We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Nearby Hotels
$189
$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Narrow Gauge Inn(Fish Camp)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Sierra Inn(Oakhurst)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
$290
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
$283
$260
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$165
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,359)
Filter reviews
5,359 results
Traveler rating
2,201
1,936
759
300
163
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,201
1,936
759
300
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagessierra restaurantindoor poolice skatingsouth entrancecottage roomthe main hotelbreakfast buffetglacier pointflashlight hikevalley floorminute drivefire pitvalet parkingembersjackalopeconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
4,020 - 4,025 of 5,359 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was our first time visiting Yosemite and we were dismayed at the extravagant prices and generally poor reviews of accomodations in Yosemite Valley. We booked at Tenaya Lodge, 30 miles or so from "The Valley" in the miniscule town of "Fish Camp" knowing full well we would have a significant (took us about 1 hour and 20 minutes each way) drive from the Lodge to "Yosemite Valley" with lots of interesting s-turns , sheer-cliffs , turn-offs for the fainter of heart to let the "cruisers" zip by at 50 mph. It is quite "do-able", but schedule time for the roundtrip in planning your daily events. However, despite the long trip each way, it is WONDERFUL to be at Tenya Lodge. We stayed , per advice from Tripadvisor, on the top floor facing west (room 334). The room was spacious, with a king-sized bed, television, air-conditioned comfort, a small refrigerator and lovely bed and bathroom.
There are three restaurants on the premises and we elected to have the daily buffet breakfast
at "the Sierra" there. The only problem is that it is very easy to over-eat!
We also ate virtually all our dinners at the Sierra and enjoyed the service and food. The salad, salmon, steak and grilled chicken were particularly tasty. Service was quite good as well.
After staying our scheduled 6 days, we decided to extend our stay by 2 days and got a good rate ($210) .
There is also a "Pizza" on the property, but as born and bred New Yorkers used to the best Pizza in the world, it fell somewhat short of our standards. Stick to the Sierra Restaurant and you'll be pleased. There is another restaurant (same kitchen) called Embers (reservations needed) and a bar/grill on the premises, but we were very pleased with to the Sierra
Other goodies: there is a wonderful indoor pool, 2 hot-tubs, a small gym and mens/womens locker room on the lowest floor. They are currently constructing an additional pool outdoors to make this an even greater vacation spa. The bell staff and concierge are extremely helpful as well. DO WE SOUND LIKE WE LIKED TENAYA LODGE?? You betcha!!!!
Top scenic sites for us included Glacier Point, Sentinel Dome , Mariposa Grove and anywhere in the Valley. However, the Valley does get crowded! We had a wonderful lunch at the Ahwhanee Hotel in "the Valley" and a delightful walk on their property.
May was a fantastic time to visit Yosemite as all the water falls were very, very much "alive". We did not drive to Tioga Pass (big trip) as they had just plowed the road (snow removal) and there were no services available there.

EF

Room Tip: stay on 3rd floor facing west and you won't hear anybody walking on "your ceiling".
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ericjf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The room was clean and presentable, with a TV the size of a bus. The room was good, if not a little noisy in the morning when other guests came and went slamming doors as they did and taking in the corridoor.

As you are not near to any major towns you are almost obliged to eat at teh lodge each evening and morning. Although friendly the service and quiality isn't the best and you can expect the following in their various restraunts. A fifteen minute wait for breakfast each morning. A table that isn't made up and/or dirty. No drinks bought to the table while you eat breakfast. Unmemorable food in the more expensive dinning areas (The Embers) and cold (!) coffee. And don't expect to eat your courses together. Maybe it's because we told them we were on our honeymoon and they thought this would make it memorable.... However, the pizza grill palce was good value and friendly. It would appear the more Dollar you spent the less value it was.

Room Tip: I can only comment on the Lodges, as I didn't stay or see any other rooms. You can get a second floor lodge that has an out door mini terrace, which is a bonus if you can get one, particularly if the weather is good..
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I wanted the American holiday experience and I got it. We loved our time at Tenaya Lodge. It is true it’s right on the doorstep of Yosemite, which is a must for anyone travelling through this part of California. However the hotel itself is well worth spending an extra day or two at just to use some of their facilities. The rooms are large, the beds are super comfortable and bathroom amenities are some the best we’ve had, I dare you not to be able to take a few home.

The staff is fantastic you are treated like an old friend yet they are courteous and professional. While I was planning this trip I emailed the hotel a number of times asking questions about the area, every email was answered almost immediately which impressed me to no end as I was emailing them in the middle of their night. Every staff member seems to have one goal and that is that you are having a good time. I loved that our waitress remembered how liked by juice and toast in the morning and it had been a few days between visits. Talking of the food you have to have at least one dinner at Sierra restaurant, the chef is fantastic.

There are plenty of activities that are organised, some cost some are free, on their website you say what season you’re going in and it gives you a list of various activities that are available. I feel the need to head out there in summer and give their summer activities a go.

I would recommend Tenaya in hear beat, this is one of my favourite places to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marktravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

This place charges a premium price for sub-par lodging. For $300+ per night, I expected much more. Everything in the room had a "cheap" quality and the staff was less than friendly. The walls were thin and screaming children could be heard all night. Also, there were no "stunning views" from this place as advertised. The only above quality aspect of this hotel was the breakfast, which was great. It was however, not $300 great. During a week long stay in California, this was the worst hotel my fiancé and I stayed in. Even the airport hotel was better. Do not waste your money here.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clj555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write and express your opinion -- we're sincerely sorry that your time with us did not meet your expectations. Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite is a AAA Four-Diamond resort property, and while we do not intend to invalidate your opinion, the AAA Diamond Rating program has very specific criteria for design and service standards. We are proud that Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite has earned the Four-Diamond designation (out of a possible 5) with the lodging industry's gold standard rating system for more than a decade running.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed in the cottages (two queens). The room was satisfactory, but seemed cramped and the bathroom was very small with only two small shelves for storage (not counting the floor under the basin. Didn't spend much time in the room so it was fine for us.
Restaurants are below average even for hotels. Service was good, but food was really bad. I had to send a simple roast beef sandwich back because the meat was so bad. If it were not for the lack of any competition, the restaurants would be empty.

Room Tip: Cottages are cramped, but we didn't spend much time there.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronm1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews