We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Mountain Getaway”
Review of Narrow Gauge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Narrow Gauge Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quaint Mountain Getaway”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Narrow Gauge is a perfectly located little Inn minutes for the Sugar Pine Railroad and only a couple of miles from Yosemite National Park. The rooms are small but had a great little deck that allowed us to sit out and take in the forest views. The staff are incredibly friendly and the breakfast that comes complimentary is wide ranging and a delicious.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copeyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and while we had a bit of snow...snow is all gone but lovely spring like weather has replaced it for now. Come see us again if ever back in the states.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    196
    64
    32
    5
See reviews for
102
307
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlantic city
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Love this place. We stayed here and had a great time. Close to the park and everything. Adorable property. Restraint. Great. Breakfast include was plentiful. Pool was nice after a long day at Yosemite forest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1doree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The pool and hot tub are great after a long day of hiking in Yosemite. Our pool and hot tub are closed for the winter season and will reopen in the Spring, as weather allows. Our restaurant will reopen on April 16, 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Thank you very much for a much needed retreat from the Big City to the Sierras. People in San Francisco are missing out on a place like Narrow Gauge Inn. Everyone that I encountered at the hotel gave were so professional and kind. Thank you Maria and Marlo. The whole team rocked it. Breakfast was great and Knuckles the Cat is so adorable. I couldn't ask for more. Room was very quiet and although it was cold, the hot cocoa from the reception area made it such a warm stay. Thank you to everyone at the Narrow Gauge Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vegaztony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We love to be known as a place that offers a retreat experience. Please come and see us again soon, Knuckles will be waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The heater worked very well too, which was nice for winter evenings. The breakfast was tasty, with homemade breads, muffins, and home fries, as well as made-to-order waffles. What's not to like about that?

All of the inn's employees that we encountered were super-friendly too. They created a very welcoming atmosphere, and we definitely plan to stay here again the next time we head to Yosemite.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilKWindsor_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear you loved the Inn and the breakfast, the rosemary potatoes are to die for. Please come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I did a ton of research before we headed to Yosemite and decided to try Narrow Gauge. The place was so cute, well-located, dog-friendly and the service was amazing! You can tell everyone there loves what they do. The breakfast was outstanding! Saved us so much money on food. My husband loved their fresh waffles every morning, hot chocolate and hot cider. I have recommended it to a number of friends and they have all felt the same way! Don't think twice! This place is legit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks....we do love this place as much as our guests do. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Not sure why there are posts here about it being a nice place to stay and great location. The room was very overpriced and it seems they take advantage that there are not a lot of places to stay close to Yosemite. The room had a harsh cleaning smell to it that never went away although we asked them to use less harsh cleaners. The bed was broken on the trundle bed. The restaurant was closed so the breakfast they talk about is adjacent to the reception area and a small area where they sell a few items. There was no place to eat except to drive up the road to a much nicer lodge, which I wish we would have stayed at....Tenaya Lodge. The pics they advertise are not accurate. There is a pic of the porch which makes it look like a nice long porch, but it is very small. The drive to the valley of Yosemite takes about 45 min. We did book at the last minute, but that doesn't seem a reason to charge more than what a room is worth. I feel like we should have been refunded about half the amount we spent, but didn't inquire because just didn't want to deal with it at the time. Maybe I will call them about it. I can't believe we spent money on staying there for three nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsha l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I am so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our policy here at the Inn is as follows: If a guest is not happy with a room and we have the availability, we always offer to move them to a more suitable room. I believe this was offered in your case but it was declined. Bottom line, we want ever guest happy with there accommodations and would love to see all guests return for future visits. I would be more then happy to speak to you if you choose to phone the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after landing in Vegas the previous afternoon and driving to Barstow, then spending the next day in Sequoia before driving up to Fish Camp, so we were ready for rest and a chilled out environment! That is exactly what we found! Quaint is a word used a few times in recent reviews, and thats exactly what it is. Our room was on the back of the property with the porch overlooking acres of woodland. We found the restaurant a bit dark, but thats not really a complaint. The breakfast in the reception building was a great start to the day. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Get a room on the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB_RoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks. Just so other travelers are aware are restaurant is seasonal, we will reopen mid April 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
18.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
1.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
16.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,709 reviews
1.9 mi away
Yosemite Big Creek Inn
Yosemite Big Creek Inn
#1 of 4 in Fish Camp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrow Gauge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrow Gauge Inn

Property: Narrow Gauge Inn
Address: 48571 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Narrow Gauge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 26 room Inn located 4 miles from Yosemite's South entrance. This pet friendly Inn has a seasonal fine dining restaurant, pool and hot tub. Spend time in the beautiful gardens or ride the historic Railroad, just next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Narrow Gauge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narrow Gauge Hotel Fish Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing