We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Must Do!" for all Yosemite visitors”

Yosemite Mountain Sugar Pine Railroad
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Four-mile excursion on a narrow-gauge railroad through Sierra National Forest's scenic landscape.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A "Must Do!" for all Yosemite visitors”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is really something that anyone who visits Yosemite should do. It is great fun for family and really an enjoyable experience. My 16 year old son and I went to a Moonlight Special event on Wednesday, July 24, 2013. The food was good, the train ride was fun and the campfire singing was a hoot. This is a 3 hour event that ran from 6:30 pm to 9:30 pm and it all went without a hitch. Great times and family fun for everyone!

The only recommendation I have is that if you do the Moonlight Special, I would suggest having a room in Oakhurst, just down the road from this place for the night. We had a room in Sonora and were on a 3 day/2 night mini vacation so we had been on the road a lot. CA-49 that will take you to Fish Camp from the Sonora/Jamestown area seems to have a lot more twists and turns than your average mountain road and we chose not to drive it at night, after the Moonlight Special. We were able to get directions that took us out on 140 towards Merced to 99 for the trip back to our room in Sonora to avoid the craziness of CA-49 at night. We didn't get back to our room in Sonora until 2 am. I wish I had done that part of our visit a little differently and had gotten a room nearby for the night. We were already tired travelers by the time we got here after a long day of driving/site seeing and I would have been thrilled to have been able to go straight to a motel after this event for rest after a long day instead of an additional 3-4 hour drive to get back to our motel in Sonora.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    107
    26
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Reaaly cool thing for kids and adults”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The drive over here was very pretty, lots of beautiful views along the way, stop to see them its well worth it. We got here too late for the steam engine but rode one of the small cars. Rode with a Marine tour guide, very knowledgeable and fun ride. Stop at picnic area was very cool too. The train was cool, my son loved it. Its well worth the money, only negative things was we lost our passport book from the parks somewhere along the way. oh well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank icy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Moonlight Ride, Food and Music”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

As part of the prize package that Marna and I won for a stay at the Tenaya Lodge was a dinner and a moolight ride on the small gauge Sugar Pine Railroad. This was a blast that we recommend for all including families with samll children. The Sugar Pine Railroad is all that is left of a giant logging operation that had it's hayday in the early 1900's. The program begins with a BBQ dinner (steaks are the most popular but they have chicken, hot dogs and selections for vegatarians). The sides include corn, beans and a roll. Dessert was a cake and pudding dish. The soft drinks (lemonade, tea, cofffe and water) were included and they had beer and wine for sale. All throughout the dinner a music group called Sugar Pine perform bluegrass, folk and standards. After dinner at twilight it is all aboard for a 15/20 ride to the turn around where they have an area with logs for sitting and a campfire. The fun really begins when Sugar Pine engages the audience in sing alongs in between the songs and stories they perform. As a long time "go to camp" person the campfire brought back many good memories. Sugar Pine was so skilled in involving the audience that by the endo of the campfire even the "too cool" teenagers who were "dragged" along by their parents were into the fun. After the campfire it was back on the train for a ride to the station. It now after dark and the only lights are from the moon and the headlamp on the engine. As you look out into the forest it is almost like a train ride at disneyland where you can hear the sound of critters and sometimes almost see their eyes reflected by the light of the moon. It was a deightful evening which we highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EdandMarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun & Interesting”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I and our 16 year old son enjoyed an afternoon ride on the Sugar Pine Railroad. This company is very well run and did not feel like a typical tourist trap. The facilities were very well maintained with a nice gift shop, a lovely picnic area where we enjoyed our picnic lunch, super clean bathrooms and very pretty grounds. The train trip was fun for all with interesting commentary along the way. They also have a snack shop with interesting items on the menu at reasonable prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CeliaAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FUN!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

What a lovely experience. Immaculate train station, beautiful bookstore. Super clean restrooms. Great trainride for the kids and us. Informative, smooth, historical.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PHOENIX1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yosemite Mountain Sugar Pine Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Yosemite Mountain Sugar Pine Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing