We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pluses and negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pluses and negatives”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Buildings and facilities were very good. Dining was poor to average. Did not like having to wait in a corridor before going into dinner. Although all the pleasantries were expressed, it did not feel genuine. Meal too expensive for the quality in both restaurants.
Indoor pool was nice, though looked like the sides needed a good clean.
Would recommend, but with above reservations.
Gift shop was very nice.
Coach tour up into the park was excellent and the driver/guide very informative and amusing. Would definitely recommend this.
Overall, an enjoyable stop over.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,043
    1,781
    691
    266
    143
See reviews for
2,012
1,902
53
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Yosemite is big, very big. We drove there from an overnight stop in Lone Pine so we entered the park via Mono Lake on the junction of the 395 & 120 and drove the 120 Toga Pass to the exit on the 41, Tanaya Lodge being located on the 41 just outside the park entrance. The scenery en-route is just fantastic. Allow time for plenty of photo stops.
Tenaya Lodge itself is a sprawling timber building. The vaulted timber reception hall is impressive. However we stayed in one of the Cottage rooms in the cottage complex nestling amongst the huge trees about a 200 walk from the main building.
I'd best describe the rooms a quaint. They are a little dark but then they are in the trees. We were in a ground floor room which offered little privacy from the few walkers by. Therefore we angled our Venetian blinds for better privacy which necessarily reduced the light even more. Being early September we wanted cooling not heating but the gas log fire was always warm. It seemed so only from the pilot light which we couldn't turn off. I'm sure it's very cosy in the winter but we didn't need it.
The stairs up to the 1st floor room were the other side of the timber wall behind the head of our bed. We did hear loud footsteps during the day and dreaded a repeat performance during the night but luckily it didn't happen.
The bathroom was cramped but lacked nothing.
Dining was very good, particularly breakfast. The dining areas offer a selection if inside and outside eating. Service was very good except our used plates were not cleared during our three course breakfast so we piled them up on our table.
The staff were very attentive and, as for much of our experience in America, (and in particular for us Brits), perhaps a tad over attentive and verbose. I personally believe this stems from the tipping culture where their tip is as important as your comfort.

We were only at Tenaya for two days and there was so much to do in the area that we would love to go there again. Perhaps next time we'll try a room in the main building though, or get an upstairs room in one of the cottages.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MDG424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Staying 2 nights at the lodge was a decision well made.

Location
The location is excellent sitting a couple of miles just outside Yosemite National Park, meaning you're able to get that much needed early start to beat the traffic. We stayed within the main lodge but there are also cottage rooms available.

Room
No complaints about our room, in fact as we arrived our 2 year old announced that this hotel was like a 'proper' room, from this I figure she was commenting on the seating area and impressive bed (which was comfy). Room was clean and came equipped with Iron and kettle.

Facilities
The Lodge provides a restaurant and separate bar (both serving the same food) of which I'd recommend the T-Bone Steak and when I was there Sam Adams on tap.

There's a pool area for guests which is perfect to either take a dip or have a drink at the end of a day in the park. We found the pool heated perfectly and even in September when we stayed the sun was still shining until 6:30pm. The waitress service wasn't quite as frequent as we'd have liked but it's no issue to go to the bar yourself.

Staff
Checking in staff were friendly and helpful as were the bell hops who looked after our car as we checked in. Bar staff had a friendly chat when ordering drinks and the waiting staff were attentive and willingly answered any questions we had about the food.

Overall an excellent place to stay, when we visit Yosemite again (and we will) its a certainty that Tenaya will once again get our custom, there's no reason to try anywhere else with it's combination of location, quality and comfort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryBarnstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Three nights at the Tenaya Lodage and already we want to return.
The hotel really was beautiful and its' location just a few minutes drive from Yosemite is one of its outstanding features. Our room was large and clean with lovely views over the forest; the restaurants were absolutely fine with delicious food; maybe a little pricey but still good value.
If you stay here I would recommend the flashllght tour. Its starts at 8pm and lasts about 75-90 minutes but for $15 you get to walk the trails in the forest with a knowlegeable guide who showed us all manner of wildlife and views of the stars in their millions; well worth it.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for its quality, comfort and location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevmul16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were looking for a place close to Yosemite and elimated Ahwahnee due to the cost. We did an internet search and found Tenaya. The price was a lot better and it appeared to be just outside the park so we 'went for it'. We were not disappointed. The service was top notch (many of the wait staff and front desk referred to us by name). The rooms were a good size and very clean. We had the breakfast buffet twice because it had a lot of variety and was reasonably priced. And we were only a few minutes from the south gate.

After checking out to continue the rest of our visit in CA we discovered we left items in the closet. We called back and eventually got confirmation that housekeeping had turned the items in. Luckily we were back in the area before our flight departed to pick them up. We really appreciated that we were able to recover everything. Thanks Tenaya!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daz1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A beautiful Resort with relaxing rooms and delicious food . The place was right before the national park , I would want to praise the lady who was at the Concierge and guided us so well !! slightly overpriced though ..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gurvineet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just back from having stayed at the Tenaya which is OUTSIDE the park entrance and about 25 minutes north of the town of Oakhurst. Being outside the gates and charging over $300 per night, I expected something better than what it was. I will say that the greeters where we drove up were very friendly and the concierge was pleasant and helpful. The room we had was very standard for what I would expect to pay $125 to $200 for anywhere else. There's a nice pool if you like that. We don't. There are restaurants we didn't use. And we were very disappointed that there was no microwave in the room. There is a fridge in the bathroom. The smallest fridge I've ever seen. Held very little. We thought there would be a microwave since there was a coffee maker and fridge. At the very least we thought there might be a communal microwave available somewhere. We even asked if there were micro waves that could be brought to the room. There was certainly plenty of room for a small microwave in the room. But no. We could however bring our food to the hotel deli and ask them to microwave it for us. Our room was quite a distance from the deli. This is a big place. Additionally, they charged I think $9.95 per day to use the WiFi. It's free at any LaQuinta, or similar $99 hotel. But not here. And I didn't see any communal computer there for guests to use in the lobby. These things bugged me. We had purchased food in Oakhurst we planned to heat up for dinner in our room after a long tiresome day of travel. But your only option at the Tenaya is their pricey restaurants. That's why I was so glad when I happened to notice another hotel.....The Narrow Guage Inn....a couple of miles south of Tenaya Lodge and just north of the Sugar Pine Railroad. If your not looking for it you won't even see it. You can read my review of that hotel.....but the important thing I want to pass on is that the Narrow Guage has a restaurant open Wednesday through Sunday. You don't have to eat at the Tenaya. The Narrow Guage restaurant is so charming I took about 30 pictures of the interior. They have a "smaller portion" menu in addition to their regular menu. We ordered from that menu since the entrees were in the $13 to $18 range. Our meals were VERY good and the portions were full size believe me. We are not "small portion" people. I had the pasta dish and it was yummy. Hubby had Chicken Marsala, one of his favorites and he liked it alot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobywinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,006 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.2 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
240 reviews
15.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing