We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“historic and interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite Mountain Sugar Pine Railroad

Yosemite Mountain Sugar Pine Railroad
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Four-mile excursion on a narrow-gauge railroad through Sierra National Forest's scenic landscape.
Robertson
Level Contributor
314 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“historic and interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was an unexpected find. The trip on the train is not long but interesting with good commentary. It snowed the day we went and whilst it was very cold it was also very atmospheric.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank chewat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    99
    26
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles,ca
Level Contributor
343 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“good to do once”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Its a nice experience, but the presentation is boring.The scenery is lovely ,and it would be almost better if there was no presentation.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mflickermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

When I went there it was fun. I wish i t was longer than 15 minutes. The staff was nice. The sights was interesting. The train ride was awesome. It was resonable priced. I wish I went there again.

Helpful?
Thank scubateen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
130 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“big fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

nothing like traveling in a train into the lovely forest - check times and dates for evening dinner trains

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for train lovers and sightseers alike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My father in law LOVES trains, so this was an obvious choice. The rest of us had a great time too, while waiting, enjoyed the museums and gift shops, kept us entertained for quite a while. Upon boarding, we chose the open car, where you sit on a cut out log. My father in law, being the enthusiast, chose to pay an extra fee (half of which was donated to the local school) to ride with the engineer. It was obvious that he had a blast up there, and we did too. Great history of the area, steam engine, lumber industry, and railway. A must see for adults, kids and everything in between!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yosemite Mountain Sugar Pine Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Yosemite Mountain Sugar Pine Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing