We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great service and location, reasonable price, ancient TV” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Chief Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Los Gatos, California
1 review
“Great service and location, reasonable price, ancient TV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We spend long weekend in Yosemite, and stayed in the White Chief Lodge. Price wise it was much better deal than staying inside Yosemite, the rooms were good and staff was friendly. The lodge is within 4 miles from the entrance to the park.

If there is anything we'd like to be improved, that would be room TVs that have only RF input, and more visible signs leading to the lodge. We arrived late, missed right turn just before the lodge and ended up on forest road.

We liked our stay and will be recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slava M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    48
    59
    22
    25
See reviews for
40
91
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed two couples in a double double two nights in early July. We booked our lodging around Yosemite very late, and it was very difficult to find any good lodging. We stumbled on a recommendation for White Chief Mountain Lodge on a website, and they had vacancies. I think one of the reasons is that they don't have Internet booking. Maggie was very helpful when we booked, and we also changed our booking quite late.

The room was basic, if a bit run down. One of the blankets was dirty, but otherwise it was decently clean (and there was an extra blanket). We had working free wi-fi and the room was quiet. The breakfast was basic, but better than most motels in this "value" category. There was bagels, instant oatmeal, yoghurt etc and you could eat your fill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreaslundin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

If a hotel was available in Oakhurst I would have chosen that. I came here because my friends had booked a hotel here. It's a family business. Run on the CHEAP. They've invested as little as they can in time and money in keeping the hotel up to date and in your comfort. Cheap coffee, run-down rooms, barely working water... Although the staff did their very best to make me comfortable (added a fan into my room) I won't come back. Not worth the exorbitant price - I was charged $135 for about a $40 room (in terms of quality and amenities). Everyone I talked to (hotel workers, store owners, etc) in Fish Camp says eat at Oakhurst . Next time I'll stay in Oakhurst

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashok K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Pros:
In real estate, they say: Location, location, location.

In this case, location is 2 miles from Yosemite South Entrance, and a hop to the Mariposa Grove of Sequoias (including the Tunnel Tree that you can walk thru - they stopped allowing driving thru it years ago).

Clean basic motel-type rooms with mini-fridge, microwave and comfortable bed.

With nighttime temperatures in the upper 30's (F) (?this is June??) we were very glad that the gas heating came up quickly and quietly - not like some noisy heater/AC units. Don't think they have A/C... but who needs it when it gets so chilly out at night?

Hot water was nice and hot, a bit slow in coming up, but I have that same problem at home when I'm at the far end of the house from the hot water heater.

We had a room in the back, facing the woods = quiet and relaxing.

Free continental breakfast was basic (Toast, buns, cereal, yogurt, nstant oatmeal and the like), but we were able to eat our fill, while chatting with a pleasant couple from Switzerland.

Maggie, at the front desk, was extremely helpful and cheery.

Free wi-fi... Maggie will try to put you in a room close to the wi-fi if you require it. If you don't care, you can always head over to the office area to hop on.


Cons:
Decor is very basic, and a bit tired.

Again, considering the location, don't be surprised if you have an insect visitor. (But our little spider in the shower put up no argument about being carried outside on a piece of paper :-)

Restaurant was closed, but a cooler of ice and a stop for groceries in Fresno meant we didn't have to starve for supper.


Caveat:
Being Platinum Marriott and Gold Starwoods (Sheraton), I'm familiar w/ the whole gamut of hotels types / qualities, but I also do not try to compare apples with watermelons. I feel that White Chief Mountain Lodge deserves it's 5-star rating based on it's own level of quality for its price at this location. Sure, you can probably find better for the same price, but then you're wasting 1/2 hour or more driving time each way to/from the park. If you want to stay elsewhere in Fish Camp, then expect to pay around 50% to 200% more.

Remember, you've come to Yosemite for the nature and the adventure!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back face the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pun-gent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in early June, based on TripAdvisor reviews from other folks. Yosemite is a busy place all year, but this place is like an oasis from the hustle and bustle, 300 yards off the main road into the park. It is clean and comfortable, meets basic needs very well, and is a good deal for the price, considering that everything is expensive near the Park. It's a small, older style motel, but well cared for.

Good: Clean, comfortable room. The bed was quite firm, which I like. Free wifi, at least for rooms near the office (I was a few doors down from the office). Staff was friendly. Pretty quiet and no neighbors -- my room looked out on the forest next door. I slept well.

A few shortcomings: No phones in the rooms (but I could get a cell phone signal). Just a few channels on the TV. You'll need to drive to restaurants (there are a few in Fish Camp, the Wawona hotel 5 miles away, or several in Oakhurst 10 miles away).

I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tooluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

As stated by others, basic room facilities, but excellent beds and extremely clean facilities.
A little old on the outside but the front rooms are all double glazed. Free Wi-Fi. More than
enough breakfast, friendly owners and an excellent price for Yosemite. Basically just motel
rooms, but hey Yosemite in the day - sleep at night.

Room Tip: Front rooms face the carpark, but are double glazed and the whole area is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myocummaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The bedroom included a small dining table with two chairs, small refrigerator and microwave. The bed was firm but comfortable The bathroom was roomy enough. Didn't like the shower because it didn't spray out hard enough and I couldn't get it hot, just warm.
We had trouble adjusting the heater. It was a little too warm throughout the night.
It was quiet even though they were booked solid the night we stayed.
The office personnel were very pleasant and we had no wait checking in or out.
They gave us a packet of instant oatmeal and a Capri Sun juice upon check in.

Despite deficiencies, I would probably stay here again for one night as the other places nearby were more than twice as much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
17.4 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,841 reviews
18.5 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,472 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,954 reviews
9.8 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
9.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Chief Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Chief Mountain Lodge

Property: White Chief Mountain Lodge
Address: 7776 White Chief Mountain Road, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — White Chief Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the White Chief Mountain Lodge. We are now under new Ownership and Management. We are 1.5 Miles away from the front entrance to Yosemite National Park. We believe in keeping it basic so you can reconnect with each other and relax! We are a perfect stop for travelers who are on a budget. You can find us on your way to Yosemite on the right. We also offer free Wi-Fi, DirecTV, fridge, microwave, and coffee in every room. We look forward to seeing you soon! -White Chief Mountain Lodge Staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your White Chief Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Chief Mountain Hotel Fish Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing