We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”
Review of Tin Lizzie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tin Lizzie Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at Tin Lizzie for 2 nights as part of our Californian tour and found it such a refreshing change from the other standard hotels we had booked. David and Sheran were wonderful hosts and provided a superb breakfast each morning to keep us going for most of the day. An added treat was the ride in David's Model T Ford car. We have some lovely photographs taken by David to remind us of that trip. The attention to detail in the room was second to none and the Inn is only minutes away from the main gates into Yosemite Park. We enjoyed coming home each night to an oasis of calm and it was wonderful to watch the hummingbirds feeding from the nectar jar on the verandah and the busy squirrels racing up and down the tree trunks. You are treated as part of the family at Tin Lizzie and we would definitely recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: A choice of just 2 rooms. One in the main house and the other an adjoining cottage on two floors. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaspray23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
121
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Located in Fish Camp, CA (population 200), the Tin Lizzie Inn is perfect for getting away from it all. If you want to disconnect from light pollution, big box chain stores and the like, escape to Tin Lizzie.

Proprietors Sheran and David start your day off with a scrumptious, hearty breakfast that will give you the energy you need to get through a day of hiking Yosemite's strenuous trails. In the evening, you will find homemade desserts in your room.

Room Tip: Stay in the exquisitely decorated Tin Lizzie Suite, where you can relax by the fireplace or simply e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was truly a wonderful experience. I would recommend it to anyone; the rooms were clean and spacious and the breakfasts were delectable. We rented a model A Ford for a day and it made for a truly unique experience that we are still talking about. The B&B is across the street from the Tenaya lodge, but the rooms are so much nicer and the personal touch by David and Sheran made this a very special trip. I would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VegasBill14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last week. We LOVED it. It is in a beautiful and tranquil location, if a little tricky to find but David came and got us when we were lost. It is half an hour south of Yosemite NP. We spent the whole day there, then the next day went half an hour south to Bass lake. Beautiful lake you can swim in (lovely warm water) and hire boats - some with bbqs which is so cool. We then left the following day spending the day in Yosemite once again. Perfect.
We stayed in the carriage house - a detached two bedroom house fully equipped. We self catered which was fab. We had use of the BBQ and David made us a fire bowl one night.
David and Sheran are a charming couple and wonderful hosts. We felt so welcome and they couldn't do enough for us. He collects Model T4 motorcars (amongst other things) and is delighted to take guests out in it and let them drive - even our teenagers. We would definitely recommend this B&B. Tank you

Room Tip: Carriage house perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed in the Presidents Suite for two nights.
Right from our early arrival, we knew we were going to love this place.
The accommodation was the most comfortable that we stayed in during our two weeks in California and Sheran and David worked hard to ensure that our holiday was "special".
Lovely furnishngs; leisurely, luxurious breakfasts served on our private patio; Great recommendations for restaurants in the evening and of course the Model T Ford...
If you get a chance to book this place - do it. You will be glad that you did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayfinder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Having travelled around northern California for our honeymoon, we finished our trip at Tin Lizzie Inn. I had become ill by that stage, and our hosts could not have been more kind and thoughtful towards us both. Instead of wishing I was at home in England getting over my illness, I already felt at home here. From the cleanliness of the rooms to the decor, it was the most warm and comfortable environment to be in. On the last of our 3 nights I was better, and David gave us the most exciting ride in his Model T Ford. This was one of our fondest memories of the trip, and he took us to a personally recommended restaurant where the staff were wonderful and the food delicious. Sheran's breakfasts were delicious and much more special than hotel food. The whole experience was wonderful and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

The Tin Lizzie was fantastic!! Even after reading all of the positive reviews, it still exceeded our expectations. David and Sheran are great hosts, who truly care about making your visit special. The breakfasts were amazing, the best meals we had the entire time we were in CA! My son declared the Tin Lizzie as paradise, and we couldn't agree more with him. it is a great place both for couples and kids. They have set up a nice play area, which my seven year old seemed to prefer over going into Yosemite.

Highly recommend staying here, nothing in or near the park will compare!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PKS_Bos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.1 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,599 reviews
18.7 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,811 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,093 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.3 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Lizzie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Lizzie Inn

Property: Tin Lizzie Inn
Address: 7730 Laurel Way, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tin Lizzie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just 2 miles from southern entrance to Yosemite National Park. A beautiful luxury Victorian Inn built in 2006 but with original lighting, hardware and to much to mention. The suite is the entire second floor with a fireplace, balcony, bathroom is 14x14 ft. with a slipper tub and walk-in shower with 6 body sprays. It also has an attached twin sleeping room for additional guest. Our cottage is cozy and lovely with a queen bed upstairs and living area on first floor. It has a shower/tub, one of our favorite rooms. Visit our webpage for more details and contact information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tin Lizzie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing