We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Narrow Gauge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Narrow Gauge Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent three nights here in Sept. 2012 while visiting Yosemite. It is a lovely "inn" - great continental breakfast - which included scrambled eggs & bacon or sausage.
Restaurant was very atmospheric and the food was very good. The only draw back is that Fish Camp is about an hour from Yosemite --- only 30 miles, but I counted 217 curves in 7 miles. However, based on the options for hotels when visiting Yosemite, I'd probably choose this one again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank libbylance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    191
    63
    31
    5
See reviews for
100
302
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We are so happy that we cancelled our original booking at a large lodge and booked here because of the reviews. This is a lovely rustic inn with a funny cast of characters including a six toed cat in the lobby. We had a two bed room with a private deck overlooking the forest. Very quiet and relaxing. There was no tub only shower, but lots of hot water. You need to pick up a hair dryer from the front desk. Beds were ok, could have been a little better quality but overall a good sleep. The breakfast served in the morning is considered continental but they do ask if you want eggs, bacon or sausage. They also had a good supply of breads, buns, cereals, yogurt and fruit. We were so pleased with the inn that we ate there for the three nights we were there. Excellent selections and they served a sunset dinner between between 430 - 700 pm which was almost half the price of the meals after 700 pm. We would highly recommend this wonderful inn. Save your self the time of driving and staying right in the valley as the prices was more than double.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My spouse and I spent 2 nights at The Narrow Gauge Inn as part of a weekend visit to the Yosemite National Park during July. We had tried for accomodation in the park but due to the peak season all was booked and by visiting the Tripadvisor website came across this property. As far as location goes, it is a short drive on the main road ( Highway 41) into the Southern park entrance. Located in a lush forest surrounding it is well placed to be able to visit the Mariposa Grove , famous for it Giant Sequoia trees as well as access to the rest of the main attractions in the park. The inn had a very homely feel and although rooms were simple, they were comfortable, clean and had a great wireless internet connection as well as shower and comfortable dressing/bathroom. A wooden deck balcony looked over the lower parking area towards the forest surrounds. The service was very good and I particularly must mention the excellent quality of food and service in the dining room. The reception area has a lovely garden infront and the one can also buy souvenirs at the INN store. As we had 2 nights, we would drive into the park early and return later at night. Bear in mind that there will be a considerable amount of driving involved from the Mariposa Grove to Glacier point and then to Yosemite Village. However is well planned once can get to see all the main attractions in a weekend as we did. I would certainly come back to the Inn again , maybe next time combining it with a night or 2 within the park and closer to Yosemite Village.

Room Tip: As for a room closer to the reception / dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The decoration is nice and warm, the outdoor terrain is unnecessary since we came back late. But breakfast was great, we ordered scrambled eggs with sausage.

It's a little farther than the Tenaya lodge Yosemite to the South gate, but the rate is much lower here. Receptionists and waitress are lovely.
In short, it is worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mianhuatang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in July '12. We mostly selected this hotel because it was very close to the south entrance to Yosemite Park. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was outdated and it was annoying having to call the front desk to borrow a hairdryer. The free breakfast was very nice with many cold and hot options available and the dinner was delicious yet expensive for what you received. The restaurant was not open the first night we were there which was a pain...we had to drive about 30 mins back into town to eat (El Cid---awesome Mexican food!). Overall I would recommend this hotel especially if you are planning on visiting Yosemite.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meg429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The website does this hotel justice, a warm welcome, clean rooms and friendly and informative staff. A pleasure to stay and would certainly return, the breakfast though stated as continental included fresh made for you scrambled eggs, a wonderful surprise. Unfortunately dinner was not available the night we stayed but for sure if we are lucky enough to visit again we will take dinner in this fascinating restaurant and it menu.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilikeabeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was a nice property and it was quiet. An excellent homemade breakfast was available and the room was clean. You might miss it off the main road especially at night. The major drawback is the lack of sufficient lighting in the room. You really cannot read under their lighting. The staff was helpful and brought a small floor light but that was no better than what we had. We stayed next to the restaurant and heard morning trucks and restaurant preparations. Close to Yosemite National Park but an hour away from Yosemite Valley Village. Half an hour to Oakhurst, CA.

Room Tip: Don't go in September if you want to go to Yosemite, the water falls usually don't flow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RONALD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
18.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
1.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
16.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,614 reviews
1.9 mi away
Yosemite Big Creek Inn
Yosemite Big Creek Inn
#1 of 4 in Fish Camp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrow Gauge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrow Gauge Inn

Property: Narrow Gauge Inn
Address: 48571 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Narrow Gauge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 26 room Inn located 4 miles from Yosemite's South entrance. This pet friendly Inn has a seasonal fine dining restaurant, pool and hot tub. Spend time in the beautiful gardens or ride the historic Railroad, just next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Narrow Gauge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narrow Gauge Hotel Fish Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing