We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Narrow Gauge Inn(Fish Camp)(Great Value!)
$479
$274
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Sierra Inn(Oakhurst)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
$283
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$165
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$545
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveler rating
22
61
66
30
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
61
66
30
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyosemite national parkcoffee makerfree wifia great stayroom was spaciousmicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 208 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

As stated by others, basic room facilities, but excellent beds and extremely clean facilities.
A little old on the outside but the front rooms are all double glazed. Free Wi-Fi. More than
enough breakfast, friendly owners and an excellent price for Yosemite. Basically just motel
rooms, but hey Yosemite in the day - sleep at night.

Room Tip: Front rooms face the carpark, but are double glazed and the whole area is very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myocummaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

The bedroom included a small dining table with two chairs, small refrigerator and microwave. The bed was firm but comfortable The bathroom was roomy enough. Didn't like the shower because it didn't spray out hard enough and I couldn't get it hot, just warm.
We had trouble adjusting the heater. It was a little too warm throughout the night.
It was quiet even though they were booked solid the night we stayed.
The office personnel were very pleasant and we had no wait checking in or out.
They gave us a packet of instant oatmeal and a Capri Sun juice upon check in.

Despite deficiencies, I would probably stay here again for one night as the other places nearby were more than twice as much.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lmcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here two nights this month while visiting in Yosemite. Found the room to be basic but clean. With clean sheets and towels. Room had a small frig and microwave, as well a a coffee maker. TV reception was not to good, but then we didn't come there to watch TV. Location was surrounded by woods, one side of the lot looked like it was used to store old equipment, cars, etc.? But did notice while we were there that they were cleaning it up.
No nightly noise, was able to set outside and talk towards the evening without any interruptions. Not something you usually can say about a motel. Room service cleaned the room while we were in the park, to include fresh towels, and they made the bed up nicely.
Did not find any restaurants near (the one at the hotel was closed), but the town down the road (about 14 miles) had a lot to choose from.
Access to the south gate of Yosemite could not have been closer, just a couple of minutes drive.
Enjoyed the stay, would stay again if I can't find a location within the park.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_the_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had a hard time finding a decent price in expensive Hotels of Yosemite area. This hotel was one of the few that didnt have crazy rates, plus it is close to the park entrance (giant sequoia area). The location is great, the cottage was really in the forest, sorrounded by super tall trees. Inside, though, the carpet was smelly, the toilet not very clean, not enough furniture to place our 4suitcases, being a family... We stayed for 2 nights and they also forgot to make our beds once, maybe because we forgot to tip, but being from Europe, we never do that and we really forgot to do it by mistake. Breakfast constists of a bag full of sweet snacks, juices and coffe for your room; no milk neither cereal. If you have picky children, they won't eat anything! I don't say it was terrible, but still, we payed too much for what we got; next time I would go somewhere else.
For Italians: bellissimo da fuori, immerso nella foresta, viciissimo alle sequoie di Yosemite,spazioso e non troppo caro, ma dentro moquette puzzava e non grande pulizia. la colazione di merendine confezionate e succhi di frutta stra-dolci senza latte, non è piaciuta ai miei figli. Se siete di passaggio andateci, se state una settimana evitate.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laSabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We were concerned when we read some of the tripadvisor reviews but decided to give the hotel a go as we were looking for simplicity and proximity to the park. It is very much no frills but the room was clean and there was a tv, coffee making facilities and it was wonderfully peaceful and we slept really well. The young couple who do the housekeeping are delightful and gave us a really warm welcome. The owner was less friendly and seems to be missing an opportunity to make much more of this hotel. In our time there, there were only three or four other people staying. There is no doubt that the hotel is overpriced for what it is but in this area of Yosemite it's hard to find anything cheaper and so it was worth it for us. We would recommend a stay here.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Scottishtraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews