We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victorian Inn
Nearby Hotels
Redwood Suites(Ferndale)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Fortuna(Fortuna)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn(Fortuna)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Best Western Country Inn(Fortuna)(Great Value!)
$158
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$105
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveler rating
334
113
23
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
113
23
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain streetsteep stairsno elevatorcommon roomjewelry storestep back in timevi restaurantquaint townlost coastthe entire staffbeautiful roomwonderful staybreakfast was deliciousgracious hostssan franciscowafflesking bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 487 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stay at the Victorian Inn for over 15 years when we are in the area and recommend it to friends and family as well. We have come her for work and recreation. WiFi Internet means we can work in the room when we need to. The owners and staff are always friendly but considerate of privacy. They’re happy to tell you about local events and sights. Breakfast is great and the place is just far enough away from the busier areas of Eureka and Arcata that you feel like it is a getaway. Beds are comfortable and the owners have done a very good job of blending old and new with furnishings and comforts. We have not been here during a really busy week but during off-season, it is really pleasant to walk outside and see storefront businesses that are not chain stores or big box stores. The grocery is a perfectly clean and organized store; meat market and pharmacy are small and personal. And there is some nice local art on display, especially ironwork. But using the Inns a springboard to explore redwood forests and rocky coast is the best part.

Room Tip: the main bldg. has stairs but the Inn also has nearby rooms that are ahndicapped accessible and the restaurant is also handicapped accessible- a little rare in this slightly remote, mountainous area.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RangerDanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We reserved Jessica's room for a two night weekend getaway. Upon arrival we were offered a free upgrade to the larger Maren's Suite across the hall for the same price. What a treat to have a larger room at the smaller room price. With our stay was a free, full breakfast- your choice of omelette, waffle, granola w/yogurt & fruit, or ranch style bacon, eggs and sausage, plus coffee and juice. They recently re-arranged their downstairs, so the dining room is new and in the lower building corner with views of the streets and a warm fireplace at one end of the room. For dinner we ate at the VI restaurant. It was a little pricy, but the linguine primavera and gourmet chicken pot pie at $14 each were very good. We enjoyed them at a cozy table for two with a bottle of wine by the fireplace. Our hosts and waitresses were very friendly. We had lunch in town at the Cafe Main Street, another good food restaurant serving espressos, breakfasts, soups, salads and sandwiches. Also a little pricy, but another relaxing, enjoyable atmosphere. We took several walks downtown, up through the cemetery to a beautiful view that overlooks the city, walks along the beach and visited the redwood forest. It was a very enjoyable weekend and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CountryMums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for only one night in the off season and were mostly pleased. The room was a little pricey, but we figured we were paying for the Victorian atmosphere. We stayed in the Victorian Suite at the front (Ocean Ave. side) of the building, and while there was some noise from the street, the room was clean and just spacious enough, with a couch in a little nook in the window. Very comfy place to read! The bathroom, while perfectly functional (with some nice Victorian touches) was a little disappointing: I wasn't expecting a claw foot tub or anything, but I had hoped for a good soak, but the tub ended up being one of those shower-over-bath plastic inserts, and looked a little grungy. The sheets and towels were washed with scented laundry detergent, which is usually a big problem for my sensitive skin, but didn't cause any trouble for just one night. The hospitality room upstairs, with lots of seating and complimentary coffee and tea, was a welcome touch, and we enjoyed browsing through the jewelry store downstairs (where the registration desk is located)--even though the woman at the desk was keeping her eye on us like we were going to steal something. Breakfast was included with our room rate, and we had a choice of 4 equally good-looking options. (The toast-eggs-bacon combo was quite filling.) The inn is easy to find at the end of Main Street, and is practically next door to the Ferndale Cemetery, which is well worth a wander. Lodging options are slightly limited in Ferndale, but I don't think you'll be too disappointed staying here--especially if you don't pay high season prices for the room.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The inn is by far sweeter than the pictures on the website. Every person we came in contact with, from the lovely front-desk hostess, to the super friendly (but not annoying) bartender, to the owner himself, were low-key, yet attentive and courteous. The room was comfortable, lovingly decorated and restored down to the hinges on the doors. We spoke with the owner after breakfast and although I'm not sure if he said this about the inn or the town itself, but his assessment "This place is special," was not an exaggeration. Oh and one more thing, the hotel is a short five mile drive from a great windswept wild sort of beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maribel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Having never been to Northern California, we booked The Victorian Inn after reading
Trip Advisor......Wow will surely not disappoint you...it's like stepping back in time.
Beautiful place, great food not to mention the great old leather wooden bar and super
great bartender named "Martini" for real.....and then to meet the locals with their names
engraved on glasses! "Jason Queen" is an instituation there! And it gets better, you
check in thru the Jewelry store with very different special pieces, so guys you can have
that very special weekend and accomplish buying something special, staying somewhere
special.....and you finish the story!

Room Tip: Check out on the internet the various rooms, some even have fireplaces!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Islandprincess28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews