We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a delight! A memorable experience--like no other!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tin Lizzie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tin Lizzie Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“What a delight! A memorable experience--like no other!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

This beautiful B &B sits just outside the southern gate of Yosemite. But what really makes the stay memorable is the hospitality and charm of the hosts--David and Sheran. They truly live by the adage: it's not how much you make for a dollar, it's how much you can give.
We brought our college student daughter with us and wanted her to enjoy a weekend away from school that would be relaxing and different from any other she might experience. She loved every minute --as did we.
Since it was Labor Day we were prepared for a busy day at the park--but David and Sheran know all the ins and outs of the area. On Saturday afternoon David took us for a spin in a beautifully restored Model T. When we got to the gate we were waved in like VIPs . And while other visitors were turned away at the Mariposa Grove due to the crowds-- David was heartily greeted and given the go-ahead to take us right up to the grove.
Be prepared for a bit of attention--heads turn and you will likely find yourself on numerous folks' vacation videos as you drive past in David's autos. Fun!
Sheran's breakfasts are both beautiful and delicious, served on fine china and antique silver. No paper napkins here-- her cloth napkins are all hand embroidered. Almost everywhere you look in their charming home you can find unique collections of high quality antiques and David and Sheran are happy to share their knowledge with you if you are interested. Yet the environment is not at all stuffy. In fact, ask David if he'll show you his antique coat hanger collection--it's a hoot!
What more can you ask in a vacation than the jaw dropping beauty of Yosemite combined with the charm and hospitality of a genuinely wonderful couple? Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandaceB203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
113
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

So everyone here has already lauded David and Sharon and they deliver in every way. Not only are they friendly, lovely and yet non-intrusive, they genuinely seem to love this B and B hobby of theirs. Yes the ride in the Model T is as humorous as it is thrilling but more important the suite is exquisite and the breakfast better than any restaurant in the area.

So go for David and Sharon's hospitality but you will return for the lovely accommodations, location and the dream that maybe you can own one of those Model T's which David claims he is soon selling.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maddeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

If you want to have an experience like no other - The Tin Lizzie Inn B&B is your place.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, every moment was a memory.
The property is extraordinary and exhibits all the love and attention Dave and Sheran have and give as hosts.
You know when you have an experience where everything is "just right" - well that is what we had.
The suite is exquisite and every detail has been taken care of (even the flower in the toilet).
All details for service were thought out and presented. Not overstated and not understated, just there. The Model T ride and drive was fabulous and made even better by Dave's enthusiasm for life.
You cannot go wrong with the Tin Lizzie Inn.
Juanita and Ash Hayes

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashandjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

David and Sherran run an amazing B&B. Their meticulous attention to detail - David even cleans your car's windscreen every morning to remove Yosemite's inevitable dust - will keep the return visitor loyal without a second thought. We loved it, our teenager loved it (and you know how hard that is), the surroundings are amazing and the house's proximity to Yosemite makes it the perfect base. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyRiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Tin Lizzie Inn is an experience not to be missed by anyone staying over in Yosemite NP. We only stayed there for one night during our Californian honeymoon roadtrip but it was definitely the highlight of our trip! From welcoming hosts to the beautifully decorated cottage, to the choc covered strawberries waiting for us when we arrived in the cottage. After settling in we went for a ride in the 1930 Model T that David (our host) had restored, after which he dropped us off at a restuarant in Yosemite NP for dinner. What a fun experience! We loved listening to the history of Tin Lizzie and the Model T Ford - it made the experience so much more memorable! Breakfast the next morning was GORGEOUS, sitting next to an open window with the birds and squirrels feeding from the nuts Sherrin left on the porch for them - a very 'home away from home' experience. You would be a fool to miss out on the Tin Lizzie experience when visiting Yosemite NP!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneliMPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

The owners treat their guests like royalty. They obviously have a gift of hospitality and provided so much warmth for our stay. The food was so AMAZING that we talked about it all day during our Yosemite hikes. :) Not only did we get breakfast in the mornings, but we had chocolate covered strawberries in our room when we arrived, hot tea/chocolate and desserts in the evenings, and there was not a detail that was overlooked. The ride in the Model T was memorable, and we enjoyed watching wildlife. We felt as if we were at home but with added luxury. The cottage room was a perfect space for us since we spent most of our time sightseeing in the park. It was cozy, beautiful, and perfectly clean. This place is worth every penny of its price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank me4travel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgbmjb
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Wow...this place is amazing! No detail forgotten. We stayed in the suite, which was huge and so tastefully decorated. Such a beautiful setting which enjoyed next to our fireplace. Chocolated dipped strawberries added that extra special touch. The innkeepers, were so pleasant and informative. We love learning about the Model A cars they own and what a thrill to actually get to ride in one! Please stay here if you want a once in a lifetime experience. Not only are amongst gorgeous country during the day, but you get to go back to a gorgeous inn at night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jgbmjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.1 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
17.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
18.7 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
9.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.3 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Lizzie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Lizzie Inn

Property: Tin Lizzie Inn
Address: 7730 Laurel Way, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tin Lizzie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 miles from southern entrance to Yosemite National Park you will find us nestled in the pines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Tin Lizzie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing