We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long and boring”

Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company
Ranked #4 of 6 things to do in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Buy your tickets online for a horseback ride at Yosemite's South Entrance. We offer 1 & 2 hour trail rides as well as our exclusive Half Day ride to the Giant Redwoods at Mariposa Grove. We also offer authentic Horse Drawn Sleigh Rides over the Christmas holiday.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“long and boring”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were so expecting the horseback ride in Yosemite to be the highlight of our California trip. We were slightly dissappointed. After taking the bus tour the day before and experiencing all the breathtaking views we were really pumped to experience the same from the back of a horse. The only view we got was trees, trees and more trees! For 4-5 hours! The ride through the forest of huge trees with a couple creek crossings was lovely, don't get me wrong, but 1 hour would have been sufficient if the scenery was never going to change. Maybe the description needs to be clearer on the website. Like all rides are the same, how long do you want to walk in the woods?
I thought the staff was a little curt. Maybe too late in the season? They were very fussy about how the reins were held.( to the point of being a little rude). I found this uneccessary as the horses are excellent trail horses.Some commentary on the trail would have been nice as well. It would have been nice to know what type of trees, shrubs or flowers we were walking past. Maybe how big the forest was, last fire? types of wildlife? anything? I thought one of the guides was very short with a young boy on our ride. I thought he was a real super trooper considering how long (and boring ) the ride must have been for him.
As fussy as they were about some things I was suprised that a couple things were neglected. Having led many trail rides myself I always call out what is coming up and then it is passed down the line. Be it , rock, low branch, hole, deer, watch your knee on that tree! This would have at least made the ride more interesting and kept everyone awake. It was a pretty silent ride. Also riders were not told to get off their horses kidneys when the peed. Poor horses!
But speaking of horses, hands down these were the most fit, clean, beautiful, mannered,super trail horses I have ever been on.
I would definately reccommend this trail ride for an hour unless you have a super tough butt!!
Happy trails!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bon228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren K, Manager at Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hello Bon228,

Thank you very much for your impute. You obviously have experience guiding guests on horseback and we will work to incorporate your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    15
    7
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good trails”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We found this place where we were stopping and went around to take a look.
The set-up was great and we booked for a 2 hour ride the day after.
We got there and did all the paperwork and set off luckily just the two of us and our guide.
The trail was through beautiful woodland and differing terrain.
The scenery was great and we spotted a few deer passing through the woods.
We had a great few hours, and very peaceful and tranquil.
A great way to spend a couple of hours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren K, Owner at Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
John W,

Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware: arrive early or you're out of luck.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our group of 6 (3 adults and 3 children) could not have been more excited to go on this horseback riding trip. We had read all of the reviews and signed up early for the 2hr ride that began at 8am. We knew that the tickets said "Please arrive and sign in 30 mins before scheduled departure" but unfortunately didn't realize that it would take 45 minutes to get there from where we were staying and didn't realize the "please arrive early" meant you MUST arrive early or will be turned away. When we arrived just before 8am and rushed up to the desk, an extremely rude woman barked "Did you read our terms & conditions? We have a 24 hr cancellation policy." When we apologized and asked what our options were (hoping for her to offer at least something since we had paid $540 for our group), she just repeated the 24 hr cancellation policy and told us we had no options. Needless to say, we can't rate the ride itself since we didn't get to take it; our rating is based on the atrocious customer service and the fact that the online policies didn't clearly spell out that you MUST be there early.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DC1Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hour Ride”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

These people are way friendly. The trail is very nice. It is in the woods. Very peaceful and scenic. we did the one hour ride and loved it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 46466JerseyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren K, Owner at Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you 46466JerseyGuy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expectations”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Having researched and read reviews, booked the two hour trail ride for my two daughters (both experienced riders, 13 & 10). The reviews sounded great. The trail rides, scenery and horses sounded wonderful.
Travelled for a couple of hours through heavy traffic but got there!
'Greeted' and unfortunately told( by a rather brusque member of staff) girls couldn't ride without an adult. We didn't know this as website says children only need to be over 7. My husband said he would go with them, but was told it was full up.
Two very upset and disappointed girls...
I'm sure the rides are lovely, but please be aware that all children need to accompanied by an adult.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 201AO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company also viewed

 

Been to Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing