We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great service, awful spa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great service, awful spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We couldn't believe how nice, cheerful and super-competent the staff is -- except at the Spa, where I had the worst facial of my life, and my friend had a mediocre massage. Stick to the Lodge and ignore the Ascent Spa, for good value, good food. Fabulous concierge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the compliments on our hotel staff, overall value and food. And, we're so sorry your treatments at Ascent Spa did not match your expectations. Please let us know the next time you're staying with us and we'll make it up to you. Your treatments were performed by two of our most experienced and acclaimed therapists, and we are following up with them both to learn more about your sessions and any related issues that we can correct so they are not repeated. Total client satisfaction is always our goal at Ascent Spa. Again, thanks for the resort kudos and sorry again about your spa experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,832
    1,644
    653
    246
    127
See reviews for
1,806
1,734
49
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Lodge was "Stupendous" finest service I have ever had. I have been traveling since 1946, and Tenaya was undoubtedly the finest service ever. Room was spotless, wait staff were extremely helpful, meals were served extremely hot and flavor of the food was unbeatibul. Went to the Awanhe Lodge for lunch, great food but room was very cold temp wise. Aloha Ellis

Room Tip: Located 1 mile from the entrance to Yosemite, great location , no traffic problems as one will find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Well, we are flat-out honored that Tenaya Lodge delivered the greatest service you've received in 70 years of traveling. What can we say but it was an honor to host you, and we hope we have another opportunity the next time you're heading to Yosemite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our stay at the beautiful Tenaya Lodge was great. From the moment we drove up we knew we were in for a nice stay at a classy place. All the staff made us feel welcome and comfortable. Our room was quiet and the perfect place to rest after a long day exploring Yosemite's many beautiful sites. My wife loved the Eggs Benedict and my steak was cooked perfectly and served by a very knowledgeable and attentive server. What can I say, great service, location, room and food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shipbuildered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
268 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

A great hotel for families. This place is a family fun paradise. There was Santa, Gingerbread house competitions, etc. It seems we went during a family Thanksgiving weekend.... it was lively with happy, bonding families, and I assume that's not that rare for this place. We don't have kids, so I just seemed like that creepy guy without a kid. ha

But a great location with decent enough rooms, and friendly service made this a solid choice. More affordable than the Ahwahnee - of course the location doesn't match. It is well situated as a base camp for site seeing the area, but it is certainly not in the Yosemite valley, so no real spectacular views here... but they do have nice hillsides with trees as far as the eye can see (of course, be good enough to ignore the expansive parking lot). There is enough to do around that area that you could get stuck just spending time on the outskirts of Yosemite, and not getting to go out at all. Don't let your kids play video games all weekend.

The indoor pool is what you would expect from an indoor pool at a hotel... chokingly humid chemical air. They have two hottubs, a video game area, etc. Like I said, family paradise. Definitely outside our comfort zone, but it is just such a grand hotel. The restaurants are deceptive - the lodge dining room is more of a family restaurant, while the bar might almost always be more appropriate for almost any situation. We didn't enjoy the lodge restaurant too much. HOWEVER... Embers, their fine dining option, was PHENOMENAL. Old school service (table side Ceaser), great service firing on all cylinders.... for a few dollars more you can have an infinitely better experience. Overall the whole hotel had the singular issue that I rarely face... it was great, but for the price it could have been a wee bit better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlineConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Traveled here with friends for two nights. Great rooms, great staff, great value, restaurant was decent. Excellent location just outside the park, the walking trails onsite were nice. We will return here.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickThePick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The lodge is just down the road from Yosemite entrance. Excellent location to go to the park. The lodge lobby has a beautiful fireplace. The staff was courteous. My room was adequate. The outside fireplace was a plus. The valet staff were great, they even had our car heater running.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyluvstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Tenaya Lodge for an overnight visit and wished we could have stayed longer. We arrived at the lodge early to check out the location, and then took a short drive over to Mariposa Grove to see the giant Sequoias. What a fabulous hike--you won't want to miss it. Most of the hike is easy and worth making it up to the top if you are enjoying the day. Maybe bring a bottle of water with you. We returned to the lodge in the afternoon to check in. Everything from the rustic lobby to the friendly staff and cozy room was absolutely wonderful. We enjoyed an evening meal at Jackalopes and then took a glass of wine out to the large fireplace area in the lobby to play cards. The next morning, we had a delicious breakfast in the dining room (can't think of the name). There are many other pluses to this lodge so give yourself a treat and spend the night. If you are going to Yosemite, this is a great place to start! :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor, west side I believe. It was a nice and quiet location and the beds we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerthatpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,562 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing