We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, awful spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We couldn't believe how nice, cheerful and super-competent the staff is -- except at the Spa, where I had the worst facial of my life, and my friend had a mediocre massage. Stick to the Lodge and ignore the Ascent Spa, for good value, good food. Fabulous concierge.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for the compliments on our hotel staff, overall value and food. And, we're so sorry your treatments at Ascent Spa did not match your expectations. Please let us know the next time you're staying with us and we'll make it up to you. Your treatments were performed by two of our most experienced and acclaimed therapists, and we are following up with them both to learn more about your sessions and any related issues that we can correct so they are not repeated. Total client satisfaction is always our goal at Ascent Spa. Again, thanks for the resort kudos and sorry again about your spa experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,572 - 3,578 of 5,139 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Lodge was "Stupendous" finest service I have ever had. I have been traveling since 1946, and Tenaya was undoubtedly the finest service ever. Room was spotless, wait staff were extremely helpful, meals were served extremely hot and flavor of the food was unbeatibul. Went to the Awanhe Lodge for lunch, great food but room was very cold temp wise. Aloha Ellis

Room Tip: Located 1 mile from the entrance to Yosemite, great location , no traffic problems as one will find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birdymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Well, we are flat-out honored that Tenaya Lodge delivered the greatest service you've received in 70 years of traveling. What can we say but it was an honor to host you, and we hope we have another opportunity the next time you're heading to Yosemite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our stay at the beautiful Tenaya Lodge was great. From the moment we drove up we knew we were in for a nice stay at a classy place. All the staff made us feel welcome and comfortable. Our room was quiet and the perfect place to rest after a long day exploring Yosemite's many beautiful sites. My wife loved the Eggs Benedict and my steak was cooked perfectly and served by a very knowledgeable and attentive server. What can I say, great service, location, room and food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shipbuildered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

A great hotel for families. This place is a family fun paradise. There was Santa, Gingerbread house competitions, etc. It seems we went during a family Thanksgiving weekend.... it was lively with happy, bonding families, and I assume that's not that rare for this place. We don't have kids, so I just seemed like that creepy guy without a kid. ha

But a great location with decent enough rooms, and friendly service made this a solid choice. More affordable than the Ahwahnee - of course the location doesn't match. It is well situated as a base camp for site seeing the area, but it is certainly not in the Yosemite valley, so no real spectacular views here... but they do have nice hillsides with trees as far as the eye can see (of course, be good enough to ignore the expansive parking lot). There is enough to do around that area that you could get stuck just spending time on the outskirts of Yosemite, and not getting to go out at all. Don't let your kids play video games all weekend.

The indoor pool is what you would expect from an indoor pool at a hotel... chokingly humid chemical air. They have two hottubs, a video game area, etc. Like I said, family paradise. Definitely outside our comfort zone, but it is just such a grand hotel. The restaurants are deceptive - the lodge dining room is more of a family restaurant, while the bar might almost always be more appropriate for almost any situation. We didn't enjoy the lodge restaurant too much. HOWEVER... Embers, their fine dining option, was PHENOMENAL. Old school service (table side Ceaser), great service firing on all cylinders.... for a few dollars more you can have an infinitely better experience. Overall the whole hotel had the singular issue that I rarely face... it was great, but for the price it could have been a wee bit better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlineConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Traveled here with friends for two nights. Great rooms, great staff, great value, restaurant was decent. Excellent location just outside the park, the walking trails onsite were nice. We will return here.....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickThePick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The lodge is just down the road from Yosemite entrance. Excellent location to go to the park. The lodge lobby has a beautiful fireplace. The staff was courteous. My room was adequate. The outside fireplace was a plus. The valet staff were great, they even had our car heater running.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendyluvstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Tenaya Lodge for an overnight visit and wished we could have stayed longer. We arrived at the lodge early to check out the location, and then took a short drive over to Mariposa Grove to see the giant Sequoias. What a fabulous hike--you won't want to miss it. Most of the hike is easy and worth making it up to the top if you are enjoying the day. Maybe bring a bottle of water with you. We returned to the lodge in the afternoon to check in. Everything from the rustic lobby to the friendly staff and cozy room was absolutely wonderful. We enjoyed an evening meal at Jackalopes and then took a glass of wine out to the large fireplace area in the lobby to play cards. The next morning, we had a delicious breakfast in the dining room (can't think of the name). There are many other pluses to this lodge so give yourself a treat and spend the night. If you are going to Yosemite, this is a great place to start! :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor, west side I believe. It was a nice and quiet location and the beds we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerthatpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,658 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,902 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,189 reviews
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
18.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range: $187 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing