We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Week at Tenaya” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Week at Tenaya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had a great week. We had a spa room. Al the staff were nice. The concierge was great. Did not mind the pool being re-done as we were down in the Valley most days. They have an indorr pull if you need to swim. The breakfast buffet was great We ate at Jakelope's for dinner. The little store was really handy for snacks. WE got a foot massage at the spa for our weary feet after all the hiking. Close to the south entrance and Wawona and Mariposa Grove. Most high priced hotels charge for wifi, which is always a mystery to us. We had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSHTRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,833
    1,644
    653
    246
    127
See reviews for
1,806
1,734
49
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was our first time visiting Yosemite and we were dismayed at the extravagant prices and generally poor reviews of accomodations in Yosemite Valley. We booked at Tenaya Lodge, 30 miles or so from "The Valley" in the miniscule town of "Fish Camp" knowing full well we would have a significant (took us about 1 hour and 20 minutes each way) drive from the Lodge to "Yosemite Valley" with lots of interesting s-turns , sheer-cliffs , turn-offs for the fainter of heart to let the "cruisers" zip by at 50 mph. It is quite "do-able", but schedule time for the roundtrip in planning your daily events. However, despite the long trip each way, it is WONDERFUL to be at Tenya Lodge. We stayed , per advice from Tripadvisor, on the top floor facing west (room 334). The room was spacious, with a king-sized bed, television, air-conditioned comfort, a small refrigerator and lovely bed and bathroom.
There are three restaurants on the premises and we elected to have the daily buffet breakfast
at "the Sierra" there. The only problem is that it is very easy to over-eat!
We also ate virtually all our dinners at the Sierra and enjoyed the service and food. The salad, salmon, steak and grilled chicken were particularly tasty. Service was quite good as well.
After staying our scheduled 6 days, we decided to extend our stay by 2 days and got a good rate ($210) .
There is also a "Pizza" on the property, but as born and bred New Yorkers used to the best Pizza in the world, it fell somewhat short of our standards. Stick to the Sierra Restaurant and you'll be pleased. There is another restaurant (same kitchen) called Embers (reservations needed) and a bar/grill on the premises, but we were very pleased with to the Sierra
Other goodies: there is a wonderful indoor pool, 2 hot-tubs, a small gym and mens/womens locker room on the lowest floor. They are currently constructing an additional pool outdoors to make this an even greater vacation spa. The bell staff and concierge are extremely helpful as well. DO WE SOUND LIKE WE LIKED TENAYA LODGE?? You betcha!!!!
Top scenic sites for us included Glacier Point, Sentinel Dome , Mariposa Grove and anywhere in the Valley. However, the Valley does get crowded! We had a wonderful lunch at the Ahwhanee Hotel in "the Valley" and a delightful walk on their property.
May was a fantastic time to visit Yosemite as all the water falls were very, very much "alive". We did not drive to Tioga Pass (big trip) as they had just plowed the road (snow removal) and there were no services available there.

EF

Room Tip: stay on 3rd floor facing west and you won't hear anybody walking on "your ceiling".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ericjf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

The room was clean and presentable, with a TV the size of a bus. The room was good, if not a little noisy in the morning when other guests came and went slamming doors as they did and taking in the corridoor.

As you are not near to any major towns you are almost obliged to eat at teh lodge each evening and morning. Although friendly the service and quiality isn't the best and you can expect the following in their various restraunts. A fifteen minute wait for breakfast each morning. A table that isn't made up and/or dirty. No drinks bought to the table while you eat breakfast. Unmemorable food in the more expensive dinning areas (The Embers) and cold (!) coffee. And don't expect to eat your courses together. Maybe it's because we told them we were on our honeymoon and they thought this would make it memorable.... However, the pizza grill palce was good value and friendly. It would appear the more Dollar you spent the less value it was.

Room Tip: I can only comment on the Lodges, as I didn't stay or see any other rooms. You can get a second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nundah
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I wanted the American holiday experience and I got it. We loved our time at Tenaya Lodge. It is true it’s right on the doorstep of Yosemite, which is a must for anyone travelling through this part of California. However the hotel itself is well worth spending an extra day or two at just to use some of their facilities. The rooms are large, the beds are super comfortable and bathroom amenities are some the best we’ve had, I dare you not to be able to take a few home.

The staff is fantastic you are treated like an old friend yet they are courteous and professional. While I was planning this trip I emailed the hotel a number of times asking questions about the area, every email was answered almost immediately which impressed me to no end as I was emailing them in the middle of their night. Every staff member seems to have one goal and that is that you are having a good time. I loved that our waitress remembered how liked by juice and toast in the morning and it had been a few days between visits. Talking of the food you have to have at least one dinner at Sierra restaurant, the chef is fantastic.

There are plenty of activities that are organised, some cost some are free, on their website you say what season you’re going in and it gives you a list of various activities that are available. I feel the need to head out there in summer and give their summer activities a go.

I would recommend Tenaya in hear beat, this is one of my favourite places to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marktravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

This place charges a premium price for sub-par lodging. For $300+ per night, I expected much more. Everything in the room had a "cheap" quality and the staff was less than friendly. The walls were thin and screaming children could be heard all night. Also, there were no "stunning views" from this place as advertised. The only above quality aspect of this hotel was the breakfast, which was great. It was however, not $300 great. During a week long stay in California, this was the worst hotel my fiancé and I stayed in. Even the airport hotel was better. Do not waste your money here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clj555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and express your opinion -- we're sincerely sorry that your time with us did not meet your expectations. Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite is a AAA Four-Diamond resort property, and while we do not intend to invalidate your opinion, the AAA Diamond Rating program has very specific criteria for design and service standards. We are proud that Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite has earned the Four-Diamond designation (out of a possible 5) with the lodging industry's gold standard rating system for more than a decade running.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed in the cottages (two queens). The room was satisfactory, but seemed cramped and the bathroom was very small with only two small shelves for storage (not counting the floor under the basin. Didn't spend much time in the room so it was fine for us.
Restaurants are below average even for hotels. Service was good, but food was really bad. I had to send a simple roast beef sandwich back because the meat was so bad. If it were not for the lack of any competition, the restaurants would be empty.

Room Tip: Cottages are cramped, but we didn't spend much time there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronm1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

How this place got 4 stars I have no idea. They should not be awarded for scenery.

We just spent 2 nights in the 2 bed cottage suite at about $350/night. The room was up a very long staircase, no fun with our stuff. The heater/ac unit was very noisy as was the refrig. The meal in Embers was overpriced. The breakfast buffet was super. Moderate hike to the lodge. Select a rate such as AAA with it included.

Overall we expected more for putting up with the hours drive to the park.

Room Tip: Don't expect a 4 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EurotravelerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,562 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing