We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel - ok location, not so good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great hotel - ok location, not so good food”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

we were at this hotel for 2 night.
the hotel staff and room were great, we really enjoyed them.
the surrounding of the hotel and the hotel itself are very beautiful.
the location is ok for staying near yosemity about an hour or so from the village.
the only thing that was not so good was the food in the restaurant of the hotel.
they were expensive and not so tasty.
would i recommend it, i guess i can say i will but not if you want to eat as well.
(the value for money is ok)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuvaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,049
    1,783
    693
    266
    143
See reviews for
2,018
1,906
53
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Not sure where some of the "haters" reviewing this beautiful haven stayed, but we've just come from a wonderful weekend at Cottages of Tenaya. We stayed in 512, and loved it: well lit, openable windows, effective shades to allow or disallow forest light at your command. Full deck overlooking real trees... very restorative. Private, but you're still near the other units and your car. Great queen beds (2) with plenty of extra blanket action. Fireplace is adjustable and warms the room within moments. Cozy, comfortable and a great mini-moon getaway. Housekeeping was flawless (and I'm super picky). Generous amenities: enough towels, glasses, paper products, and toiletries to serve 3 hotel rooms in Chicago. We found the 10 minute walk to the Lodge beautiful and invigorating, and all service staff were polite and welcoming. Buffet breakfast was also generous, included in our aarp rate and delightful. We chose not to spend a lot of hotel time, alternating between Yosemite drives/hikes (closest 10 minutes at Mariposa Redwoods) and coffee/meal runs to Oakhurst (pretty 12 mile drive). A special "don't miss" we got from the concierge: on arrival afternoon, we rested until 4:30 pm (90 mins before sunset) then caught spectacular sunset and moon rise at Glacier Point... total Ansel Adams moment, in brilliant color. It was a great start to 2 days of amazing getaway from Los Angeles (and only 5 hours drive!). Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauranlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked 2 nights at Tenaya to help break up a long drive from Las Vegas to San Francisco. Though it's a little out of the way, it's quite a nice place. It's clearly a higher-end resort (not just some shack in the woods). There was lots of outdoors'y style activities, so if you're at all an outdoors person, there's lots here for you. Certainly recommended if you're in the area.

Room Tip: It's a fairly quiet hotel and well insulated, so room-noise shouldn't be an issue here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Nice upscale lodge, but not pretentious. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, food was good. Rooms were clean, comfortable with upscale rustic decor. Great location. Would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Wife and I stayed at Tenaya Lodge for several nights in early September 2012 in order to explore Yosemite National Park, of course, and this hotel has that lodge feeling but with upscale amenities and a great staff. This place is huge. We upgraded to one of the cottages, separate from the main hotel, and we love the room. Comfortable, quiet, and very clean with a balcony overlooking the forest. Great bathroom with great water pressure and hot water.

We bought the buffet breakfast option and it was well worth it, believe me. The breakfast buffet was awesome with endless food options and you really need a big breakfast if you plan on hiking in Yosemite. We also got a discount on "lunch boxes" with our breakfast buffet tickets from Tenaya's in house deli, sandwich, fruit, cookies, chips....perfect for taking to Yosemite. We had dinner one night in the Timberloft Pizzeria which was expensive but tasty good and dined the other two nights at Jackalopes, which was excellent, but pricey too. No complaints, we were on vacation! There's also a deli about a 3 minute drive from Tenaya, which is open 7am to 7pm.

We didn't get to Ascent Spa but I recommend booking as early as possible, like weeks before you go, to ensure you get a spot. Yosemite is a must see place, one of the most beautiful natural wonders I've ever seen and staying at Tenaya Lodge made the journey all the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Cottages are really quiet but a 5 minute walk to the main lodge. There is a paved path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommybass40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your five-star review! "Jewel in the forest" has a great ring to it -- we may have to borrow that in our promotional materials ;) ! There was one comment you had about needing to book Ascent Spa "weeks before you go" -- that typically is not necessary, but if did you have a challenge making a spa treatment appointment, we would love to know more about that and offer you a discount the next time you're up here with us to experience Ascent Spa at Tenaya Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

WE really liked the character of this place, lots of wood around and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The valet parking always remembered us.
The room was nice, not the best view but we spent most of our time around Yosemite so that was fine.
the room had a fridge which was great for us as we like to keep breakfast and lunch stuff to make our own food, as we tend to be out early and want lunch on the go - hard when you are up Half Dome!
For dinner we ate in the pizzeria, which was average at best, and the two restaurants in the hotel which share a menu (not the fancier one). Service in the first one was a bit all over the place. Service in the second was efficient. Food was good but they do seem to make the most of the fact you can't really go anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicciwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Room was really nice, lots of space , bed was very comfortable and a nice view off the balcony. Staff was great and the location was fantastic. Only knock was the food at breakfast, it was average at best. Miranda at the Jackelope bar was great, really made us feel welcome. Soooooo relaxing, after all the driving this was an oasis on the mountain.
The drive into Yosemite was amazing, no way to describe how small you feel when seeing the mountains up close. The drive in is only an hour and well worth it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,011 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.2 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
243 reviews
15.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing