.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a great stay here in July while visiting Yosemite. We enjoyed our king room, the health spa, and the indoor and outdoor pools, and the service was excellent and very friendly. However, all three days of our stay, the outdoor pool was overrun with unruly children yelling and hitting each other with large pool "noodle" toys. I was shocked that parents would allow such behavior at a resort that costs upwards of $700 a night, and recommend that the staff remove the noodle toys. There was not room for paying adults to swim in the pool without being hit in the head by the toys. I enjoyed our three days, but would not recommend the resort to couples or families with well- behaved children. Frankly, I was appalled.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDistrictTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,984
    1,730
    679
    258
    138
See reviews for
1,959
1,837
51
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,083)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent 4 nights and 3 full days visiting Yosemite National Park from Atlanta. I did a lot of research and found out all lodging in the area is pricey (we were not interested in camping) so I have no issue with that. In fact we loved the hotel. The rooms were nicely decorated and up to dat (we had a king deluxe). The lobby was comfortable and service was great. Our problem was we wanted to spend our days in the park and besides Mariposa Grove, everything was at least an hour away. I knew this also from doing research, however, didn't count on those roads being so windy and hilly. My husband did all the driving each day and by the third day he'd had enough. Especially when one night we drove home after dark since we took the moonlight tour of the valley.
I do recommend this hotel a lot if you aren't spending all your time in Yosemite Valley or Tuolemne Meadows, or you really don't mind all those winding roads each day. But if you are wanting the best location for the majority of the tourist sites in Yosemite Park, I would try to stay in the Valley.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemsonchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for commenting on the positive aspects of your stay. However, we’re sorry you experienced some trouble with the roads. You are correct in that the drive to the Valley floor is about 50 minutes, but we love that the scenic trip offers numerous photo opportunities along the way including the famed Tunnel View where in one vista you can see all of Yosemite’s icons: El Capitan, Bridalveil Fall and Half Dome. Also we find that many of our guests do enjoy the fact that the property is outside of the park, which can be quite crowded in peak seasons. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We, like others, paid $365 for a room last week--I'm embarrassed about that. The lodge is OK, but far from good or great. I have (and YOU have) stayed at places nicer than this for half the cost. Yes, on the face of it, they have the "location" card. But the Tenaya is still one solid hour from the Valley floor. Not that great a location. Short version, the good and the bad: beds are great; room decor is outdated; room carpet was stained; hallway carpet in really old; elevator is slow; hallway doors around our room were stuck open on tile and carpet and rugs; Jackalopes restaurant is ridiculously overpriced ($14 burger and $26 steak were mediocre, at best); breakfast buffet was tremendous. This is a $135 room priced at $365 because of the location. And...it's clear they know they are holding that card--there aren't a lot of options in the area. With a little effort this place could be special, but the effort flat out isn't there. They are satisfied by calling themselves a resort. They aren't. You could stay in the finest places in Chicago for this price, and feel good about it. You won't feel good about this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edpodalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. We always appreciate getting guest feedback of any nature. We’re sorry you felt the experience was less than you expected, particularly the value which is a point of pride for us. We have earned the prestigious Four Diamond rating based on the rigorous standards of AAA. As with any popular resort situated near a treasured national park, property use is significant and reinvestment in our rooms is an ongoing process. In addition to a recent expansion that’s almost complete, we will be doing some remodeling next year. Thank you again for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Had 3 x night here with family of 6 adults.
4 of us stayed in a cottage, first night we were in a downstairs cottage room 2 x queen beds but far too small for 4 and very noisy as walls so thin can hear neighbours walking upstairs and showers etc. we asked to be moved to an upstairs cottage which is much bigger with separate bedrooms. The staff were happy to move us.
Much happier there and wished we had a couple more nights as a lot to see and do in Yosemite park.
The activities are endless and staff very helpful and organising them for you.
The restaurants very nice only problem have similar selections on each menus.
The pool area was well maintained, very clean and always able to get a sun bed.
Would love to go back again one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

NOTE: Altitude is a mile above sea level at this hotel which caused bad headache and not feeling well for some of us which lasted a day and a half. The entire park is winding roads so if you get motion sick easily plus with the drastic altitude changes, just be aware of that.

I did not see the main lodge rooms(other reviewers complain) but the cottage rooms were nicely updated but very small for a family of 4 and an extremely small bathroom. If we stayed again, I would choose the cottages again over the main lodge even with the drawbacks. They will give you rides on the golf carts complimentary back and forth, its a bit of hike to main lodge if you are in a rush or want coffee. The lobby has a grand Yosemite upscale lodge feel to it. The pool is a relaxing environment with local artisans playing live music adding to the peaceful setting. The pizza place is great!! It is a large lodge room with a jukebox and old photos on the walls, so perfect for a casual family dinner. Self service laundry and an indoor hot tub are in a cottage building which is nice.

Jackaloupes food was average at best. We ate there twice. Sandwiches, pizza, artichoke dip are all just ok. They have some of the exact same sandwiches in the deli at the same price. Sierra for breakfast was just below average. Internet is horrible! You are a captive audience with limited 3 star or above hotels. Wawona still might be a better choice. Awhanee is way too overpriced, we visited for dinner (see review).

If you do not have a pet, it is a downside, the hotel shows signs of pets especially in the carpets.

Room Tip: I would recommend a cottage room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliciastansbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for commenting on both the positives and negatives of your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our pool, Timberloft Pizzeria and The Cottages which offer guests a more intimate experience than our main lodge accommodations. You touched on two things we’d like to clarify. You are correct in that we are a pet-friendly resort. That coupled with the fact that we are also a popular resort situated near a treasured national park, means property use can be significant and reinvestment in it is an ongoing process. We recently completed renovations throughout, and have plans for additional remodeling in 2014. Regarding the Wi-Fi, most of our guests find that our complimentary Wi-Fi service is sufficient enough to check and send emails and enjoy social media. A high-speed upgrade is available for a nominal fee for guests requiring higher bandwidth. In our remote mountain location at an elevation of 5,200 feet, Wi-Fi can unfortunately at times be temperamental! Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierz, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The point of my title to this review is that if you are going to spend this level of money on a stay, plan on staying. We were touring Yosemite Park and by the time we got there at the end of the day, we were exhausted and only wanted to "sleep", not utilize all of the aspects of this property. We were greeted with kindness the moment we pulled up. The room was wonderful. We did get to the main restaurant right before closing to grab a bite, but were mistaken for someone who was wrapping up a meal, when in fact we hadn't even ordered yet. That was a strange situation. But all in all, my point would be, that if you are just looking for a place to get some rest, find something less pricy. But if you are looking for some pampering and relaxation, this place may fit the bill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruber123Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Gruber123Go,
Thanks for stopping by to share your kind words on Tenaya. We too enjoy the resort as a “retreat” from the crush of summer crowds in the Yosemite Valley Floor. We hope to see you again at Tenaya in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

the tenaya lodge is beautiful. the lodge itself has a nice pool area and good restaraunts. we stayed in the cottages across the street and not very impressed. were outdated. did have nice gas fireplace. no real room to hang out inside. second bed was in what could have been a sitting room. small table and fridg and microwave in room. would like to stay in actual lodge hotel rooms next time. great service and friendly people. drove to yosemite. took about an hour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for commenting on both the positives and negatives of your recent stay with us. You are right in that Tenaya Lodge gives guests a clear choice between main lodge rooms and The Cottages. The latter are individual buildings nestled within the surrounding Sierra National Forest that offer guests a more intimate experience. It sounds like our main lodge would be our recommendation for what you’re looking for in the future, and we hope to have another opportunity to host you in those accommodations. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
12.8 mi away
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacati...
#4 of 24 in Yosemite National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yosemite Big Creek Inn
Yosemite Big Creek Inn
#1 of 4 in Fish Camp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing