We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a lot better than most of the reviews say”
Review of Apricot Tree

Apricot Tree
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Firebaugh
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Restaurant details
Los Banos
Level Contributor
280 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“It is a lot better than most of the reviews say”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Most of the poor reviews seem to try to equate this place to Mc Donalds or the like. They seem to want a T bone steak for the price of a Big Mac yet served faster. The fairest comparison foodwise would be to Denny's. But this is a stand alone place not a corporate giant. It has to make it on its own, not on big brand name recognition. We stop here when we can. Its good. Take it for what it is and what it is not.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    12
    16
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better than the last time.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The last time we visited this restaurant (a long-time stop on this highway) we were disappointed in the food and the service. This time the food was great, but they raised the prices. One couple seated next to us got up and left after viewing the menu.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarilynneS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Food ok, but the experience disappointing.”
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed next door at the motel so decided to try the restaurant. We were apprehensive due to the lack of patrons. The place is old and obviously needs updating. Not sure of the freshness of the food we ordered hamburgers. We were pleasantly surprised as the burgers were good. The waiter was very friendly and accommodating. Price was a little high for the area. It appears the restaurant has lost its appeal to travelers and the McDonalds down the street might be the answer. While I rate the place average, I doubt we will return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Boise1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
221 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Cool collection of lunch boxes, but no other reason to stop”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Apricot Tree is located at a good midway stopping point on Interstate 5 if your traveling between the bay area and Los Angeles, but other than its convenient location and the great collection of lunch boxes that span the entire dining room, there is no reason to stop here.

The food is mediocre on its best day, the service is very slow, and aside from the lunch boxes, the decor is just old coffee shop; and not in a cool, retro sort of way. It's just an old, outdated, dingy restaurant.

My advice is to keep driving.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valleyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great restaurant where no one really cares any longer.”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We have been visiting this restaurant for years. The last two times were big disappointments. The food was OK, the AC was broken, but the fan pointed at our table. It used to have a lot of apricots on the menu. Now the fruit is canned and the menu is just so-so.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarilynneS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apricot Tree also viewed

 

Been to Apricot Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing