We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Hours of horse back riding western style in a relaxed, informal but highly competent manner.”

Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company
Ranked #4 of 5 things to do in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Buy your tickets online for a horseback ride at Yosemite's South Entrance. We offer 1 & 2 hour trail rides as well as our exclusive Half Day ride to the Giant Redwoods at Mariposa Grove. We also offer authentic Horse Drawn Sleigh Rides over the Christmas holiday.
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“2 Hours of horse back riding western style in a relaxed, informal but highly competent manner.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We booked up the day before with the Boss who was extremely helpful with all our questions as she showed she understood all aspects of our requirements. I think the other Boss was her husband Larry who took us on a meandering trail ride for two hours, up hills, across creeks and back down the hills a different way...all done in a relaxed, informal but highly competent manner.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kennyaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    15
    6
    0
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great for beginners”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

First time on a horse for me and my 7 year-old. The rest of my family had ridden a horse once before.

They will give you a helmet and a bandana. Wear jeans.

The guides are very patient and teach you to handle the horse in the arena before you start the ride. The guide roped our 7 year- old's horse to his own.

It was only my family on the ride, which was nice.The horses followed each other and knew the way, so we didn't have to steer much. The horses were gentle.

We took the one hour ride, and it was the right length, because I started to feel sore by the end. The ride was through the forest with two stream crossings, no scary ledges or sides of mountains. Scenery is mostly the same trees, but the stream is very nice, and for first time riders who are busy concentrating on staying on the horse, the scenery is just fine.

Location is in Fish Camp, near Tenaya Lodge, outside of the park's south entrance.

A great introduction to horseback riding; we all enjoyed it!

Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Go!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband, son, and I thought a scenic trail in the back woods of Yosemite would be fun- we couldn't have been more wrong!
I called to make a reservation for a 1 hour ride and was demoralized in the process. The owner took our credit card right away and unbeknownst to us told us there was a weight and BMI limit to ride their horses! My husband's weight and BMI was too much (according to their computer print out!) and we had to cancel our reservation. We are still trying to get our credit card credited. Of course we were told all of this after the credit card went through. We have ridden many horses on many ranches and have never heard of such nonsense. SAVE YOURSELF THE HUMILIATION. Don't be lured-it's only a trail of scams.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great trail ride!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I took the half day trail ride and it was wonderful! The family that runs the place are very nice and helpful. The horses are very fit and well taken care of. They took the time to take all the riders through their paces to make sure they understood the basics and they were especially good with the kids. After the ride we were tired but happy with our experience. The trail was rather dusty due to the lack of rain in the area but the lady at check-in gave us each our color choice of a brand new bandana to wear as a souvenir of our ride. It came in very handy. The half day ride is pretty challenging but if you're not up to that they offer plenty of shorter rides that you can choose from. The best part was that we were riding quarter horses and not mules. Most all of the trail rides in the National Park used mules. If you prefer to ride a horse, these are the folks to go with!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We just came back from the one hour horse back riding and the only thing I would have changed was the amount of time spent on the trail. It was so beautiful that we regretted not doing the two hour ride. The instructors at the ranch were so helpful and kind. It was nice that everyone received a short lesson on riding basics. So many ranches do not offer this. The trails were well groomed, with amazing views. It was the perfect nodding to our yosemite vacation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren K, Owner at Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Next time you are in the area Trish we would be delighted to have you join us for a two hour rides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company also viewed

 

Been to Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing