We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun for families”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a cozy lodge, very family and dog friendly place. The restaurants were ok, don't go for the restaurants but the breakfast buffet was convenient. Absolutely make reservations for every meal you plan on eating at the lodge. Sledding close by and snow shoeing on site for a fee is fun. Large indoor pool was fun for kids. We had a group of 3 families. Third floor is not supposed to allow dogs but there were dogs all around our rooms.

Room Tip: If you have a dog ask for the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,024
    1,754
    689
    262
    140
See reviews for
1,993
1,868
53
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Tenaya is located in a fantastic place, just outside the entrance to YNP. This was our second stay and again it provided sufficient lodging for our family. The kids love the indoor pool, but beware of getting a room close to it, the chlorine smell can be overwhelming. Parking is easy, use valet, no extra cost. The restaurants are fine, but I do feel that they could provide more variety in their offerings. The family buffet was decent, the kids liked the potato bar and dessert.
Next to the restaurants is a small grab n go market of sorts. Coffee was good, lots of fruit and yogurt to choose from along with some breakfast fixings. Staff was friendly during stay, but I did not feel that Tenaya lives up to a 4-star rating overall.

Room Tip: Rooms in the east wing seem to be quieter, but are still close to pool and main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDnCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Tenaya Lodge is a lovely place just outside the south entrance to Yosemite. There is a grand entry and sense of a park lodge. The room was a nice, standard hotel room- well appointed and clean. The common areas are very warm and have a rustic appeal. It is a wonderful place -heaven for kids - an indoor pool, game room, ice skating, snow shoes for everyone. Staff was very helpful. We had booked with AAA so received a complimentary buffet breakfast which was very good. We would definitely look forward to staying here again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We only stayed one night at Tenaya but looking back we wish we had stayed another night. We visited as part of our honeymoon (2 week road trip up west coast, starting in LA and ending in Vegas). We arrived around 2:30pm and were able to check in and get out by the pool and have a beer and there were a few loungers available and they weren't too crammed in. The jacuzzi was a nice touch. The lobby area was impressive and the restaurant was good with plenty of choice. We ate outside and it did take a bit of time to be served, but the waiter was really friendly and it was obvious this was no fault of his own, they should've just had more staff on. We were exhausted and had a very early start the next day as we had to drive through the whole of Yosemite for our next stop in Death Valley. Breakfast was excellent and service here was very good, the buffet-style offered lots of choice. The room was spacious and clean. Tenaya was perfect for what we needed and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stellerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCoast
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The place is amazing. This is the best location one can have in the Yosemite. It is just outside the south-west entrance to the park near Mariposa Grove. The entrance is grandeur, the restaurants galore, skating ring and then there are two wings...
The wing with the inside swimming pool (I believe it is the right wing if looking from the entrance) is outdated, under serviced and simply not being kept up to the standards of the four star hotel. We went there twice. First, for swimming pool - it was dark, dirty, pool was closed for bio-reasons and hot tub full of people half-dressed. Some of the people went to the changing room and had to go across the game room (quite bad condition) walking on the dirty carpet and by half-open door (we stayed during winter month). Second time, for laundry after a day in the snow - there were just 2 washing machines (1 did not work), 2 dryers (one required loading two times), horrible smell and many many people waiting - no hotel personnel around to be seen.
The other wing (with the spa) is amazing. It was clean, quiet, great service. The spa is incredible with the sauna, steam room, relaxing room with lots of snacks, massage rooms. Great place to unwind after a day of skiing or snow shooing. Good experience and nice feeling.
In summary:
rooms are spacious, clean bathrooms and bedding
restaurants are differently price but the same cooking. Crowded over holidays. Slow service.
skating ring - well maintained
Overall service was quite good (considering we stayed in the left wing). We would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask of rooms on the side of the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LovePlanAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just got back from a 2 night stay from Feb 8 -10 th and loved our time there. We lucked out because it had recently snowed and the scenery at the lodge and Yosemite was beautiful. We did the sleigh ride this morning and recommend it. There was a kiddie sledding area on premises and a short walk away had another great sledding area.

This lodge is a family-friendly haven. You won't find a better place for kids anywhere in the Yosemite area. There are 2 pools (one outdoor seasonal and one indoor, which was very warmly heated), an arcade, a kids club, an ice skating rink, and a variety of family-friendly activities scheduled. For adults, photography classes/tours are an option and there is an elegant spa where my husband received a great foot massage.

We stayed in the Spa Suite and defintely recommend this upgrade as the rooms are in a quieter location, have a balcony, are bigger and there is a jacuzzi tub for after long days of hiking, etc. Our room was clean and seemed to have new carpet. After reading some prior reviews I was worried that there would not be enough hot water to shower or fill a bath, however we never had a problem. Perhaps because it was low season?

I don't know how I would rate this facility if it was during a busier time. We never had a problem with getting seated or served quickly at the restaurants. It wasn't very loud, although it is true the walls don't seem too thick and some parents let their kids run amok with no restraints. I did sleep with ear plugs because the people next to us had a noisy kid. I can imagine it being far more noisier during Holidays or the Summer.

This didn't bother me, but the Tenaya seems to be a pet-friendly hotel, so please let reception know if you have any allergies before you book a certain room.

Overall, we would definitely return! For the Winter months, it's a great location to Badger Pass.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Suite if possible! Top floor may minimize noise. ABSOLUTELY refuse a room by the rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank isepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thrilled you were able to experience the wonderland of Tenaya Lodge in winter. The sleigh ride is definitely one of our favorite winter activities! Thank you in particular for noting your positive experience in one of our nine spa suites as well as with the many activities we offer for kids and adults. We certainly understand parents needing a little time away from the kiddos now and then! We very much appreciate your thoughtful comments and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Tenaya Lodge is the perfect location for a trip to Yosemite National Park. It was a short drive to the park entrance. The staff was very friendly and the concierge provided great recommendations and maps. It was nice having on site restaurants. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,709 reviews
12.8 mi away
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacati...
#4 of 24 in Yosemite National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yosemite Big Creek Inn
Yosemite Big Creek Inn
#1 of 4 in Fish Camp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing