We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond”
Review of Tin Lizzie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tin Lizzie Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

As if this beautiful Victorian B&B was not enough, Sheran and David provided a personal touch that was unrivaled in our traveling experience. From the perfect breakfasts, to the informative conversations, to the use of their antique cars for a truly fun trip to Yosemite Valley, we came as strangers and left as friends. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Tin Lizzie Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 181 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were visiting Yosemite National Park on route to Las Vegas and needed somewhere to stay for 2 nights in that area (13th to 15th Sept 2012). We chose Tin Lizzie based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. These reviews are all true and the B&B is every bit as good as everyone says it is.

We'd had a long drive from San Francisco (with a wrong turn up the Chowchilla Mountain Road, thanks to our out of date Sat Nav!! DO NOT GO THAT WAY! It is a dirt track and not suitable for the majority of cars!) so it was a relief to make it to Tin Lizzie. We were greeted on arrival by David who introduced us to his wife, Sheran. They immediately welcomed us into their home and made us tea which went down a treat.

We were staying in their cottage which is joined to the main house but has its own entrance. This was perfect for us as it had a lounge downstairs and bedroom/bathroom upstairs. David and Sheran designed and built Tin Lizzie themselves and you can see when you're there how much love and thought has gone into the design and decoration. It is lovely. If you stay there be sure to ask to look at their photobook which is really interesting.

It is located in a peaceful and quiet area and we were so pleased to be able to sit outside on our patio and watch humming birds and bluejays.

It was the personal touches at Tin Lizzie that make it stand out (such as chocolates on the pillow at night and on one night David told us not to have pudding out as Sheran was making a Boston Cream Pie. We came home that night from dinner and she'd left two large pieces of the Cream Pie for us which were absolutely delicious).

David and Sheran are the most wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. David drove us to dinner on our first night in his Model T Ford so that was a real treat for us. He has a large collection of them which are well worth seeing. On our arrival back to our room Sheran had left us some chocolate dipped strawberries. The breakfasts served at Tin Lizzie are lovely and everything is homemade by Sheran (who is very talented at baking). These breakfasts consisted of around three/four courses including eggs, waffles, poached pears, fresh fruit, cakes etc which helped fuel us for our walks round Yosemite. They were delicious.

David and Sheran are great to talk to and have an excellent knowledge of the area. They gave us lots of great tips of places to visit during our stay. In fact we'd like to thank them for their advice on our last morning (we were a bit worried about driving the Tioga Pass but they put us at ease and encouraged us to go for it which we did and as they'd promised, we thoroughly enjoyed it).

The Tin Lizzie also has a suite in the main house which we were given a tour of and it is beautiful. Very large and perfect for a romantic stay.

If you are looking for a place to stay from which to explore Yosemite or the surrounding area, or even if you just want a relaxing or romantic break away from it all, then look no further than Tin Lizzie. You will not regret it.

We will definitely be back at some point in the future.

Thanks again David and Sheran

Marian and Paul

Room Tip: You will be happy whichever room you are in as they are all individual and beautiful.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mazziep10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at Tin Lizzie for 2 nights as part of our Californian tour and found it such a refreshing change from the other standard hotels we had booked. David and Sheran were wonderful hosts and provided a superb breakfast each morning to keep us going for most of the day. An added treat was the ride in David's Model T Ford car. We have some lovely photographs taken by David to remind us of that trip. The attention to detail in the room was second to none and the Inn is only minutes away from the main gates into Yosemite Park. We enjoyed coming home each night to an oasis of calm and it was wonderful to watch the hummingbirds feeding from the nectar jar on the verandah and the busy squirrels racing up and down the tree trunks. You are treated as part of the family at Tin Lizzie and we would definitely recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: A choice of just 2 rooms. One in the main house and the other an adjoining cottage on two floors. We...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaspray23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Located in Fish Camp, CA (population 200), the Tin Lizzie Inn is perfect for getting away from it all. If you want to disconnect from light pollution, big box chain stores and the like, escape to Tin Lizzie.

Proprietors Sheran and David start your day off with a scrumptious, hearty breakfast that will give you the energy you need to get through a day of hiking Yosemite's strenuous trails. In the evening, you will find homemade desserts in your room.

Room Tip: Stay in the exquisitely decorated Tin Lizzie Suite, where you can relax by the fireplace or simply e...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was truly a wonderful experience. I would recommend it to anyone; the rooms were clean and spacious and the breakfasts were delectable. We rented a model A Ford for a day and it made for a truly unique experience that we are still talking about. The B&B is across the street from the Tenaya lodge, but the rooms are so much nicer and the personal touch by David and Sheran made this a very special trip. I would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VegasBill14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last week. We LOVED it. It is in a beautiful and tranquil location, if a little tricky to find but David came and got us when we were lost. It is half an hour south of Yosemite NP. We spent the whole day there, then the next day went half an hour south to Bass lake. Beautiful lake you can swim in (lovely warm water) and hire boats - some with bbqs which is so cool. We then left the following day spending the day in Yosemite once again. Perfect.
We stayed in the carriage house - a detached two bedroom house fully equipped. We self catered which was fab. We had use of the BBQ and David made us a fire bowl one night.
David and Sheran are a charming couple and wonderful hosts. We felt so welcome and they couldn't do enough for us. He collects Model T4 motorcars (amongst other things) and is delighted to take guests out in it and let them drive - even our teenagers. We would definitely recommend this B&B. Tank you

Room Tip: Carriage house perfect for families
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed in the Presidents Suite for two nights.
Right from our early arrival, we knew we were going to love this place.
The accommodation was the most comfortable that we stayed in during our two weeks in California and Sheran and David worked hard to ensure that our holiday was "special".
Lovely furnishngs; leisurely, luxurious breakfasts served on our private patio; Great recommendations for restaurants in the evening and of course the Model T Ford...
If you get a chance to book this place - do it. You will be glad that you did.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayfinder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
18.7 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,858 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,621 reviews
17.3 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Lizzie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Lizzie Inn

Address: 7730 Laurel Way, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range: $303 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tin Lizzie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just 2 miles from southern entrance to Yosemite National Park. A beautiful luxury Victorian Inn built in 2006 but with original lighting, hardware and to much to mention. The suite is the entire second floor with a fireplace, balcony, bathroom is 14x14 ft. with a slipper tub and walk-in shower with 6 body sprays. It also has an attached twin sleeping room for additional guest. Our cottage is cozy and lovely with a queen bed upstairs and living area on first floor. It has a shower/tub, one of our favorite rooms. Visit our webpage for more details and contact information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tin Lizzie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing