We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointed”
Review of Wakwenda Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chizumulu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wakwenda Retreat
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We didn't even stay the night. There was no water, the room was filthy and stuffy, and the bar was completely abandoned. The place was deserted and we felt unwelcome and unsafe! We were so shocked at how run down and dirty it was that we asked a local fisherman to take us to Likoma Island.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monmiked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

People don't seem to realise it's easier to get here than to Likoma Island on the Ilala Ferry or by the local boat as it only takes three hours. The island is small enough you can walk all the way around in a few hours and the locals a really lovely and excited to see a muzungu! The retreat owned by Nick an english guy is great and extremely welcoming. We stayed in a double room and then into a dorm as well and both were fine. The bar is incredible and very well designed with all little balconies to enjoy a drink or two! The water is by far the clearest i have seen in malawi as i spent 3 months travelling around the country! It's by far a definite must go to place if you are in Malawi. We ended up going there on the tuesday night on the Ilala at 8pm from Nkhata Bay, then onto Likoma Island on the local boat on the friday afternoon for a few days afterwards. Brilliant place to stay. One thing i can suggest is, make sure you take your own bottled water onto the island as no one seems to sell any when we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwitchedOnBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Set on a small island overlooking the shores of Mozambique, Wakwenda has the perfect recipe for relaxation. An inviting well stocked bar overlooking the pristine shores of Lake Malawi. The meals are tasty and filling and Nic will look after you very well! There are comfy dorms, some nice doubles for couples and plenty of friendly islanders to make you feel welcome. It is well worth the trip. You can catch the Mulungu or the Ilala from Nkata bay which means you can spend a couple of days there chilling out before heading onwards. This place should be on your list if you are coming to Malawi!

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe double is you want a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevo989898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in July with a friend and we loved it! We were the only guests here and it felt like our own desert island. The food is excellent and Nick the owner is exceptionally welcoming, plus a great host. We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wilkoxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le dortoir semble en meilleur état mais a éviter en cas de pluie car mauvaise toiture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 27hank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mimiko86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wakwenda Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakwenda Retreat

Address: Chizumulu Island, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Chizumulu Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chizumulu Island
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing