We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Motel outside Yosemite”
Review of Narrow Gauge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Narrow Gauge Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We drove up from Los Angeles and wanted an affordable place to stay for our first night in the Yosemite area. This motel was a great choice. We were greeted by the hotel cat “Yeti”; which is an appropriate name for a cat with extra toes. The Desk Manager was very nice and we found the room clean and comfortable. They bring you a “Continental Breakfast,” but I think it would be better if they didn’t. It was some low quality prepackaged and canned items. I wouldn’t recommend staying this far outside the park if you’re going to be in Yosemite for several days, but if you need a good stopping point on the way in or on the way out, this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbrentpoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 606 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2007

Quaint and quiet little inn just two miles from the South gate to Yosemite National Park. Room was clean and well kept, with a private balcony that overlooked the gardens and forest. The continental breakfast was delivered right to our door by 8am each day, which was convenient. Word of advice though, if you go in the winter (November-March) be prepared to drive elsewhere for more food. Their on-site restaurant closes for the winter months and their continental breakfast consists only of a piece of fruit, a package of two small muffins, a fruit cup and a juice (per person).

We have a dog, so it was a plus for us that they allow dogs in some rooms for a modest $25 one-time fee. They even had doggie treats and a portable water bowl waiting for us in our room.

Overall, it was a nice place to stay for a modest price that also allowed dogs and was close to the park.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treasuringlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

after driving through the sequoia national park we decided to find a place to stay ready for the following days trip through yosemite and what a gem we found. 4 of us were doing a tour around california and needed 2 rooms at the narrow gauge inn we were not dissappointed. We checked in to our small but clean and well set out room for a quick shower before heading to the restaurant for our meal. The food was excellent and at a reasonable price. We had a good nights sleep in comfortable beds and and awoke to a wonderful view. Breakfast was in the dinning room and set us up well for our onward journey. our brief stay at the narrow gauge in was fine and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roddersKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2007

We stayed at the hotel for three nights during our recent visit to Yosemite. The hotel is well kept, clean, with an efficient (and a bit perfunctory) front desk. If you can't stay in the park itself, this is about as close as you can get.

Some respondents complained about noise from other guests. This was no worse than any other similar hotel. Anyone traveling to California - including the central coast and San Francisco - will need to accept some noise from other rooms.

Perhaps our favorite experience was the seasonal restaurant. We had dinner there twice. If you want to look for other restaurants, the Tenaya Lodge is a few miles north toward the park, and there is quite a selection of restaurants in Oakhurst.

We would gladly stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank csh90069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2007

This is like our 7th time back. We enjoy how quite and peaceful it is. The staff was very helpful as usual. The grounds are well kept , yet still rustic in nature. We will be back again. The food is fantastic with a great menu to choose from.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLMCOMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

We went for a fall colors visit to Yosemite before the Narrow Gauge Inn restaurant closed for the season. We always enjoy our visit to the hotel, and the dining was outstanding. We met several friends there, and everyone enjoyed their visit.

This pet-friendly hotel is the best place to stay if you want to be near the south entrance of the park.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DougDurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2007

It's close to the entrance of Yosemite, but the rooms are really small and you can hear everything from other rooms,specially if you have noisy neighbors.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TGS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
18.3 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,224 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
20.6 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,956 reviews
1.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
1.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrow Gauge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrow Gauge Inn

Address: 48571 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range: $84 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Narrow Gauge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 26 room Inn located 4 miles from Yosemite's South entrance. This pet friendly Inn has a seasonal fine dining restaurant, pool and hot tub. Spend time in the beautiful gardens or ride the historic Railroad, just next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Narrow Gauge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narrow Gauge Hotel Fish Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing