We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cheshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights here whilst visiting nearby Yosemite and mariposa grove.
From start to finish I cannot fault this hotel and I am generally quite difficult to please!
The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was decent size, clean and comfortable. We went out of season but still I was amazed at how quiet the hotel was at night - a great nights sleep!
The pool and hot tubs were always empty and very relaxing after long walks during the day. Only downside is that the steam rooms and saunas are unisex so had to use those separately from my husband.
Breakfast buffet was $14 each which initially I thought was a bit steep but there was so much food and it was delicious. Bar staff were friendly and chatty. Evening meals were fine.
One tip, the hotel rent out snow chains for $15 so don't get them anyway else. Also, there are washing and drying facilities for $2 each, v useful.
Yosemite village is an hour away and mariposa grove about 10 minutes. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilmisspurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you, wow, five stars across the board from a senior TripAdvisor contributor is something to be proud of, and we are! We hope we have the opportunity to host you again the next time you're coming to Yosemite. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,628
    1,482
    599
    231
    119
See reviews for
1,625
1,545
45
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (939)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights in one of the cottages. Lovely location, just a short drive to the park entrance and the Mariposa Grove. Friendly staff. Pretty quiet in the evening, not much to do other than go to the sports bar or watch TV. On that issue, they need more variety. The lodge in need of an interior makeover to a degree, but still very cosy and hospitable.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank russmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We just loved this place. A good drive from Yosemite National Park but the Lodge is just beautiful, just like a lodge should be. Staff were fabulous, and so helpful. If you have time to go horse back riding, do it. The hotel booked it for us and its just about 2 miles away, you can walk there is a lovely walk through the forest. We can't wait to return in the winter with the log fires roaring and stunning snowy views.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatty14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you -- we're glad you took advantage of our horseback riding tour! Please do come back this winter and enjoy the Tenaya Lodge sleigh ride -- and, yes, roaring fires and snowy scenery!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We couldn't believe how nice, cheerful and super-competent the staff is -- except at the Spa, where I had the worst facial of my life, and my friend had a mediocre massage. Stick to the Lodge and ignore the Ascent Spa, for good value, good food. Fabulous concierge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the compliments on our hotel staff, overall value and food. And, we're so sorry your treatments at Ascent Spa did not match your expectations. Please let us know the next time you're staying with us and we'll make it up to you. Your treatments were performed by two of our most experienced and acclaimed therapists, and we are following up with them both to learn more about your sessions and any related issues that we can correct so they are not repeated. Total client satisfaction is always our goal at Ascent Spa. Again, thanks for the resort kudos and sorry again about your spa experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Lodge was "Stupendous" finest service I have ever had. I have been traveling since 1946, and Tenaya was undoubtedly the finest service ever. Room was spotless, wait staff were extremely helpful, meals were served extremely hot and flavor of the food was unbeatibul. Went to the Awanhe Lodge for lunch, great food but room was very cold temp wise. Aloha Ellis

Room Tip: Located 1 mile from the entrance to Yosemite, great location , no traffic problems as one will find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Well, we are flat-out honored that Tenaya Lodge delivered the greatest service you've received in 70 years of traveling. What can we say but it was an honor to host you, and we hope we have another opportunity the next time you're heading to Yosemite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our stay at the beautiful Tenaya Lodge was great. From the moment we drove up we knew we were in for a nice stay at a classy place. All the staff made us feel welcome and comfortable. Our room was quiet and the perfect place to rest after a long day exploring Yosemite's many beautiful sites. My wife loved the Eggs Benedict and my steak was cooked perfectly and served by a very knowledgeable and attentive server. What can I say, great service, location, room and food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shipbuildered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A great hotel for families. This place is a family fun paradise. There was Santa, Gingerbread house competitions, etc. It seems we went during a family Thanksgiving weekend.... it was lively with happy, bonding families, and I assume that's not that rare for this place. We don't have kids, so I just seemed like that creepy guy without a kid. ha

But a great location with decent enough rooms, and friendly service made this a solid choice. More affordable than the Ahwahnee - of course the location doesn't match. It is well situated as a base camp for site seeing the area, but it is certainly not in the Yosemite valley, so no real spectacular views here... but they do have nice hillsides with trees as far as the eye can see (of course, be good enough to ignore the expansive parking lot). There is enough to do around that area that you could get stuck just spending time on the outskirts of Yosemite, and not getting to go out at all. Don't let your kids play video games all weekend.

The indoor pool is what you would expect from an indoor pool at a hotel... chokingly humid chemical air. They have two hottubs, a video game area, etc. Like I said, family paradise. Definitely outside our comfort zone, but it is just such a grand hotel. The restaurants are deceptive - the lodge dining room is more of a family restaurant, while the bar might almost always be more appropriate for almost any situation. We didn't enjoy the lodge restaurant too much. HOWEVER... Embers, their fine dining option, was PHENOMENAL. Old school service (table side Ceaser), great service firing on all cylinders.... for a few dollars more you can have an infinitely better experience. Overall the whole hotel had the singular issue that I rarely face... it was great, but for the price it could have been a wee bit better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlineConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,340 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
15.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing