We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Thanksgiving at Tenaya Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving at Tenaya Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

After miles of winding, forested road, we rounded a corner and there was the drive-way for Tenaya Lodge. The Lodge is away from the highway and the drive to the valet area was decorated for Christmas. Had there been snow, it would have seemed like a Winter Fairyland. We were greeted enthusiastically by the valet staff, who were eager to park our car(no charge), carry our luggage to the room and introduce us to the Front Desk for check-in. It was at this point that our trip went down hill.

Nine months before, we had called the reservations desk and were assured we would get the two connecting rooms we had reserved. We paid for one night at that point for each room. However, the front desk clerk said they had no connecting rooms that day, and didn't bother to check to even see if any would be available in the next 4 days. So, at the point of leaving to find other lodging, we figured that would probably be impossible over Thanksgiving weekend, so we went to look at our rooms, which were 5 doors apart. My husband and I have been married for 51 years and always request two rooms with a connecting door. Our "single" rooms each had a door that connected to another room, so we went back to the registration desk to ask if either rooms would check out in the next day or so. Amazingly enough, the room next to me was checking out the next day! But I was the one that had to ask about it. The next day my husband was given the connecting room next to me. In filling out a questionnaire about our visit, and writing basically what I just wrote, I was written back that connecting rooms are given to families with children first. What about elderly people that might need help or companionship? What about promising and not delivering? The whole time we were there, the vacancy sign was up out on the Highway.

Now for the positive side. As mentioned, the Lodge was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Santa came, there was a Gingerbread house building contest, ice skating, guided walks, horse back riding, kids game room, two swimming pools--there was plenty to do. Tenaya is both kid friendly and dog friendly. We saw a lot of dogs on leashes in the lobby. They are relegated to first floor rooms because of access to the lawn. Our rooms were on the 3rd floor and tastefully decorated. The bathroom had a shower/bath and toilet, separate from the counter and mirror. The amenities were adequate, the coffee good and even better if you use bottled water. No couch for extra people in the room.

We ate at both restaurants. Found the Jackalope food to be a little spicy to our taste. There is also a Deli for sandwiches. We had latte's there a couple of times. Our Thanksgiving meal was in the ballroom with nice decorations and plenty of food. We were charged $28.95 pp for a Senior Citizen. There were more families with children and Grandparents than at Disneyland. It was really a family destination for the Holiday.

We spent two days in the Park. The first was 9 hours of driving around to see all the famous landmarks. We also ate lunch at the Ahwahnee Hotel. The waterfalls were barely dribbles this time of year. Probably our highlight was going to Glacier Point. It was worth the drive for the views. This is where the old fire fall used to be pushed off the cliff. We also went to the Mariposa Grove to see the Sequoia trees. On our last day, we drove to a parking area and walked .5 miles to see Tenaya Falls. It was a lovely, flat walk on pine needles. The Lodge has a map showing how to get there.

We liked our stay, and had it not been for the room problem, would give Tenaya Lodge a five.

  • Liked — The Lodge itself, friendly staff, beautiful location
  • Disliked — It being so "family" and "dog" friendly. There was a lot of noise which could have been because of the Holiday.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAGRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,713
    1,568
    633
    243
    121
See reviews for
1,747
1,613
47
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (977)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

Nice rooms in a secluded are South of Yosemite. With winding roads and 30 miles to Yosemite Valley, it takes awhile to get there.

I liked the Apple Tree location but I woke to a mouse chewing on a candy wrapper at 4:30 in the morning. The next day we found one in a glue trap.

Apple Tree did give us some money off our stay, but a person wants to feel comfortable on their vacation. Watch out for the rodents.

  • Liked — Nice rooms located in a great mountain/forrest setting
  • Disliked — finding 2 dead mice in 48 hours
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank helpingothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

Tenaya Lodge is a lovely hotel and is perfect after a day's hiking. There are 2 good pools with jacuzzis and they never seemed busy. There is a formal restaurant though the bar and bar food are more than adequate. The hotel has a nice feel about it and the room sizes are good.

The drive from Tenaya into Yosemite valley is about an hour so you'll need to factor that in to your plans for the day but if you are staying outside the park then I recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Comfort and Space
  • Disliked — Distance from park centre
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine77Herts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

Large hotel but well designed. Very convenient location (just outside the park). Good service. Great facilities (indoor and outdoor pool). Nice decor, both lobby and room. My children and I had a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank French_Traveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

The Tenaya Loge exceeded every expectation. The Tenaya is not a luxury resort, but they make feel like it is. The staff was friendly and resonsive. The room was large and clean. The restaurants were great and prices were reasonable for the remote location. I would highly recommend the Tenaya.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Far from Yosemite Valley
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveEk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

Loved Tenaya Lodge, a real surprise hideaway amongst lots of campsites!! Found the hotel really lovely, rooms clean and spacious, lobby beautiful with real log fires burning ( very nice when returning from the cold)! Only just outside the park, so easily accessible to the park for daily trips. Lovely outside jacuzzis and indoor and outdoor pools, playing underwater music! Good choice of restaurants, with lovely food! Depending on the direction you are travelling, go via the Sonora Pass one way and the Tioga Pass the other for some beautiful sights!

  • Liked — setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stripeymule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

This cute little inn is located about 35 minutes from Yosemite Village, but it's worth the drive. Our room was comfortable and cozy,
with gas fireplace and well equipped with coffee maker, fridge, microwave, TV and DVD player. We took our German Shepherd and she felt right at home laying by the fire.

The setting is peaceful and private, but with great access to the main road and the Tenaya Lodge which is only a 5 minute stroll away. It has 2 restaurants, gift shop and coffee shop. We had dinner at the
Sierra Restaurant and it was excellent.

The continental breakfast, included in the price, is a great way to start the day. They have a nice selection of cold and hot cereals, bagels, toast, hard boiled eggs, juices and muffins. You can also order a box lunch for later.

We fell in love with the Apple Tree Inn, it was a great value and just a lovely place to stay.

  • Liked — The serene setting, the fireplace, dog friendly.
  • Disliked — $50 charge for the dog was a bit high, they should have a deposit instead.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tahorican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,329 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,464 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,949 reviews
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing