We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“New favorite B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite Big Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yosemite Big Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New favorite B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We chose to stay at Big Creek Inn for our first trip to Yosemite based on the high ratings it had received from other travelers on this site. I am pleased to report that the rave reviews were well deserved! We found the inn to be comfortable, clean and updated. Innkeepers Pamela and John were welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They gave us some great ideas for what to see during our short trip. I have already recommended the inn to a few friends and coworkers and will definitely stay here again the next time I am in the Yosemite area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Merced room but got to see the Mariposa while we were there. Both rooms were very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jl_il_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
313
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This review is long overdue having visited Yosemite in June 2012 but I just had to write a review. We arrived later than planned having been misdirected by the GPS but what a great place. Pamela asked for our plans whilst in Yosemite and basically provided a day's itinerary to allow us the best chance to see all of Yosemite in a short time! She has a great knowledge of the area. We had a special breakfast of waffle with fruits the second morning which I thoroughly enjoyed. Thought they were amazing hosts who thought of the extras such as DVDs, candy and cookies freely available. Would love to go back to Yosemite and won't consider staying anywhere else but here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our fourth stay at the Big Creek Inn and I think that says it all. We can't help but return to this Inn whenever we come to Yosemite. In fact, on two occasions now I have checked the availability here before booking our flights from the UK to make sure that we can stay.

Pam and John are such fabulous hosts; the welcome is friendly, Pam's advice on walks in the park is invaluable, and it's fun chatting to them and other guests over breakfast. One morning we had been the only guests overnight so Pam made us a special breakfast of waffles with strawberries and syrup. Lovely, and much appreciated!

The other things that make this place so special are the little touches and attention to detail; little snacks available whenever you fancy a nibble, a guest fridge with drinks, guide books, wifi, a lovely buffet breakfast every morning. You can see how much care and attention John lavishes on the Inn in all of the remodelling he's done; the rooms are beautiful. They are also spotless, spacious and very tasteful.

We've stayed in all of the rooms but our favourite is the Mariposa with the king bed, two balconies, and a great view over the meadow and the creek where we could see deer most evenings. This really is the perfect place in which to relax after a long day walking in Yosemite.

My husband isn't even a B&B sort of person (he isn't the most sociable type) but neither of us would stay anywhere else and this is absolutely a place that you should try, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: They're all lovely but we like the Mariposa the most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMtnW, Owner at Yosemite Big Creek Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you, Rachael, for your lovely review. Guests like you and John make innkeeping very gratifying. We love being a part of our guests' happy Yosemite memories. All the best, Pamela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days in October 2011. The room and all the facilities were superb and we particularly appreciated the snacks and drinks provided. As our time was limited Pamela gave us a great suggested route for a tour of Yosemite and we felt that we made the best use of limited time.

This is a B&B which operates to a very high standard and deserves all the good reviews.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OGOG049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place is the best B&B experience we've had and here's why:

+ The innkeepers Pamela and John are warm and welcoming; polite and professional. They are hikers and offered us spot-on suggestions for how to get the very best experience in the limited amount of time we had in Yosemite.

+ Pamela and John designed and built the place recently (he's a carpenter and the place is very well-constructed), and maintain it spotlessly. It's fastidiously clean.

+ The Inn is nestled in a meadow; the setting is beautiful and park-like. It is set back from the road and quiet.

+ The place is well-designed. The decor is beautiful and very tastefully done. The three guest rooms are upstairs, well away from the owners' living quarters. Our room was very quiet. Two common areas upstairs offer seating, snacks, a fridge, freshly-prepared coffee in the morning for early risers, hundreds of DVDs and an assortment of Yosemite-related reference books.

+ An electric fireplace in our room offered warmth and a cozy glow.

+ The bathroom has great lighting and lots of counter space. The tub/shower is spacious. The towels are extra thick.

+ The parking is steps away from the Inn's front door.

+ The breakfast buffet offers lots of selection and was exactly what we wanted. They even include energy bars to take along as snacks.

Even though the place is perfect, Pamela and John are the best part of the Big Creek Inn. They are happy, pleasant people who gave us great suggestions for what to see and do in Yosemite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HvLuggageWillTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PamelaS, Owner at Yosemite Big Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We are grateful that so many guests have taken the time and effort to review our small business, which is also our home. John and I love living in Fish Camp and being innkeepers. After more than a decade here, we are still enthralled with Yosemite. It’s great fun to share the Yosemite experience with people of all ages from around the globe. With all the wonderful guests we’ve enjoyed, we hope to be innkeepers for a long time to come. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was a luxurious B&B, off the Fish Camp main road, so nice and quiet. On arrival we were greeted by John, who carried our luggage for us, made us feel at home with his hilarious humor and gave a guided tour of Big Creek Inns’ courtesy facilities, including the courtesy drinks/snacks/chocolate/fridge etc. There’s even tea/coffee available before breakfast for early risers. This place felt like (a luxury) home rather than a hotel/B&B.

We stayed in the Mariposa room for 4 nights and didn’t want to leave. The quality and finish of the furniture and fittings was better than any 5 star European hotels; it was huge and relaxing. You could spend weeks here just watching the huge range of DVDs in your room and also the list of satellite TV channels, including BBC USA!

The bed was massive and very comfortable, a great night’s sleep. Pamela's breakfasts were a feast (a pot of Earl Grey was most welcoming) and were a great place to chat to the other guests while planning daily walks based on Pamela and Johns recommendations. They have walking books and cool bags/ice blocks which can be borrowed, to keep the sandwiches (bought from the shop down the road from the B&B) cool - recommended if you’re here in summer as it was hot.

After getting back from the impressive sights of Yosemite we relaxed with a few games of table tennis on the rear decking, and got to see deer passing through the meadow while humming birds buzzed and bumped each other at the feeders; wroth staying here just to experience the birds. We could have sat on our private balcony, but ping-pong was too appealing.

They have menus for the local restaurants so we were able choose what sort of food we wanted before we set out. It was so comforting retuning from the Tenya Lodge resort knowing we were going back to luxury, rather than a mass market place which would have cost more than Big Creek Inn.

Yosemite Valley was a little over 45 minutes’ drive.

Room Tip: mariposa room was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tripperhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent a weekend here in October and it was lovely.
* The inn keepers were very friendly, greeted us by name when we got in
* The room was very clean and tidy. We had a balcony with a view of the meadow and a cozy fireplace/stove
* There were complimentary snacks, tea and hot chocolate in the evening. They also had a giant selection of DVDs.
* Breakfast was served from 8-9am. We ate oatmeal, bagels and chatted with Pamela about hike options in south Yosemite.
Overall we had a very good experience and we'll stay here next time we come to Yosemite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
18.7 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
18.4 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,562 reviews
17.2 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
15.4 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Big Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Big Creek Inn

Property: Yosemite Big Creek Inn
Address: 1221 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yosemite Big Creek Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three guest room, owner-occupied, bed and breakfast inn located on a tranquil bank of Big Creek, just 2 miles to Yosemite National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Yosemite Big Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Big Creek Hotel Fish Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing