We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The inn is by far sweeter than the pictures on the website. Every person we came in contact with, from the lovely front-desk hostess, to the super friendly (but not annoying) bartender, to the owner himself, were low-key, yet attentive and courteous. The room was comfortable, lovingly decorated and restored down to the hinges on the doors. We spoke with the owner after breakfast and although I'm not sure if he said this about the inn or the town itself, but his assessment "This place is special," was not an exaggeration. Oh and one more thing, the hotel is a short five mile drive from a great windswept wild sort of beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maribel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    99
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
50
279
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Having never been to Northern California, we booked The Victorian Inn after reading
Trip Advisor......Wow will surely not disappoint you...it's like stepping back in time.
Beautiful place, great food not to mention the great old leather wooden bar and super
great bartender named "Martini" for real.....and then to meet the locals with their names
engraved on glasses! "Jason Queen" is an instituation there! And it gets better, you
check in thru the Jewelry store with very different special pieces, so guys you can have
that very special weekend and accomplish buying something special, staying somewhere
special.....and you finish the story!

Room Tip: Check out on the internet the various rooms, some even have fireplaces!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandprincess28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel in October 2012. The hotel is located in the charming town of Ferndale CA. This old hotel is extremely well preserved. Beautiful rooms with all the modern amenities. There is a very comfortable sitting with a fireplace on the second floor with coffee, tea, drinks etc. available all day. They have a great bar where you can enjoy casual dining. They also have a formal dining room if you prefer a quieter scene. The dining room is also where they serve breakfast (included), a very pleasant way to start your day. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnipegWildRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Friendly staff, wonderful rooms, awesome meals, great location - better than excellent. From the moment we entered Ferndale we were delightfully surprised about what the hotel and community provides. The hotel offers a mix of the traditional and current - computer access contrasted by a partyline phone system. The stately hotel is set in a very quaint main street which features an array of heritage shops and galleries. Our room was an elegant groundfloor suite and we were able to park our vehicle just outside our door. How convenient is that? In addition to being a perfect place to spend a weekend and to explore the immediate area, we enjoyed a day trip to the redwood state park.

Room Tip: Anna's suite is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
249 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Victorian Inn is beautifully renovated and run. We had a nice, one night stay here in September once we figured out that one checks in in the jewelry store on the first floor All the rooms are up a steap staircase on the second floor. It lacks a parking lot and, although this is small town California, we felt a bit uncomfortable leaving our car on the street. All was well, however. Our room was quite snug but the bath, oddly was oversized with nice amenities. Dinner in the hotel dining room was quite nice. It was a slow night and the manager checked in on us a couple of times to make sure we were happy. Breakfast in the dining room the next morning was bountiful and sent us off on our journey with a full stomach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just got back from two nights at the VI. It was a treat to stay in such a charming place. We had the misfortune to have our car broken into while hiking nearby. Btw, everyone says this never happens in Ferndale and we were only the 108th incident this year. The staff could not have been more sympathetic or helpful. Of course I wish this hadn't happened, but it was a comfortable place to have to deal with the hassle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Granada, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel, the restaurant, the town were an unforgettable experience. Lovely. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and then enjoyed the free breakfast the next morning. Excellent food and service. The hotel was expertly renovated and the town has been beautifully preserved. There are many beautiful old victorian houses to see. The house tour of Fern Cottage was a wonderful history lesson.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
5.9 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
16.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Inn

Property: Victorian Inn
Address: 400 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victorian Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California's northern redwood coast you'll discover the quaint Victorian Village of Ferndale and the elegant Victorian Inn. Built in 1890 of Humboldt County redwood, this luxurious northern California bed and breakfast combines romantic accommodations with modern amenities for the convenience of vacationers, tourists and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Ferndale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing